Totota Landcruiser GXL 79 Cab Chassis Ute V8TD

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 14:57
ThreadID: 74908 Views:11573 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
For the umpteenth time I have had to return my truck back to the Toyota Dealer to repeat services: Here the list of isues so far (after 30,000KLM):

1) Bonnet won't stay down (x 4 times attempted to fix on the 2nd last time I couldn't get it up without someone pushing down on it as I relaesed the catch). I have now fitted gas struts (toyota you should do that as standard) and the latch is fixed so I can raise ti with ease.

2) Normal services 20,000K except the buggers forgot to put oli in the rear diff. Fortunately at that point I had booked it into ARB for an Air Locker and they showed me the dry diff housibng. Aprentice did the service I guess.

3) Annoying rattle in dash as revs climb from idle. Can't find it?

4) Heater controls wonm't retun to 'face' position. Controls won't go to windscreen postion fully.

5) After recall for ECU upgrade, immedialtey can't get up hills or steep roads in the same gear (eg 4th) as I used to and makes more noise than before. Noticeably down in power and a shudder (feels like clutch off-centre, but isn't). Got an SMS that night to say 'vehcile is fixed' but when I pick it up they say 'Can't find fault, working normally' but eventually they have agreed to take another look which is were it is today (05 Jan 2010). Service guys says 'yeah Toyota have seen this before, ECU does not take the upgrade properly'.

I have booke dit in for a Dyno Check to see what Power and Torque I get from it at Specificatsion revs in datasheet. We'll see what comes back from service.

In summary...great truck, bleep service from dealer. So stand your ground, these babies cost heaps so insist the aprentice doesn't stuff with it.

GP

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 15:07

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 15:07
That's interesting GP.

I have just sold my TDV8 trayback. Believe it or not, they are so hard to get, the Dealer bought it back from me. I'm a very happy chappy.

I haven't experienced any of the things on your list except for the rattle in the dash. Dealer found that. It was the High Beam globe. It fell out of its little cradle and was rolling around behind the instrument cluster.

AnswerID: 397751

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 16:22

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 16:22
Hey GB

Congrats on selling your ute. I had 3 guys going all over mine while I was down at conventrys. They wanted one without the air bags so they could get the scrub bars fitted. Had to tell them that the current utes all have air bags and therefore no scrub bars.

I thought afterwards to get in contact with you about your ute but too late now.

Mine is just coming up to 60k and is running really well. I have had great service from the Mandurah Toyota.

I have had none of the problems that GParker has experienced.

FollowupID: 666614

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:21

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:21
Interesting; I have airbags and have scrub bars...... Dealer fitted. Didn't seem to be a problem. I recieved one of the first bought into Aus. Picked it up 21st August and am due for my 20k service in the next week or 2. Might have to stand over the apprentice whilst he services it. I am an ex mechanic
FollowupID: 666667

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:48

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 22:48
I think it is good you have scrub bars. I would not be without them. From what I have read on LCool people where waiting for ARB bar work as it had not been designed and approved for the air bag model. They were not happy with the toyota stuff.

A quick look on the Toyota website and it is advertising scrub bars for the new airbag model.

Well that will make a lot of people happy.

FollowupID: 666672

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 15:17

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 15:17
Don't blame the apprentice. He was out getting the smoko and lunch, cleaning the dunnies,and sweeping the drive way

AnswerID: 397755

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 16:23

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 16:23
HI GParker

I would like to see a photo of how you fitted gas struts as it is something I was thinking about. And what size / nm struts did you fit. Costs???

AnswerID: 397766

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 18:38

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 18:38
My VDJ79 GXL has arrived after a 6 month wait. I pick it up Friday. Had the factory diff locks fitted and air. It'll be off to Multidrive next week to get stretched. Can't wait...let the spending begin.

AnswerID: 397796

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 18:59

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 18:59
Bragger!! :-)

Your just trying to put it up Roachie. LOL

FollowupID: 666638

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 20:23

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 20:23
Multidrive??? Mick are we talking 6x6 by any chance? Are you building my dream ute???

Good luck mate

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 666650

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 20:58

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 20:58
Don't encourage him Pop, he can hardly carry enough plugs and patches for 4 tyres on the ground let alone deal with 6 ;-)

FollowupID: 666659

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 21:28

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 21:28
Not at $30 Grand plus Pop.John's right. I get into enough trouble with 4 tyres. No I'm just having the chasis lengthened somewhat and a 540kg GVM upgrade. Should allow me to have a pod behind the cab and still maintain a 2.4 tray for the Travelander when I win Tattslotto.

Funny John, I seem to recall a certain Troopy owner lamenting some tyre issues out on the Canning last year. Hmmm good to see it's not just me Ha Ha.

FollowupID: 666662

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:14

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 23:14
Hi Mick

So many times I would like to have that bit of extra room you are getting. I will have to wait to win lotto for that one. 30k Really. Whew.

Good to hear you ute has finally arrived. They certainly are nice to drive.

FollowupID: 666674

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 02:17

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 02:17
Not as many a you Mick ;-))

FollowupID: 666687

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 07:34

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 07:34
Dave,

That's purely for the 6x6 conversion. My job is less than a quarter of that.

Cheers Mick.

FollowupID: 666692

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 09:28

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 09:28
how do they set up the rear diffs in the 6x6?
FollowupID: 666708

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 21:24

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2010 at 21:24
GParker

I have a similar vehicle ordered in February 09 and delivered late March 09. It is now on about 29,500 k so another service near due. Have had none of the problems you describe. Mine is a pre air bags model. Have not heard of any ECU upgrade and have not noticed any difference in power after any of the services. I have it on the 5,000 k service schedule.

It has been over the Simpson twice and the Tanami Road twice and no rattles. Maybe I have been lucky. The corrugations on the Tanami were enough to shake anything loose.

What month and year is yours? Is it one of the new airbag dash models?

Dealers sure differ a lot. One service over in WA they were so skimpy with the oil change that I had to top it up immediately. Other than that the dealer service so far has been good. I am fortunate enough to know an apprentice who works for the local dealer and last we talked about the cruisers there were no particular problems.

If you do a search on Exploroz you will find lots and lots of posts on the pros and cons of this vehicle, a fair few from me.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 397821

Reply By: gparker - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:12

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:12
Yep ECU blown and Toyota don't have one on hand so a bit of a wait. Apparanetly the ECU wont take a program (mapping) upload and the remapping performed as part of the recall is half implemented so what the hell is the mapping now I wonder?

Next questions:

1) How come mechanic said he couldn't find a fault
2) how much damage (shortended life) has my motor suffered as a result of this bulls-up

I still over my GXL, just not the service.

AnswerID: 398096

Reply By: birdie - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:54

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:54
My pre airbag TDV8 has done 56000k and still has no rattles or squeeks. Spent September at Cape York plus numerous other trips on roads that shake the life out of it. Can't fault the thing yet. Although i have had the oil consumption problem fixed under warranty. Would be really interested in the bonnet struts though.
AnswerID: 398108