I have fixed it

Submitted: Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:04
ThreadID: 74991 Views:3320 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
After spending many dollars and many hrs paying "experts" to repair my carburettor, i have had to do it myself.
I have drained the tank many times to check for water. I have cleaned the fuel pipes and filter many times. And now the costly bit, the carb,has been pulled down for the umpteen time.
Guess what, i found the problem.
A small deposit of what looks like lacquer was stuck on the inside of a regulator jet .
The engine now idles and runs like it should.
I'm happy .

Reply By: Ozrover - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:12

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:12
Goodonya Muzbry,

I haven't played with a carby for years & don't miss it, They're great when working mongrels when they muck up!

AnswerID: 398239

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:22

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:22
Gday Jeff
It was getting to the stage of takeing the fuel injection off my wifes car and fitting it to the Patrol.
She (Kathy) would not be happy.

FollowupID: 667120

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:30

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:30
Not a bad idea, I had a mate who was going to fit an injected head etc. of a commodore to his 3.0l GQ, but never got around to it, was always having problems with the carby!

FollowupID: 667123

Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:34

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:34
A carburettor, hoiw retro....

Surprised you found any "expert" as I'd thought anyone knowing the workings of a carby would be retired LOL..

Yes, we have all had similar problems where an "expert" has given you a diagnosis plus a huge bill to find the problem wasn't fixed. Seems that most of them appear to reside in larger service departments of dealerships.

AnswerID: 398243

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:49

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 11:49
It appears that unleaded does leave a deposit .'It can/ has given me problems with my rider mower I found that soaking the jets etc in carby cleaner fixed the problem
I now ,@ the first signof misfiering, take of the air cleaner & give it a couple of good squirts with engine running @ a fast idle, too much stall engine so start with a few light squirts
FollowupID: 667128

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 12:01

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 12:01
Hi Muzbry

Just back after holidays - didn't know you had issue - still got parts like whole carby system in shed somewhere from my fuel injection conversion to RB30 , in case you have other issues.

Be thankful, its a straight forward job , no1 son here ford ute has fuel pump issue - no access to fuel pump like on patrol.

To get to it , you take off tail shaft , remove diff , various lines brakes then you unbolt fuel tank and lower it to ground , then take off all fittings, then slide tank out from under car , then you can begin to remove actual pump - geez I hope it is the fuel pump ?

AnswerID: 398247

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 12:36

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 12:36
Gday Robin
Have had trouble for well over a year. I don't complain much.But i'll let you all know when I have a win.

FollowupID: 667137

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:25

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:25
Carburettors....yer showing your age, Muzbry.....hehehehehehehe

If I never see another carburettor again it will be too soon. Tore my hair out with an Aisin carby on a rusted LC...thats why I am now folically impaired....LOL

Anyway, Happy New Year

AnswerID: 398296

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:34

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:34
Gday Willem
I was close to that hair problem , but I held back. Now i have to get a hair cut.
I am hoping that my repair is good for quite some time. Or long enough to forget what i did last time.

FollowupID: 667181

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:11

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:11
Good to hear you sorted the carbi problem , have you sorted little Wes's engine problems yet.
Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 398388

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 06:41

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 06:41
Gday Murray
That will only happen when i can pin him down for more than 5 minutes.
Single men have a wonderful life.The catch phrase is "I'll do it later Pa"
He is ok,we will bolt the back of his car down this morning as the mounting bolts are broken.I can make the mounts and drill the holes, but he has to fit them.

FollowupID: 667339