Submitted: Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 14:34
Member - Supertramp (NSW)
G'day fourbies,
Getting pretty fed up from regularly cleaning the squashed bugs out the radiator cooling vents to prevent engine / cooling system overheating.
So i got an idea to put a flyscreen around the grille where the bugs gets thru so the bugs would stop dead right at the screen not continuing onto the radiator vents.
Your opinions on would putting a flysceen around the grille affect the cooling air flow to the radiators in any way?? Or would there be no effect?
Nick
Reply By: Notso - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 14:42
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 14:42
I've used flyscreen material on a Nissan Patrol 3.00 litre, and now with my current Triton 3.2 diesel.
Never had any problems with overheating and the radiators have always stayed clean.
Did 180,000 in the Nissan and never cleaned out the radiator fins.
So far 83,000 in the Triton, same results. I use the flexible Fibreglass type and attach it with Zip Ties
Follow Up By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:56
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:56
I've used the same fibreglass mesh for 15 years on the Paj and the Patrol. Had it on during both warranty periods and neither dealer had a problem with it. That's probably good in the Nissan case as a screen of similar material was available from the dealer. At no time have I had any hint of a problem with overheating. Bugs usually drop off from drying and falling but never have had any in the radiator. Also use extra screen over the frontal protection bar work (bullbar sounds too urban warfare like and upsets Mr H. Scruby) when in the bush.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:51
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:51
I'm a fan of the aluminium flyscreen. I reckon it lets more air through than the fibreglass stuff.
Mine sits outside the grill on the Landcruiser so its an easy wipe off. Our other vehicles have it immediately behind the grill because it looks and fits better there.
Follow Up By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:59
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 15:59
Don't even know what is on my Patrol. Yes it is the same as Phil above - aluminium. Should remember that. It does have sharp ends when it is cut to fit.
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 16:25
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 16:25
Another vote in favour of the flyscreen mesh..
Mine is directly covering the air-con condenser & radiator.. Any bugs/seeds that don't fall off of their own accord are easily removed w/- a brush, compressed air, or
water jet (whichever is handy at the time;-))
Some say that the mesh will restrict air-flow..
I say yes, probably, a little, but nowhere near as much as the bugs & grass seeds that _will_ get into the radiator & condenser fins (and fill the space between the 2) if no mesh is in place.. (YMMV)
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 16:35
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 16:35
Had the powder coated black aluminium on me old Jeep - Thanks for reminding me to put it on the new one !!
Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 00:25
Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 00:25
Wish I put it on the L Cruiser before I went to
Broome, bloody Jimminy cricket
grows big up there.
Reply By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 17:35
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 17:35
ARB sell insect screens for the grille (and many dealers also sell them as accessories). They aren't cheap though at around $80+. I managed to get
mine for nothing (a friend let me have his bug screen when he traded in his vehicle)
Reply By: Member - Supertramp (NSW) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 17:52
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 17:52
Cool!! After tramping around my dad's gargage, i found pair of leftover aluminum flyscreen, should fit both the grille and the vents on the bar.
New project for me to tinker away tonight ;-)
Thanks guys
Nick
Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:08
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:08
I used the fibreglass fly wire from Bunnings tied to the bull bar with zip ties on my Ford Courier on trip around Oz in 05 06 and never had any overheating problems easy to blow off insects with hose or stiff brush.
Colin
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:32
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:32
Autopro sell one made out of shade cloth.
I got one in Albamy Autopro and it fits over the pedestrian mover with cable
ties. Cost all of about $20.
Reply By: Fab72 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 12:52
Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 12:52
If the bugs are making it all the way to the radiator core, it means you don't have enough lights on the front.....lol.