Have read about it, heard about it , laughed about it, shook my head about it!
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:04
Member - Axle
But to-Day , in disbelief i did it myself!!
FORGOT TO PUT THE RUDDY SUMP PLUG BACK IN THE CRUISER AFTER DRAINING THE OIL!!!!
Got side tracked with the neighbour and his fence problem...lol.
I'm amazed how far 5ltrs of engine oil will travel.....on a garage floor, what a bloody mess!.
Have just had a few relaxing days to, something had to go wrong i suppose..lol.
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:10
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:10
Bugger
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:15
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:15
I said something like that!......:))))))).
Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:13
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:13
Look at the
bright side, at least you didnt start it up......
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:23
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:23
Don't want to even think about that!!....lol.
Axle.
Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:34
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:34
Your a brave man to admit it !!!!
Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:38
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:38
On my first 2H motor I drained 10 ltrs of black oil into a 5 ltr container. BUGGER!!
Took ages to clean up the mess on the floor and remove the stain.
This is the first time I have admitted it to anyone but don't feel so bad hearing your experiences.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:50
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:50
G/Day Ian, I"ve always put the plug back in; then remove the drained oil, this time i went A@@@@e up about it, then got side tracked, Gotta be an Age thing!!???....lol
Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:40
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:40
It is also called C.R.A.F.T.
Something I get quite often these days!! Now where did put that glass of Red?
Tony
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:44
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:44
G'day there Axle. I religiously check these sort of jobs cause when you turn 60 something happens to you. Imagine my surprise a few years ago after I double checked the plug was in, poured the oil in, started the engine and the oil light wouldn't go out. When I looked under the wagon there was oil everywhere. Forgot to put the oil filter on. Only lost about a litre but like you say it just goes everywhere,even into the chasis. Now I have to start a check list if I can remember where I put it. LoL. Regards,Bob.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:57
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:57
Ya Making me nervous with this age thing Bob!
"God only kmows what i'll do next!!"
( words from Mrs Axle)
Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:55
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:55
Yeah,
"been there, done that" as the youngsters say.
Once you've finished mopping it up, pour Coca Cola all over the stain, let it sit for an hour or so, hose down and repeat a few times if necessary. Any wonder I don't drink the stuff LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:04
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:04
Thanks for the advice Jim, There"s a bag of dry cement spread over it at the moment,..lol, might of put more petrol on the fire!, Dunno till tomorrow.
Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:56
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:56
Hey Axle.
On the
bright side you probably won't do it again.
I did a similar thing years ago had i nice expensive bottle of Nulon additive.
Put in first, straight through the engine into the oil waste pan forgot to put back the plug DoH!!
At least i didn't make a mess of the floor.
Rob.
Reply By: Ozhumvee - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:59
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:59
Reminds me of the BIL years ago with a HJ47 troopy with a big 150l aux
tank. The aux was pumped into the main as required. At home he decided to top the main up from the aux while it was in the garage, left the pump running and came back an hour later to find the main full (it only needed 40l to fill it ) and the other 110l on the garage floor, down the drive and out into the street.
But yes I know what you mean it doesn't take much to sidetrack you if someone else turns up.
Another good one was the bloke that was in the middle of a wheel/tyre rotation when he got called for lunch, a mate rings up asking for a hand so he says yep I'll pop around, you guessed it, the cruiser didn't get far off the stands under the front end, the
wheels were up against the garage wall in front of the truck!!
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:18
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:18
So I'm so bad after all Peter!....Hahahahahaha.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:22
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:22
Must be Bad Enough if i'm starting to leave words out!! ( Not).
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:21
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:21
Hi Axel,
I've come close to doing the same thing a couple of times, touch wood ;) I haven't as yet. Does take much to take your mind off the job at hand sometimes.
But what I have done is, after giving our old VL turbo Dunny Door an oil + filter change, screwed the new filter on, only to of not realized that an electrical wire had slipped down between the block and filter.
It always took a bit for the oil pressure to build up after a change, but this time it was taking longer than normal, so I shut it down, walk around to the front to find a huge puddle of oil on the floor. Bugger ;(
Once bitten!, never did that again.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:30
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:30
Havent quite done that but one oil change on a Hi Ace, I did it all, started it up and put gear away and came out of garage to find new oil running over drive.
Whaaaaaaaat Bung was in
BUT when I took old filter off I didnt check the o ring was in the track in the filter so screwed new one the top of it
Doesnt seem to seal too
well at all
Didnt ROFL at all
Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 23:41
Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 23:41
aha.... that one's
mine! Two rings don't work!
Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:36
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:36
Years ago, when I was a lot younger than I am now, I worked as a "Lubritorium Operator" (that's what the Certificate called it) and did a somewhat similar thing to a customer's near new FC Holden.
Did everything except replacing the old oil, even put the sump plug in, just forgot to put the new oil in.
Needless to say the motor siezed and the customer complained to my boss loudly.
Boss agreed to rebuild/replace the motor and I was expecting the sack.
My boss told me "Anyone can do that once only, you've just done it once" and that was all that was said.
I found out later that a few years prior to my stuff up that he had done the same thing, perhaps that saved me.
Never done anything like it since and that was 40+ years ago.
Extra careful these days.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:06
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:06
Our new truck was due for its first service that required the gear box oil to be changed. The truck made it from
Toowoomba to Gatton pads fully loaded. The fella for got to re fill it with oil. New gear box was replaced that night after many hours of trying to undo the seized one. I was working at the local heavy vehicle tow mob at the time. My jaw dropped when I got the call to have it towed.
Sharon
Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:39
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:39
I always service the olds cars, the old boy cant be bothered usually and i dont mind. once he decided to do it himself as they were going away and i was busy, they discovered after a few days it was leaking oil on the garage floor which it has never done before,up to my place they come,took the bash plate off it and the oil filter was dripping- aaaahhhhhhh i said loose filter-- NO it was tight,MMmmmm crooked gasket maybe?. filter off and a clean to discover a nice gouge in the gasket contact surface which oil was leaking past( about 2mm deep and 10-12mm long) asked dad how that got there? dunno he says,how did you remove the old filter? he says i hammered a screwdriver through it to unscrew it!!!! DOHH- ah the olds,what would we do without them?
Follow Up By: Member - David G (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:27
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:27
5 years ago i owned a Mack Titan and i had just fitted a c15 cat motor and its first service was due in
Darwin so i took the truck to the cat agent Hasting Deering and was impressed with the drain recepticle which was mounted on a pallet so it could be wheeled under a truck or machine with a pallet trolly minimum effort great idea i thought untill i hit the air start and the 40 lts of oil was deposited all over the workshop, office walls and bottom of the truck in equal proportions. i was told to remove myself and that heap of s........... truck post haste from the establishment while the mop brigade started the cleanup cheers Dave
Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:44
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:44
I dont believe it Axle,
How refreshing to finally have a man admit to making a mistake!!! lol
I must remember to show this thread to my husband.
Heather
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:52
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:52
Hi Heather, WELLLLLL!, one in near sixty years is not to bad i suppose!!
Hahahahahahahaha!
Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:39
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 14:39
Hi Axle,
I guess you can be forgiven then!!!
I havent seen too many females on here admitting to ever making mistakes (or being wrong either). Do you think that means that we just dont make any?? lol
Cheers and Happy New Year,
Heather
Reply By: landseka - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:47
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:47
In a previous life as a towie I once had to tow a cruiser, 60 series I think, petrol I think that the owner decided to do his own oil change.
Did everything right, had the motor hot to drain
well, changed the filter but as it was late in the day decided to let it drain overnight....put the bung back in next morning, topped it up with 6 or so litres...started the motor to warm it up!!!! uh ohhhh
Who knows what happened next?
With the motor being cold, the oil took its own merry time making its way down to the sump, so much time that it filled the rocker cover then travelled through a rubber hose into the inlet manifold before it could drain to the sump.
The motor briefly started then sucked a litre or so of oil into the motor then...bang....oops, rebuild.
A lesson learned..
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:02
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:02
Mmmmmmm!, certainly a trap there alright.
Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:54
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:54
Welcome to the club Axle.
You took your time.
Everyone who isn't yet a member yet will eventually be one.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:07
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:07
LOL!. Mate.
Whats the next stage?
Axle.
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:02
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:02
Well, Axle....it happens....lol
At least with the 130 the oil leaks out naturally. Just leave it parked for a week and then pour in new oil...hahahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 06:40
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 06:40
Funny..Funny..Funny!
Not far wrong Though, Hahahaha.
Reply By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:43
Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:43
Doh It takes a big man to admit it Axle.
My BIL let my sis check his oil, He said just make sure its full.
She did, she emptied what was left in the 20lt oil drum in the it.
He was lucky he didnt start it.
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:37
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:37
Lol
She didn't live in good 'ol Wait Awhile about 30 years ago by any chance?
I was leasing a workshop at the local garage about then and saw in the driveway a lady top up the petrol, lift the bonnet and start pouring one of the old 1 quart bottles of engine oil into the appropriate filler point. Went on with the job I was doing and happened to glance out into the driveway again some 10 or so minutes later and there she is still topping up the oil. Curiosity got the best of me so I wandered out to see why it was taking so long to top up the oil.
Yep you guest it, Hubby had told her to make sure the engine was full of lube oil so she was doing just that. From memory it was an early model Falcon so wouldn't have taken any more than about 4 or 5 pints (about 1/2 litre per pint) if it was dry.
She had just emptied the 6th quart about twice its normal capacity into it and was going to keep going until she could see oil filling the rocker cover.
I showed her where the level dipstick was, explained its function and emptied the excess out.
Her comment "well he could have told me" fair enough too I thought
Cheers Pop
Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 02:02
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 02:02
Had the same thing happen a few years ago when we were managing a farm out at Croppa Creek, we agreed to take on a girl from some Government training program and the mechanic asked her to fill the Steiger 325 with a 3406 Cat motor with oil, showed her a 44 gal of oil and she filled the motor, right to the top. Just as well it wasn't started.
Reply By: sweetwill - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 06:56
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 06:56
hi axle
I to forgot the bung plugs, only they were in my boat, two ks out of
Wollongong harbour the boat was a bit low in the water and the feet started to get wet, it was a quick trip back cheers bill.
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 20:53
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 20:53
I was to take a celibrity fisho fishing to Windermere for the day. Had to go via Turondale to pick him up then went by the rough crudine road to Windy. Anyhow gets there and as luck would have it noticed a bung was missing. Now this day had been planned for twelve months. Anyhow I found some foam jamed it into the hole and taped over it. Only took a couple of litres all day
And we got some huge Golden perch on fly so a great day was had.
Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 07:48
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 07:48
personally I have never made any mistakes......just ask swmbo
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 08:00
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 08:00
Was waiting for someone to raise the subject of boat bungs. Once is enough! You remember after that - except for me. Yep! Twice in fact. Probably just as well I sold the boat.
Then there is another variant.
One of our fishing club members is off with an offsider who had not fished with him before. Into the servo to get fuel,
ice, ciggies etc.
Offsider volunteers to fill the tank whilst clubbie loads the fill tank with crushed
ice etc, Clubby glances at the bowser and has a heart attack, the 50 litre tank cannot take 67 litres.
Yep! The nozzle is inserted firmly in a flush fitting rod holder set in the gunnel and all the fuel is in the bottom of the boat.
The offsider sort of disappeared from the club scene, dunno why, anyone can make a mistake. At least he coughed for the full amount on the bowser.
Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 09:15
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 09:15
Yep admitted, I've done the bung.
Your offsider isnt from
Cobar is he? He did the same thing although I believe it was his boat.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 08:03
Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 08:03
I've got two "distracted" stories.
This one is second hand. Some guys at a mine site drained the oil from one of those 300t dump trucks for it's regular service, put the sump plug in and then it was knock off time. It was Friday so they put a tag on the start button to remind them to fill the oil before starting it on Monday mornng.
Monday morning comes around and the tag has fallen off. The apprentice climbs up into the cab hits the starter and all kinds of warning buzzers go off so he shuts it down instantly. "Did I get away with it?" he thinks but he tells the boss anyway. "Should be OK, we'll fill the oil and see how she goes"
Well on the six or seventh trip up the hall road it starts making horrible noises so the operator hits the kill button and runs away, but he didn't hit the kill button hard enough. Apparently a reasonable crowd gathered while it destroyed itself.
I heard about that from the guy who had to work out if the warranty claim was valid or not. It took some time to get admissions from the workshop staff.
The second invollves wheel nuts on the camper. Jack it up put the new wheels on, just letting it down when the misses yells "lunch".
I should have tightened them up before I went for lunch. Anyway about 600km later in the middle of the night, in a place I should not have been...do you know how hard it is to find a black wheel in the bush in the dark? And then you have to work out how to fix all those broken studs and missing wheel nuts.
It won't happen again.
Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 06:49
Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 06:49
Hey Axle = bummer. ;-)
Was waiting to read how many have admitted to putting petrol in the diesel tank. I did a few months back. Couldn't believe it. Rang the servo after looking at my docket, "What's Vortex?" 70 litres of it down the drain - so to speak.
But it really hurt when I had to pay to fill it up again with diesel.
Malcolm
Follow Up By: Luke2 - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 11:55
Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 11:55
I once showed a female I know very well (ahem...) how to check the oil - pull up the dipstick etc - and her next question was "okay, so it it needs topping up I'll need a small funnel so i can get the oil down that thin tube..."