Bitten by a white-tail.....

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:21
ThreadID: 74965 Views:6222 Replies:19 FollowUps:19
Sitting minding my own business a couple of evenings ago. Something walking on my knee. It bit me as I brushed it away.

Got down on my hands and knees and sure enough it was a white-tailed spider. Sadly it died at that point.

I could see the small red spot where it bit. I drew a biro circle around it. Nothing special has happened yet.

SHWKE... [.... Who Knows Everything] says that the stories about necrosis have been debunked.

Will my leg drop off?!!

Reply By: Member - David M (SA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:41

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:41
Yes
AnswerID: 398100

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:42

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:42
Hi Royce

SHKE is most likely right that many bites will go away without much fuss; but some don't. They are very common nocturnal household spiders and rarely bother anyone; there was one trapped in the sink when i got up this morning. I use to pick them up when i was a young child (before the white tail hysteria).

My daughter hates spiders and kills any in sight. A friend once commented that she buys Mortein by the six pack. While we were away touring, she was bitten on the leg whilst asleep, and woke with her whole leg burning and red. It later localised into an infected patch about the size of a 5c piece. It may her feel quite unwell for some weeks, and despite hospital dressings, medical advice of keeping it covered, it only healed many weeks later after asking for antibiotics and allowing the air and sunlight to dry the wound. She now has a dark coloured indent on her leg around the size of a 10c piece. I have seen worse necrosis, but that was complicated by the person being diabetic.

I hope you are in the group who get no reaction (which i believe is the majority), but i would put Betadine on it now to improve your chances. If it starts to go 'mushy' and white seek medical advice, and if that doesn't work, try the old fashioned sunlight.

AnswerID: 398101

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 17:11

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 17:11
Hi Royce,

I had a similiar experience to Motherhens friend. Bitten on the leg as I slept in my Swag (after a few to many rums Mind you).

My Leg wasnt burning or red but I had a red infected patch about the size of a 10c piece.

It went away in 4 days

I guess it effects some people worse then others.

Regards Wilko
FollowupID: 666943

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:07

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:07
i got bitten on the heel a cpl of years ago and still have a small indentation about the size of a 10 cent piece on the heel
it took about a week for the pain to go and about a month before it healed
FollowupID: 666951

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:53

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:53
Most likely, but only after suffering months of agonising pain.

Your flesh will rot and drip all over the place.
AnswerID: 398107

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 16:22

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 16:22
I think its much like bee stings and mozzie bite etc etc
I blow up with bee stings and the mozzies make me itch for ages
wife...the only thing that bothers her is me ...maybe its the italian blood in her...why else would oz mozzies not want a taste

but do keep an eye on it.
AnswerID: 398113

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:05

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:05
well you were obviosly bitten on the face by a bee when your pic was taken
FollowupID: 666950

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:57

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:57
who dug you up...lol
FollowupID: 666990

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:05

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:05
Yes, who dug him up?.....LOL

FollowupID: 666995

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:44

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:44
G'day nudie, maybe you'r your wifes mossie. I knew she swatted you but didn't know she sprayed you. Then again, we all get a spray now and again.
FollowupID: 667083

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 17:45

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 17:45
Perhaps we could run a betting book on whether Royce's leg will drop off or not.

Mh

AnswerID: 398123

Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:14

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:14
10-1 it does..............

FollowupID: 666953

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:34

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:34
I'll take those odds if it is 10 of yours to 1 of mine John, LOL!!!!

teaspoon of concrete with your night toddy tonight Royce and you'll be right hehehe. The little mongrels hurt like hell and leave a wonderful "war wound" for many a great tale.

Seriously keep an eye on it Royce, mine (bitten on the base of my left thumb)went all nasty for a while but nothing that need a nurse to sort out for me ;-((

Cheers, Trevor.

FollowupID: 666982

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:58

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:58
i'll have fifty
FollowupID: 666992

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:37

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 18:37
Royce

You could try putting medicinal honey on it. Can be good sometimes for infections. Cousin used it once on a spider bite that would not go away. Fixed it (maybe a placebo affect maybe real). Have seen it clear up small ulcers.

Disclaimer: This is not medical advice blah blah . If you want that you gotta pay a doctor.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 398128

Reply By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:04

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:04
Yep been bitten twice, no long lasting effects....both times on the leg, just a pain kinda thru the muscles in the area & upwards.

Yes I think the necrosis is debunked....

The other thing I have heard is that white tails eat other spiders, so depending on what they have eaten will depend on what they bite you with....

Some big buggers getting around too, about an inch in the body....& they love being inside (unlike redbacks thankfully!)

AnswerID: 398136

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:11

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:11
Royce, I can't help myself.
This spider that bit you. Was he licking his rear end trying to get the taste out of his mouth when you looked at him?
But wait, there is one more.
Did he die if food poisoning? :-)

AnswerID: 398138

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:21

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:21
A friend of mine was bitten on the thumb by a white tail whilst he was in bed and about to nod off. No real pain but he saw the wretched thing but gee a few days later he had all sorts of problems. His thumb swelled up skin just peeled off & he had to have his arm in a sling terrible. Weeks off work!!! My brother coped a bite on his bleep when he went to the toilet one evening damn thing swelled up and (according to him) went all dark and was very uncomfortable for him. But like me he has a sense of humor because when he went to the doctor and was about to be treated he told the doctor,"Don't worry about the swelling just take the pain away" Hope everything turns out OK for you.
FollowupID: 666963

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 08:41

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 08:41
Fatso, this has to be up there with the best answers of all time. I am wetting myself with laughter. Sad that we need to have someone hurt themselves before we smile sometimes isn't it?

ROFLMAO!!!

Royce are you still out there?
Royce!!?
ROYCE!!?
.ROOOOYYYYYCE!! ARE YOU THERE?

Geez Fatso maybe we shouldn't laugh, I haven't seen him reply yet.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 667069

Reply By: More Coffee - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:49

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:49
I got bitten by one and it swelled up a little but really wasn’t all that bad. I didn't even know I had a chance of my leg falling off. That would have been most inconvenient.
AnswerID: 398143

Reply By: TassieD - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:02

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:02
Having had hubby bitten several times now we just rub a cut fresh lemon over the bite area. the acid in the juice seems to kill the bacteria.
AnswerID: 398146

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:12

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:12
Sorry to hear this Royce, I used to enjoy your posts.

Most of them where entertaining and/or informative.

AnswerID: 398148

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:59

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:59
hahaha....he aint that way ...yet?
FollowupID: 666993

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:01

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:01
and going by his post below aint going to be
FollowupID: 666994

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:08

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:08
Bugger, there was a boat load of fun to be had here!

FollowupID: 666997

Reply By: olcoolone - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:22

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:22
Being bitten by a White Tip spiders are much like getting a Be sting.....some people may die from it and others wont even know it happened.

And you might get bitten 10 times will no effects and the 11th one will kill you or make you very sick.

The other thing with bites is they might make you sick for a short period of time and go away only to return every 6 months for the next 5 years.

White Tips are no different to most other spiders except they are hunters and can become aggressive.
AnswerID: 398152

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:50

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:50
So I came in for lunch and posted the topic. WOW! Nice response everybody.

Well I just looked at my knee. Disappointing really. The little red dot went away.... my leg didn't. I didn't feel any pain.

But... today as I got to work on fitting out my fire fighting trailer, the 1000l tank had the most ENORMOUS redback I've ever seen! Didn't bite me so I guess that's not really so interesting. If it did though.... I reckon my body would have fallen off.

Anyway: the theory is that these spiders are actually black widow spiders that came with the early settlers. They live in human inhabited areas generally and are almost identical the the norther hemisphere black widow. I remember the Sun having a pic of one that had caught a skink in its web. I aways worry when I visit an outdoor dunny.
AnswerID: 398156

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 13:45

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 13:45
Skink? pfft obviosly wasnt hungry

FollowupID: 667419

Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:54

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 20:54
I saw the foot of a bloke who ignored a white tail bite - not pretty. He was one of the contractors demolishing the squats at Moreton Island. He ignored it for a day or two and ended up being choppered off the island.
AnswerID: 398158

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:07

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:07
Bundy cures everything!!!!!! Go have a bottle

AnswerID: 398160

Follow Up By: Danny & June - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 00:41

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 00:41
Hi. Make it bleed because the poison stops circulation.

No poison circulation back.

Danny
FollowupID: 667043

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:00

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:00
You may be one of the lucky ones -- the bites effect some people and others have no effect - similar to a bee sting - if you are allergic to a bee sting , you can be in trouble in a very short time .... if not -- its just a painful sting that will go away in about 15 min

so the necrosis stories are not debunked , as they happen and there is many cases surporting it .... Your just one of the lucky ones

Boc
AnswerID: 398216

Reply By: andoland - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:02

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:02
I lived in Tassie for a couple of years where white tailed spiders are prevalent. At the time I was there the hospital in Hobart released a report they had done on white tailed spider bites. Over a period of about 10 years (from memory) their records showed almost 50 reported cases of white tailed spider bites and a number of these had the typical symptoms expected from white tailed spiders such as massive ulcers, etc. However, their investigations proved that in every singe one of these cases where there was a severe reaction it was not actually from a white tailed spider bite. Either the spider had been mis-identified or the reaction was from another cause altogether.

Their conclusion was white tail spider myth busted.
AnswerID: 398218

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:27

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:27
That's the research my better three quarters has come up with [nurse/ambo]. Sometimes a spider happens to coincide with the ulceration, but it could simply be a small injury not noticed and the spider was.
FollowupID: 667075

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:59

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:59
Royce, glad you haven't had the reaction.

andoland - the doctors in my daughter's case said many spider bites (after all unlike Royce, you usually don't get a good look at the spider) are attributed to white tails that are other species of spiders. They agreed that hers was definitely a white tail bite. I still believe that nothing happens in the majority of case, however my daughter certainly got a reaction. If it is a bacteria, it may be that not all are carrying the bacteria, or that only some people's immune systems do not deal with it quickly.

As aforesaid, another case with someone i knew the media loved - attributed his necrosis which was severe an ongoing for a long time entirely to the white tail. As he said, they kept saying about the spider, but never once mentioned my diabetes. I knew at the same time a diabetic having somewhat similar problems with ulcerations which would not heal on his feet and no sign of a spider.

Mh

FollowupID: 667253

Reply By: Fab72 - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 14:46

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 14:46
A neighbour of ours was bitten on the hand by one. 8 years on, she still has very limited movement in her hand which is always supported in a brace. At one stage there was discussion regarding amputation. This is probably a worst case scenario.

If you haven't already done so...I'd consult a doctor and ask for a referal to see a toxicologist.

Some nasty stuff on YouTube regarding spider bites.

Fab.
AnswerID: 398292

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 14:56

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 14:56
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcgL6tlYYbs
FollowupID: 667168

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 03:49

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 03:49
home life is littered with old wives tales except not so old and now spread by the internet

-anti persperant gives you alzimers

- diet coke gives you parkinsons

and now its white tails.

garantee anyone thaty gets a bite reaction will be told by all and most knowledgable sundry they have just been bitten by a white tail .

heck i used to believe redbacks were dangerous until i was bitten 3 times by one

both the hospital and posoin info centre told me it was nothing to worry about-------------- and it wasnt
AnswerID: 398434