Please Help: Opinions on a new fridge concept please!

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 00:18
ThreadID: 7526 Views:2791 Replies:14 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi, I am a student studying marketing at the University of Sydney. Firstly, I have to say, form what I have seen so far, this is a truly excellent web site!
As part of our studies we must come up with a concept that is innovative, and - most importantly - useful. I do not stand to gain any commercial benefit from the project.

The idea I came up with was for a solar-powered cooler, as a stand-alone unit. I believe the unit would appeal to clubs including schools, scouts, etc; those involved in extreme sports, etc; and, of course, those seriously into camping and exploring.

I believe that there are fully-operational concepts overseas for solar-powered cooling systems, for evaporative coolers or heaters, for example. I realise that there may already be solar panels that can be bought to accompany an Engel
fridge for example; and that the viability of the concept (actual ability to construct and package the product) is questionable, however if as many people could help me out by answering this very brief study I would be greatly appreciative - It would help tremendously.

I'd like to get your reaction to this idea. The following situation is of course, hypothetical, so please try and focus on the concept itself and not the technical details. Please read the description below before answering the multiple-choice questions.

NEW SOLAR COOLER

This is an exciting new innovation that involves a stand-alone cooler unit; an insulated, sealed container that incorporates a small evaporative cooling unit (powered by a solar panel) for maintaining the food or beverage contents at the desired temperature.