Mtsubishi Canter 4x4 Camper

Submitted: Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 01:37
ThreadID: 75077 Views:14989 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
I see that some of the members are using Canter 4x4 platforms for campers - I have built one from scratch and have found that its is very capable and suited to the job. Here are some of the specs:
1991 Canter 4x4 single cab, super single wheel conversion, strengthened rear axle and rear hubs, turbotech turbo with timer and intercooler, twin 140L diesel tanks with 30L LPG diesel gas conversion. Built in air (100L, "outback" compressor) for air springs each corner - individual contral - aides with ride and leveling at camps. Remote controlled hydraulic system for large ram jack - to lift vehicle out of bogs and change tyres. 4xMAtlock sand ladders. Three winches - from (hydraulic) read electric and a smaller one for the spare wheels and rear mounted motor bike. Large storage at rear with tool trays built in. 210L water (three "camel" tanks) interconnected to inside and outside shower (hot & cold), vacuum toilet, sink and outside tap. 90L grey water tank, 455L black water tank. Roof mounter solar panels plus one pull out module for stationary power. On board 2.1KvA Honda 240/12V generator, switchable circuits for caravan park "shore" power. Pull out bar-b-que (Baby Weber Q), Roof top truck "redDot" Ac, rooftop 240V IRIS low profile reverse cycle AC, double bed, twin ADR copmpliant, seat belted rear seats mounted on aircraft type quick connects, table, microwave, gas oven, 2 burned gas stove, crawl through to cab which has twin sprung Stratos seats plus 35L Waeco fridge, fully re-gauges dashpods, rear camera and integrated DVD, satellite nav etc, Hema sat nav, two way GME, stone mesh and sunvisor, roo/bull bar, HID main lights plus 2 HID 200mm spots and 2xLiteforce 270mm spots, 2 x2 trauck (24V) batteries, 2xdeep cycle "house" batteries, redacrc contollers, morningstar solar panel controllers, marine tie-down "D" shackles at roof corners, skid proof aluminium checkerplate roof work surfaces, hand rail and maring colapsible cominatioin step/handhold ladders from & rear. Twin LED light clusters on rear, rear visin infra-red camera, large modern format rear view mirrors, "rhino" liner throughout all cupboards, floors, shower and storage lockers, individual led lights in each locker, external rear mounted led lights for camping, one spot light on rear for working light, 12V power outlets in three places, coolant level alarms, turbo pressure, temperature and boost gauges, 12V multi purpose TV with remote, LED interior lighting, individually controlled, 4xreading lamps above bed, storage lockers at roof level for clothes, kitchen and food items, storage lockers for pot/pans kettles etc under gas oven, fully rolloer proof, steeel box frame, insulated with sikaflexed aluminium cladding, Fiama 3.5m awning, marine screen and tinted windows, large bus type washer-wiper on rear window.Image Could Not Be Found
Jon & Barb Journey of Discovery

Reply By: balko - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 07:43

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 07:43
Great rig. As a canter owner myself they are a much under rated thing. Mine is up Qld at all terrain vehicle's now getting singles and some work done. You will have many good problem free years of travels ahead. People so they restrict where you can go. Mines been most places only thing is height (carry small chainsaw) All the best Tony ps For the singles what tyres are you using and did you keep the 16s or go up to 19.5
AnswerID: 398766

Follow Up By: Member - Jon R (WA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 18:00

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 18:00
Hankook LT315/75R16 load rating 1750 - 19.5 types and rims VERY heavy, but we'll see how these go.
JR

FollowupID: 667824

Reply By: Tim Owen - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:19

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:19
Wow! Congratulations. Looks fantastic. I'd love to see a photo of the interior if you have one (or two) kicking around.
AnswerID: 398767

Follow Up By: Member - Jon R (WA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:14

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:14
have a look at these

My friends at All Terrain Fabrications in Mundaring WA and I worked for two years to get this built.

FollowupID: 667839

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:21

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 08:21
Darn impressive Jon... how long did the build take..
AnswerID: 398768

Follow Up By: Member - Jon R (WA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:16

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:16
Hi Andrew
Two years with my friends at All TErrain Fabrications of Mundaring WA - between their own projects
JR
See you in the bush one day

FollowupID: 667840

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 09:19

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 09:19
Sweet !!!
On the list for when I win lotto :)

AnswerID: 398776

Reply By: Wilk0 - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:44

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:44
Hi Jon,

Looks good What is the ball park costs to make it?(maybe one day when I win lotto) lol

How does it go down an average Outback track? Does it ride well.

Even If I win the lotto if SWMBO is confortable , I'd never be able to get one.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 398788

Follow Up By: Member - Jon R (WA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:19

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:19
Hi Wilko
Yeah mate - it feels like I paid out Lotto! Over two years of scraping and cost control but it was worth it - some folks buy holiday homes and then never go more than three four times to the SAME place - BORING! This way the wife & I get to go where and when we like, apart from the work side of course.. I have done a lot on the suspension - taken leaves out, added air springs, double shocks on front, heavy duty shocks on rear, individual controls etc. Seems OK for now

JR

FollowupID: 667843

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:46

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:46
Nice rig,
I love big campers especially when you are stuck inside when it rains for a week.

I'm just about to commence building coasters into 4wd's within a week or so for the 1st one. Will post build up as is goes.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 398789

Reply By: a convict - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:51

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:51
.. RE "super single wheel conversion",

..apart from extra suspension upgrades, etc., how much practical day-to-day difference does the 'single wheel' conversion make, as compared to bog standard ex showroom models ?

(..a very nice thing by the way. )

AnswerID: 398790

Follow Up By: Member - Jon R (WA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:26

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:26
G'Day Mate
Super singles - don't BOG themselves - a dually is nothing but a load carrying system and the two tyres side - by - side are VERY difficult to deflate to get that ALL IMPORTANT floatation in sands etc. Also I don't particularly like getting under the truck to find the Blo&^%y! valve on the inside of the inner wheel and then having to inflate 6 tyres that also don't BAG well because they are truck compromise tyres. My tyres are Hankook Dynapro 315/75R16 MT with load rating to 1750KG - this makes them legal instead of the two dual wheels and the BAG really well. Had thought of going 19.5" but another guy I met has these and they weigh over 80KG each! Ouch mate - asking to get bogged without a load even.
Still time will tell if I go to 19.5" because apart from these Hankooks tyre choice is limited in the 16" size unless you go for gold using Michelin - but do the math on 6x expensive!!!

JR

FollowupID: 667844

Follow Up By: a convict - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:31

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:31
..many thanks for that, I got your drift in one.

tks
FollowupID: 667848

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:08

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:08
Hi Jon,
good looking job mate... when are you delivering to my place? .... lol...
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 398814

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:27

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:27
How about a few more photo's and some of the interior Jon. Looks great.

AnswerID: 398820

Follow Up By: Member - Jon R (WA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:27

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:27
Take a peek

FollowupID: 667845

Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 16:52

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 16:52
Hi Jon R,
Very nice indeed! That's just what we want!
Do you have inside toilet/shower?
What material did you use for Cupboard/drawer construction?
Hope to catch up with you in WA.
RobChicka
The outback calls

AnswerID: 398846

Follow Up By: Member - Jon R (WA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:28

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 19:28
See pics form answers.

If you are contemplating taking the better half to our fine Aussie outback you'd bloody better have an inside WC - I reckon
JR

FollowupID: 667846

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 20:03

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 20:03
Great job Jon, very well done indeed.