Landcruiser 100 series knocking sound?

Submitted: Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 22:08
ThreadID: 74804 Views:8103 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Would anyone have any thoughts on what could be causing a knocking sound from the front hub area (I think) when engaged in low range,steering at full lock? Sound increases with speed. This has me baffled and would appreciate any clues. The cruiser has done 260,000k's.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 22:11

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 22:11
A stuffed CV joint same as heard on a mini or an 1100 Save your pennies you'll need them.

AnswerID: 397261

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 22:24

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 22:24
Graham you are most likely spot on .........but mini or 1100 geeze mate........

showing your age ..lol

Just realised by knowing what you meant so am I.......(:-o(((

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 666093

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 22:28

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 22:28
Yeah CV joint.

AnswerID: 397262

Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 01:09

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 01:09
G'day Reetta & Joe

Sadly the knocking sound(s) spell the close end of the CV joint, the sound may well disappear for a while but do not hesitate to change the CV and it would be wise to replace it's ageing mate on the other side, this will give you peace of mind, when you venture well off the beaten track.

If the budget allows it, buy aftermarket CV's from any of the reputable hard core off road vehicle parts people, Snake Racing ~ BBM or Marks Adaptors, they all carry excellent products and their products out last the original gear five times over so it's worth the extra loot.

Cheers:
AnswerID: 397275

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 02:44

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 02:44
Whats a CV joint?
FollowupID: 666106

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 02:44

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 02:44
Sorry didn't mean it for you Joe...
FollowupID: 666107

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 07:44

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 07:44
Gday Richard
"CV" joint is a constant velocity universal joint.There are a series of groves and landings with ball bearings in between.The turning motion is constant, not notchy like a universal joint.
Prior to "CV" joints, universal joints were used in front wheel drives, like Citroen light 14 and 16, but don't have the life of the "CV"
Murray

FollowupID: 666118

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 08:38

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 08:38
yep hear them all the time on the work utes. they last about 20,000k on the originals and maybe a 1/4 of that after they put in the aftermarket ones
AnswerID: 397283

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 09:41

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 09:41
are you talking 100 or 105?

It could possibly be free wheel hub also but most likely CV.
But why only low range?
AnswerID: 397289

Follow Up By: Member - Reetta & Joe (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 10:32

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 10:32
Thanks guys for huge response, probably not what I wanted to hear expense wise. It is definately the 100 series, it is a 1998 model which I think was the first year they came out. I wonder if it has CV's at all because it is the old fashion diff, a live axle as they call it?
FollowupID: 666130

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 14:02

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 14:02
then its a 105 not a 100.
FollowupID: 666151

Reply By: Member - Reetta & Joe (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 10:41

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 10:41
Thanks guys for huge response, probably not what I wanted to hear expense wise. It is definately the 100 series, it is a 1998 model which I think was the first year they came out. I wonder if it has CV's at all because it is the old fashion diff, a live axle as they call it?
This is my first attempt on this website so apologies for duplication of reply as posted in last entry by mistake.
AnswerID: 397293

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 13:54

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 13:54
The type of axle is immaterial as the end fits into the back of the joint and is usually held in by a circlip around the axle. Dont know about 100's but have done plenty of Jap cars and they are all basically the same.

Hold the axle tight and give the inner end of the joint a few smart taps and it should come off.

Cruisers will be different with an encased axle so will go and look in my Haynes manual.

FollowupID: 666148