My Farm Pics 2009.

Submitted: Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 22:36
ThreadID: 75245 Views:3909 Replies:24 FollowUps:23
I put together all my 2009 farm pics. One tough year, Enjoy.

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 22:59

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 22:59
Some good pictures there, I'm glad to see they drive real trucks up there (except the Cargo LOL).
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 399653

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:02

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:02
Bloody BRILLIANT Loved it. What a great insight to what you hard working folk on the land have to endure. Hope you get the weather that you need in 2010. Could probably use that dozer to sort out some of Brisbanes slow movers in the morning traffic LOL. All the best for 2010

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 399654

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:05

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:05
Bugger would like to see that Mr xr but I`m on dial up until Mr rudd puts a wok on my roof.
AnswerID: 399656

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:07

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:07
Hey stu, why where are you?
FollowupID: 668616

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:12

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:12
Sold up in brizzy mate and moved down to nsw in the sticks will post up some pics n detail @hilux when I get broadband
FollowupID: 668633

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:53

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:53
stu i have some spare baked bean tins and some string, this would be faster than broadband rollout. LOL

Dave.
FollowupID: 668645

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:33

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:33
Hi Dave

Great pic's from around your area, good to see that you were able to keep a bit of condition on the stock, the Santas look pretty content.

AnswerID: 399662

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:34

Friday, Jan 15, 2010 at 23:34
Good stuff Dave, really enjoyed that.

Good looking cows ( I know crap about cows) healthy looking.

Did you get any of the recent rain?

AnswerID: 399665

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 00:07

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 00:07
hey john, got about 60mm after christmas, i would like abit more.
FollowupID: 668625

Reply By: Member - Stuart K (WA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 00:01

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 00:01
Good show Dave .Droughts are a bugger as We are having a dry time at Meekatharra as well .Had to truck calves down to the farm south of Perth to give the cows a chance.Wasn't that many years ago Dad bought santa bulls from Qld.They breed them good over that side of the country.
cheers Stu.
AnswerID: 399668

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 00:18

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 00:18
Thanks Stuart, im glad you guys like the video, took me about an hour to put together. Its real and its enjoyable to watch. We have owned this farm for about 15 years, still getting over the 06 drought but we are tough buggers.
And again thanks for the kind words guys. :-)
FollowupID: 668626

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 01:02

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 01:02
Well done mate,
the stock look great. Having to hand feed would have been a pain and an expensive one at that.

The greenies would just love that dozer.... NOT... lol....

There are a lot of farmers Aus wide that are not allowed to clear land and are ropeable about it.

Take care, and have a great 2010.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 399671

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:06

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:06
We're just unpaid caretakers now.
Can't do this, can't do that, Oh and by the way you had better pay the rates or we'll sell you up for back rates.
We're even frightened to clear the regrowth for fear of the enviro nazis.

and as for a tax on cattle, which is now dropped, they were going to do it, don't you doubt it.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 668711

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:32

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:32
Bugger me !
That was good.

Cheers for a look at the farm

AnswerID: 399679

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:40

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:40
Hi Dave,
Thanks, that was great. Nice choice of music, I grew up on the Gunners.
In fact I have their greatest hits cd in the player in the Cruiser ATM. :)
I really enjoyed it.
Hope you guys have a great year and safe travels,

AnswerID: 399682

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 18:02

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 18:02
Here is an other with GnR. :-)

FollowupID: 668719

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 15:28

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 15:28
Cheers Dave that was most excellent.

Thanks heaps.
FollowupID: 668879

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:55

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 07:55
Thanks for sharing that with us...it's brilliant!
Really enjoyed watching it.

Hope 2010 is your best year yet!
Alex
Enjoy everyday, make your own luck & help a few along the way.

AnswerID: 399683

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:03

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:03
Dave,

Youlive just down the road from me LOL

I am in Chinchilla hehehehe

We shall have to catch up as I am regularly down that way, probably more often in Tara than Meandarra.

Is your property closer to the Gums than Meandarra??

AnswerID: 399684

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:11

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:11
Hi kev, we are 8ks north of Meandarra on the Condamine rd, i use the western rd its more direct backwards and forwards to Brisbane.

Dave.
FollowupID: 668638

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:25

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:25
I go via Condamine, Meandarra to go to St George.

Is the waterhole pics part of the Condamine river? and did any water from Dogwood Creek get down that far or does the Dogwood go more towards Pine Hill/Surat.

We have had about 80mm of rain since Christmas, so this area needs some more rain as it seems everywhere but this region has been getting good falls.

FollowupID: 668640

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:49

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:49
Brigalow creek there is a waterhole about one mile long behind the house.
Was thinking about changing the name of the property to Elsware. LOL
FollowupID: 668643

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:56

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:56
hahaha

I used to live down the road from a property called "Some Place Green" the soil on it was all clay and was never able to produce anything.

FollowupID: 668646

Reply By: Member - Mudduck (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:43

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:43
Thanks for that Dave, really enjoyed a look at your life, long time since I was on a farm.
Cheers Steve VK2UD
Dents are like scratches but with better stories

AnswerID: 399686

Reply By: Cruisevessel - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:47

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 08:47
Bloody fantastic mate.I really enjoyed watching that. Gees I love this country and your footage makes me feel like selling up and livin' a life inland away from the crowds.
I hope your wishes in 2010 come true for ya mate.
Cheers from Steve on the Sunshine Coast
AnswerID: 399687

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 09:41

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 09:41
Stock look brilliant. Must cost an arm and leg for the hard feed.
Passed on through there last winter, patchy country as far as rain goes .
Met a few cattle on the long paddock, ticked on south and there was feed to burn.
Still got a few acres here. It has been as wet as bleep and cold to boot, grass up to the ears and half flooded.
Family members are coming back from ACT on Monday going to be a bit of a shock for them, 12 degrees first thing this morning (about 10 below average) but at least the sun is shining now and no bloody rain forecast for the next few days.
AnswerID: 399696

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:28

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:28
I did not see many Santos that way ,Herefords and Angus compared to North where Zebu type seem to predominate.
Great photos, eartags and calves and things.
Got my wife a bit upset when she come back from Canberra last time.After I had come back I bought a bull to go out with the few heifers left.
I do miss my cows calves horse's, Got turned of motor bikes years ago hard to put the shoulder into a cattle beast on them things. Cant even rope of them.4x4 ones were not much better had a habit of tipping over when a bull gets a little upset, give me a good horse and a team of dogs any day.
I don't miss weaning, dagging, drenching, dipping, sheep at all though.
FollowupID: 668654

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 09:56

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 09:56
Fantastic Dave, 9:23 of great outback farming images.

AnswerID: 399698

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:32

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:32
A great pictorial presentation - spoiled by what appears to be large scale clearance of native vegetation. You must be located in QLD.
AnswerID: 399702

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:35

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:35
Hey Dio................its called farming !!!!!!

think of that next time you hook into a plate of fresh vegies and just spare a thought as to where they come from!!

FollowupID: 668657

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:49

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:49
Dio,

To clear vegetation one must get a Permit from the relevant Authorities.

FollowupID: 668659

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:51

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:51
Vegies???

Bit hard to grow Vegies there Mark hehehe

FollowupID: 668663

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:54

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:54
Kev

vegies or his steak.........something he eats or wears comes from a farm sometime
FollowupID: 668664

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:06

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:06
Honestly Dio,
You just go spoiling for a fight don't you?
Mate, How about you put up something from your soul. instead of bagging people all the time.
You'll probably take this as a Personal Attack and have it moderated, rest assured it's not. It's just a piece of friendly advice, :)

Your right Kev, You just can't go and clear land just because you own it. Jeez the hoops you have to jump through. Dave's probably had to deal with 1/2 dozen different government depts, at the lest, and pay fees at every step.

Again Dave Thank you for sharing :)

FollowupID: 668667

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:22

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:22
Dont stress guys its only raking abit of regrowth. :-)
FollowupID: 668670

Follow Up By: camwill69 - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 19:36

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 19:36
Probably typed while eating a steak sandwhich at a cafe latte shop while on his lap top in a city. Bet the coffee was not as green as this.

The full story is harder to comment on rather than one or two picitures and half a story.

I think I may have one of those cattle in the freezer right now. Will go and defrost, then place on a hot BBQ.

Bon appetite.
Cam
FollowupID: 668726

Reply By: PradOz - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:42

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:42
Thank you - it was brilliant to watch, thank you for sharing your life with us. Hope that 2010 is much better for you all. I could nearly taste, smell and feel it all again - its certainly different to the city life. Cheers....

AnswerID: 399703

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:47

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:47
Excellent clip Dave. Stay fit and healthy.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 399705

Reply By: camwill69 - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:58

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:58
Very farmilar Dave.

Watched it again it was that good.

See you next weekend mate.

Cam
AnswerID: 399709

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:19

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:19
hey cam, we are looking foward to coffs. last week i bought my self a camzila camera mount to mount the video camera on dash.
FollowupID: 668669

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:23

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 11:23
Cam,

I was thinking the same thing... Haven't I seen this somewhere before!

Wish I was close enough to do the Coffs trip. have fun boys.

Steve.
FollowupID: 668671

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:58

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 10:58
Hi Dave

A great video, I really enjoyed it. Having grown up on cattle properties and small crop farms it brought back to me the reality of your life.
You have some good looking stock there and I am sure from hard work and innovative farming.

I hope the drought breaks and brings you a good 2010 and many more years to come.

I think you need to have a GSP on the dozer, by the width and height of the blade how can you see where you are going. Or do you drive by touch.

Life is tough for all of us in many different ways and I hope it brings some relief for you as it is evident to see that although it is tough for you, you really enjoy what you are doing.

Keep up the great work mate, you make Australia proud.

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

AnswerID: 399710

Reply By: BV - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:18

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:18
"Thanks for looking." Yes and thanks for sharing.

BruceV
AnswerID: 399749

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:29

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:29
Nice piece of work Dave, and good choice of cattle too. Mate the ones we can see look a treat considering the conditions, give yourself a pat on the back mate. Bet it wasn't easy. Someone once said that feeding through a drought is like standing out in the paddock tearing up $100 dollar bills. I reckon they were right.

That crawler mate is a bit big for me, you would have a job turning it around on my 240 acres near Kempsey NSW. And that stick rake, my D4 would have a job lifting it. Nice bit of gear mate.
All the best there fella, hope it's a better year for you this year.

bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 399750

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Friday, Jan 29, 2010 at 08:29

Friday, Jan 29, 2010 at 08:29
Hi bruce, you are on the money about tearing up $100 dollar bills. :-(
I think at the moment its costing around $1200 a week in hay and no sign of this drought breaking.

Dave.
FollowupID: 670914

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:16

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:16
Thank you.
AnswerID: 399771

Reply By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 00:57

Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 00:57
We live in a land of contrasts.

AnswerID: 400119