Thongs, Jandels, FlipFlops ???

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:37
ThreadID: 75036 Views:4873 Replies:19 FollowUps:6

I was born in Olivers, I have a pair for work, a pair for relaxing at home and even a lovely polished pair for weddings and funerals.

Some bright-spark left me a pair of thongs under the xmas tree and Ive been avoiding them like the plague for the past couple of weeks.
Anyway, this morning Paula dropped them in front of me with instructions to try them. After a short protest I managed to get my feet in them and take a couple of steps.

Ever seen an elephant in snow shoes......lol.

Ive seen blokes work in them, drive, walk, run and even climb ladders in them yet I cant even walk down our passage without them comming off half a dozen times.

I'm a Kiwi trying very hard to be an Aussie:

I knock around with a true blue WA gal,
I live in a town where 40 degs is only warm,
I'll kick back a pint of VB and pretend its a good brew,
I pretend I'm uncultured to fit in with the crowd,
I've got a pair of Speedos somewhere in a draw,
I drive a beat-up Falcon panel van,
I leave camp sites in a mess, drop trees for firewood, leave closed gates open and even use the bullbar to make a gate if one's not there, then complain about hoons and bogans on a forum such as this.

So you can see I'm trying.

All I need to do is now find a way of keeping a pair of thongs on my feet.

Any tips or tricks please.

Cheers........Lionel.

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:46

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:46
BluTac under your heel or a tent peg thru your arch should work nicely for someone who leaves closed gates open ,,LOL,
AnswerID: 398527

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:51

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:51
I think I know what your problem is. Your toes are too far apart!

AnswerID: 398528

Reply By: pf11 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:59

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 18:59
Hey Lionel,
put a bit of "Lambs wool" on them and I am sure your natural instincts will take over and you will never let them go LOL
AnswerID: 398533

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:00

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:00
Hey Lionel,
Just don't go the whole hog and get the lobotomy :-))

KK
AnswerID: 398534

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:15

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:15
You could attach ties to the heel section to act as laces.

BTW Did you suffer any damage in the recent Toodyay Fire
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 398538

Reply By: Member - Supertramp (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:20

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:20
Superglue does wonders....
AnswerID: 398540

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:35

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:35
Hey Lionel,
Stop walking backwards. :)
Thats one of the few times us Aussies will throw a thong.
Maybe I should re word that ;)

AnswerID: 398543

Reply By: Member -Paintar - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:47

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 19:47
Ha Lionel
If you were a true blue Kiwi, you would of posted that a Bro left the thongs under the tree and they were stolen and there was a hickey on the leg of lamb in the fridge,
Good Luck
AnswerID: 398545

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie(Wagga) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:03

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:03
If he was a 'true blue Kiwi" he would have remembered that a "Thong" is actually a very flimsy piece of female underwear.:-)))))) (I do note that he did list it in his thread heading though :-))))

Jandels is the 'real' name for them :-)) and they are even harder to wear when you go over 'judderbars' in them :-)

FollowupID: 667506

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:24

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:24
You are here on a 4WD Forum complaining about your things falling off. The answer is obvious. Use gaffer tape!!!!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 398553

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:34

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 20:34
pmslmao,

Cheers. :)
FollowupID: 667500

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:49

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:49
Fencing wire works to!!

FollowupID: 667518

Reply By: brownie - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:49

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:49
Where is Olivers ??

Is it a town somewhere?

Cheers' brownie
AnswerID: 398567

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:52

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:52
G/Day Lionel

The problem is they are Aussie Thongs, and Kiwis have 2 Left Feet.

AnswerID: 398568

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 22:27

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 22:27
hi
try double sided tape and walk sideways usually works for japanese safety boots
thats what i have always called them but i know they are now made in china
or you could try walking like an egyption
get with it practise makes perfect
FollowupID: 667525

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 23:19

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 23:19
Sorry, but I don't understand what the problem is ??????

I have trouble wearing shoes, but thongs , I was born in them.......lol

If 1 yr old kids can wear them, I'm sure you can learn too ????

Get some cement tablets and harden up a bit ......lol
AnswerID: 398576

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 00:08

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 00:08
Double Pluggers are the only way to go!!
AnswerID: 398581

Reply By: disco driver - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 00:22

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 00:22
Lionel
Wearing thongs, (jandals/whatever else they are known by) is a bit like sex, practice makes perfect.
They are beaut for protecting the tootsies when the bladder tells you it's time for a walk at 0300 hrs. They're the best collectors of 'mountain devil eggs' in any bush campsite and your feet don't stink in them either.

All in all, a great Australian invention..

Disco.
AnswerID: 398583

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie(Wagga) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 11:13

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 11:13
"All in all a great AUSSIE invention"

Nope not correct

You can't add this to the ever growing list of 'auusie inventions etc' stolen from us Kiwi's

From Wikipedia

"The modern design was invented in Auckland, New Zealand by Morris Yock in the 50s and patented in 1957. However, this claim has recently been contested by the children of John Cowie. John Cowie was an England-raised businessman who started a plastics manufacturing business in Hong Kong after the war. His children claim that it was Cowie that started manufacturing a plastic version of the sandals in the late 1940s and that Yock was just a New Zealand importer.[6] The children also say that their father claimed to have invented the name 'jandal' from a shortened form of 'Japanese Sandal'. John Cowie and his family emigrated to New Zealand in 1959.

Despite 'jandal' being commonly used in New Zealand to describe any manufacturer's brand, the word Jandal is actually a trademark since 1957, for a long time owned by the Skellerup company.

In countries other than New Zealand, jandals are known by other names.

In Australia they are known as thongs. The first pair were manufactured there by Skellerup rival Dunlop in 1960. Thongs became popular there after being worn by the Australian Olympic swimming team at the Melbourne Olympic Games in 1956."

The dates tell it all :-)))
FollowupID: 667579

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 06:21

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 06:21
Toughen up Mary.

AnswerID: 398592

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:20

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:20
aussies go barefoot....kiwi's are wimps if they need to wear jandels
AnswerID: 398613

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:23

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 10:23
i need to clarify that ...Real Aussies go barefoot..etc etc....(we do have some male shielaghs amongst us)
FollowupID: 667572

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 12:00

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 12:00
"So you can see I'm trying."

You sure are.

AnswerID: 398624

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 12:26

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 12:26
You reckon you have problems?
Spare a thought for the Tasmanians........they need to get the skin between there toes surgically removed before they learn to walk in them! LOL
AnswerID: 398628

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:35

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:35
Maybe a short visit to Jakarta is what you need - you can learn to wear them for shopping, "smart casual" business dress, riding your motorbike, chasing the bus, working on building sites ... you'll never need your Olivers again! :-)
AnswerID: 398823