Mereenie Loop Feedback

I did this trek in July 2009 and it has the worst corrugations I encountered in the center (I also did Ernest Giles Rd, the 4WD sections in the East MacDonnells, Sandy Blight Junction Rd, etc). They shake the car at 80kph. Going slower does not help.
I also saw nothing on the loop to indicate why a 4WD is needed. It was in the same condition as in 1987 when I did it in a Kingswood.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:10

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:10
Hi Alex
If you drop the tyre pressures, that will help. By 2007 the Loop Road was to be fully bitumen, but like so many Government projects, it has been put on the back burners. When the road is black top, even more people will head that way.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 398161

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:27

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:27
Give me corrigations any day to black top.
I hope the road never gets sealed or any outback icon roads.
FollowupID: 667003

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:10

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:10
Ah!! You haven't been on the Talawana Track yet. Now there's a shake rattle and roll :-)

AnswerID: 398162

Follow Up By: Alex70 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:28

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:28
True. The Ernest Giles and Sandy Blight did have corrugations just as bad but for nowhere near as long.
FollowupID: 667006

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:16

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:16
Alex, what vehicle were you in this time & how did the ride compare to the Kingswood?
AnswerID: 398164

Follow Up By: Alex70 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:25

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:25
Hi Fatso

I was in an XTrail (standard suspension). I think the ride was better this time but only slightly (as much as I can remember things a quarter or a century ago). Then again, this time I was by myself and had half a tonne of luggage where as in the Kingswood I had three passengers and one tonne of luggage, not counting the trailer (yes, I know, I have lernt since those days).
FollowupID: 667000

Follow Up By: Alex70 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:32

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:32
I should add that I was running 28psi in the XTrail's Coopers. On the Kingswood I had Goodyear Wranglers at 40psi (on the rear they still looked flat because of the overloading but 41 was their maximum)
FollowupID: 667009

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:43

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:43
Alex

Bloody hell mate
The corrugations tell me to drop pressures to about 22 psi.. and drop speed to 60 km/h

In the Canning, we run 12 front 15 rear and 12 on the camper, and the last bit either side of Kunawarratji, were doozies...Wolfe Creek Crater, and at the start of the Canning, near Billiluna...I have discovered a new trick, on heavy corrugations..

I use electrical tape, and bound my wiper control stick to the steering column..
Never had to do that before.. never been that bad .

Needed to do something, as it was driving me nuts..

Cheres
FollowupID: 667186

Reply By: Mick O - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:16

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:16
Hope you were in a hire car LOL. Did you check your shock absorbers at any stage. 80 kph on extreme corrugations can't have done them any good. I did the Canning 6 months back and I reckon the corrugations coming into Well 33 and those between Georgia Bore and Well 24 were the worst I've encountered. Then again the Gunbarrel is pretty bad as well.

Mick

AnswerID: 398165

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 06:48

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 06:48
Mick
Have to agree about that one...!
Do not forget to add in the road to Wolfe Creek Crater too !

Even at low tyre pressures it managed to shake the be-jesus out of everything....

but even so I woould do it again .

FollowupID: 667053

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 13:03

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 13:03
Bucky, my memory of Wolfe Ck Crater Rd tells me it was "shocking" to say the least even back in the mid 90's when I did it in a Pathfinder.

Mick, this is to you regarding the Gunbarrel. Would you even consider taking a true offroad caravan on this track? or would it just shake to bits? This would be the most direct route to Wiluna for me here on the east coast and am just toying with the idea of whether I can make this years National EO gathering. I know I could take Great Central Rd but that is the prefered route home and I did not want to drive it both ways if at all possible.

Thanks, Trevor.
FollowupID: 667142

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:05

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:05
Mick O, that photo is starting to get into a grey area - borderline between corrugations and sand dunes!

And Bucky/Trevor, we didn't see any corrugations on the road to Wolfe Creek in May 2007...Image Could Not Be Found (perhaps they were hiding under the water!)
FollowupID: 667169

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:37

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:37
Alex

I did it too in July 09 hauling a heavy KK Camper trailer with 5 adults
It was a walk in the park compared to the road to Dalhousie from Hamilton which was only half as bad as the road from Dalhousie to Mt Dare!

Was it rough, yeah, but geez there are plenty of other worse roads and yep I have did some of them in my 76 Kingswood.
No way I would do them in a 2006 Commodore

AnswerID: 398168

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:39

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:39
sorry about the grammar
FollowupID: 667011

Follow Up By: Alex70 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:45

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:45
Hi Mark

It shows how subjective my memory is - I did both those roads around Dalhousie in August (the same trip) and don't remember them as bad as Mereenie. Maybe I was used to it by then?
FollowupID: 667015

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 22:41

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 22:41
you probably had a break in between.... funny how the memory plays tricks on you... lol.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 667030

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 06:52

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 06:52
From what I remember the first 5 KM or so from Mt Dare to Dalhousie were as "good" as it gets .. too !

But that's part of it, and I woiuld not pass it up for the world.

FollowupID: 667055

Reply By: Off-track - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 00:17

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 00:17
Worst I've ever experienced was on the Old South Road in the 70's especially around Coober Pedy / Kingoonya from memory. Recall one time my kidneys and abdomen were in a constant state of 'stitches'.
AnswerID: 398187

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 08:44

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 08:44
Gday Alex,
I couldnt count how many times Ive driven theMereenie Loop and wouldn't have thought it even rated as one of the worst roads. I think it must all depend on the day you do it, the vehicle your in, tyre pressures, speed and your frame of mind at the time.

AnswerID: 398214

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 08:47

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 08:47
Ps...I cant believe they are even considering sealing it....I don't know a single local who wants it sealed (tax payer that is).....complete waste of tax payers money in my opinion.
FollowupID: 667071

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:06

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 09:06
Hi Hairy
Well said. Exactly my thoughts. If you see a similar forum post a few more up, I have said similar.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 667074

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:30

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:30
Perhaps it's the tour companies that want to make an easy round trip from Alice Springs via Ayers Rock, Kings Canyon and West MacDonnells?
FollowupID: 667179

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:55

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:55
G day Hairy..

Hows it all going ?
Didn't get too tippsy over the break ?...

We has a good one !

Merrennie Loop bad.... I don't think so either.. it's one of the better roads,

The old tyre pressure thing...and speed

We did it with 24 psi I think, and had no probs..

Me thinks some people do not want to drop pressures.
We had a guy call us up on the UHF, screaming about the condition of the Great Central Road,,,

We didn't have any problems with that road either, especially around Docker River, and we did another 250 km or so on the "really bad" bit .
I do not know

FollowupID: 667189

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 16:03

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 16:03
Bucky,
Didnt get a break this year...too busy packing! Cant wait to get to the coast!
Did manage to slip in a few though. Cheers Mate

Timbo,
Quite the opposite...most the tour companies own 4wd buses and make their living from driving dirt roads....get rid of dirt roads and the big boys get all the work.

FollowupID: 667192

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:41

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:41
Ah, it must be the 'big boys' who want it sealed then :-)
FollowupID: 667244

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:17

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:17
Hi Alex,

I lived at Kings Canyon for over two years 2004-2005.

I had a 1991 Front wheel drive Toyota Corolla (1.6l motor).

The Corolla managed both the Mereenie and the Ernest Giles very easily on numerous occasions so certainly can relate to your comment about a 4WD not required.

AnswerID: 398375