15" Vs 16" Rims for a Cape York Trip

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:26
ThreadID: 74714 Views:5569 Replies:6 FollowUps:14

I currently have 15 inch rims on my 97 Pajero. The tread is about done on these wheels so it is time for some new rubber. I have searched the forum which has helped in my tyre manufacturer choice. My question is about rim size.

Earlier this year I did the Simpson Crossing along the French Line and only sat the underbody in the sand once which a quick shovel job fixed. I'm looking at doing a Cape York trip next year. Will the 15's on stock suspension give me enough clearance or will 16's make life a lot easier? A few weekends ago I went down the South Coast of NSW and I was getting hung up on deep rutted mud tracks that my mates stock Surf on 16's went through without a problem.

Frank

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:44

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:44
G'day, not so much a question of rims size, it is tyre size that counts.
A 235/85/15 is narrow, but nearly the same diameter as a 265/70/16. The cost of new rims plus tyres may break the bank. What size tyres are you running atm? Maybe far cheaper to get bigger tyres in 15". Just my two cents worth. Have a great trip. John

AnswerID: 396775

Follow Up By: Frankie Paj - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:49

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:49
That is a good point John. The tyres I have are 235/75 Yokohama Geolanders. I bought the Pajero with approx 40% tread left. They have been fine on bitumen but haven't done much offroad.

I'm keen to save money so if I don't need to upgrade to 16's I will be happy.

Frank
FollowupID: 665561

Follow Up By: Frankie Paj - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:13

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:13
By "haven't done much" I mean that they struggle to perform.
FollowupID: 665577

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 13:00

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 13:00
Aftermarket suspension I recon. We went from 15 to 16 this time last year. Cost a packet including all the brakes and so on. But we were after better braking while towing the van.
AnswerID: 396777

Follow Up By: Nik & Dee - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 16:04

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 16:04
G'day Old Girl,

I have a Patrol on 15" rims with 31*10.5/R15 on, I just bought a trailer with 16' rims but the rolling diameter of the tyre exactly matches the car's.

I was planning on swapping the 16" tyres from the trialer to the front of the Patrol because they have better tread on them but reading your comment on the brakes I wonder if this is something I need to worry about? They are both a standard 6 stud pattern as far as I understand it shouldn't make a difference.

Can any one shed any more light on this for me?

Nik
FollowupID: 665527

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:55

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:55
Yeh I recon some one better than me will answer that one. Been through it all going from 80 series to 100 series back to 80 six and five stud, different trailers so on. When we had the 15 on we did borrow two 16 to get us out of trouble once.
Sharon
FollowupID: 665543

Reply By: offroad_tommo - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 13:26

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 13:26
Hi Frankie,

As John said above, a larger rim wont really lift the vehicle. It's really the tire itself that needs to be larger, not the rim. I have 15inch rims and a mate of mine has 16inch yet my tire is much higher then his.

Something I have found is try to keep within the mainstream tire sizes as these are usually avilable at many places and at a much cheaper price. i dont know about Pajero tires sizes but you may do well with a 31X10.5 R15 as most manufactures make this size and usually at a reasonable price. If your running 31inchs now then I would upggrade the suspension. If your not sure the 31s will fit just ask the tyre shop to test them out - they are always happy to.

Have a good trip,
Tommo

AnswerID: 396779

Follow Up By: Frankie Paj - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:04

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:04
Thanks Tommo I much prefer the 15 inch option if I can get away with it! I will look into the 31 inch and see what is available.
FollowupID: 665570

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:06

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:06
Frankie My wife had 31/105r15 on her old paj and they where quite a bit taller then my 245/70/16s on my Jack. Plus they where LT construction and much cheaper then 16s. Your current tyres would only be about 28in.
FollowupID: 665743

Reply By: Injected - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:57

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:57
Frankie
I would go the high profile 15 inch tyre and a 2 inch suspension lift if you can get it to fit. The cape loves to trash stock suspensions.
AnswerID: 396797

Follow Up By: Frankie Paj - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:10

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:10
Thanks mate. From what everyone has said it looks like 15's are the go. I will look into the lift kit after I give the high profile a test out bush.
FollowupID: 665573

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 16:09

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 16:09
generlly speaking 16 inch tyres will be of more sturdy construction
a good example are goodyear MTR tyres

15 inch are 5 ply in the tread whereas the 16s are 7 ply in the tread

many 15 inch tyres are only a 6 ply rating compared to 8-10 and even higher in 16 inch
AnswerID: 396801

Follow Up By: Frankie Paj - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:12

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:12
Just when I thought I had a general consensus! haha

What is the difference in the ratings? What is likely to fail in a 5ply tread? I do lower pressures and speed according to the environment?
FollowupID: 665576

Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:38

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:38
Don't think you are going to be doing anything on this trip of yours to Cape York Peninsular that your vehicle in stock trim can't handle.
You can do just about the whole trip in a falcon.
When I was in my local 4x4 club we would do more 4 wheel driving on a day trip than the telegraph track has going both ways. You will be lucky to require low range for more than a kilometre or two & the rest of it you can do in 2 wheel drive.
Just make sure your car is in good condition & not overloaded. Travel light & slow & you won't have a problem with anything except ratbags wanting to shred tyres, flog suspension & crack your windscreen by being overloaded & doing 120 k/h
If you don't want to spend the extra money your 15 inch rims are fine.
Back when the roads up that way realy were rough just about every rim out there was 15 inches.
You will be fine.
Go & enjoy yourself & don't worry.
AnswerID: 396864

Follow Up By: Frankie Paj - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:25

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:25
Thanks Fatso. Good advice on travelling light & slow it is the smartest way to make it through in one piece. I'm hoping to do the CREB track which should hopefully pose more of a challenge. I also haven't done many water crossings so that should be a good test.

Looks like the 15's will be coming along for the trip!
FollowupID: 665614

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 09:07

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 09:07
The OTL in a falcon ? Fatso your dreaming.
FollowupID: 665629

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 14:29

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 14:29
I am not implying that you would drive the OTL in a falcon. The OTL only makes up a small portion of a trip to the top & there is only a very small amount of actual 4 wheel drive required on it. It is definitely not extreme & is definitely not beyond the capability of a novice 4x4 driver in any mid size or larger 4x4 car.
I met a bloke 15 years ago that did most of the OTL in a Subaru. I saw a photo of a Subaru being towed at speed through the Wenlock & he has water going over the roof. He was being towed South because it came up after he had crossed. You don't need to worry about that. There has been a bridge over the Wenlock for 10 years now.
I would seriously argue that a dirt road serviced by a road train can be considered a 4 wheel drive road. Nearly all the roads you will travel on in the Peninsular are travelled on by road trains.
Stop into the Coen pub & ask the publican about the backpackers in the Valiant. That's a 2 wheel drive sedan. After they did the trip to the tip in their Valiant sedan they toured Australia in it & sent him photos of them sitting on the bonnet from all over the country. That would have been back in the 80s.

The CREB track is only difficult when wet. Unless it is wet it is definitely not extreme either. It can be prone to heavy traffic & get dusty at times.
Happy travels
FollowupID: 665835

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 16:23

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 16:23
Fatso your still dreaming , would love to see a road train on the OTL , on the bypass no real problem for any type of vehicle, you obviously have not been on the OLD TELEGRAPH LINE track from Bramwell Junction north.
FollowupID: 665863

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 13:37

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 13:37
Maybe I am not getting through to you Alloy.
How can I put it.
The OTL only makes up a small portion of a 3000 km trip from Cairns. Probably no more than 150 km both ways.
Now in layman's terms, that is SFA.
It is not the be all & end all great 4x4 adventures it is wrapped up to be either.
I would say that quite a large number of the people who travel the OTL are novice drivers.
I was & I was in a 2.7 diesel Navara dual cab with no mods.
No 2" lift kit
No Long range fuel tanks
No snorkel
No fridge
No winch
No dual batteries
& definitely no power
Just Me, the wifey, 2 little kids & a bit of camping gear. We would have had the Kelpie with us if we weren't going into a national park.
Not a very good add for ARB or TJM.
I have been up that way several times since, but I can't be bothered with the OTL. I don't find it that interesting myself. When I go up that way I am going somewhere I want to be & not just touring.
So Frankie, just go for it mate & enjoy yourself.
We did.
FollowupID: 665989

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 14:14

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 14:14
Fatso your still dreaming I see , the OTL not even 150klm both ways ?? dream your dreams .
FollowupID: 665998