I think I have saved $712!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:32
ThreadID: 74734 Views:3575 Replies:3 FollowUps:1
A few months ago a key on my 2005 Prado busted so out with some "bog" and it worked for a short while. When it broke for the second time I just passed it on to SWMO as "she wont drive it much anyway".
Well the inevitable happened and mine broke as well.
Luckily I had an auxiliary so off to the local Toyota dealer.
"Not a problem sir, you can have new one today for $400 or wait for a few weeks til we are back on deck and we can arrange a new blank to be cut, the electronics fitted and that will cost you only $150".
I thanked him very much and departed.
Out with the Yellow Pages and a quick phone around got the same thing down to $44. There were some quotes in between ie $180,$150 $80.
Now I haven't actually done the deal yet but a word of warning, Don't get sucked in by that nice friendly smile and the "free" coffee in the waiting room.
STREWTH!!

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:58

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:58
G'day Mal and Di

Where abouts did you get one for $44.00 ??
I bought a blank from Hong Kong ( Ebay ) for $9.99 deliverd and then got it cut for another $10.00 all up 20 bucks.....

Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 396881

Follow Up By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:24

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:24
On the Spot Locksmiths cnr Grand Junction and Hanson Road next to the United Servo.
Haven't considered EBay.
FollowupID: 665613

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 01:43

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 01:43
Hi Mal,
I bought a genuine Toyota key blank from a locksmith in Brisbane via eBay for about $20.00

Cost about another $20.00 to have the double sided pattern cut at one of the local crowds here in Newcastle. The bloke who cut it asked me how much I paid for the blank, told him the price.

He said I'd done well as the best he could do was about $80.00 for a Chinese knock off including the cutting.

All I did then was put her electronics into the shell and away she went.

AnswerID: 396896

Reply By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 10:27

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 10:27
Any ideas where I can get a spare key with electronics for the rodeo ?

I hate relying on just the one key.

AnswerID: 396922