landcruiser guru's help please

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:41
ThreadID: 75264 Views:3222 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
This is from my front hub, can't remember where it goes. Watch is for perspective. 78 series 2004 TD troopy. Can't see it on the exploded view in the manual.
Thanks Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: oldpop - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:44

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:44
Lyndon

A photo would help

Oldpop
AnswerID: 399778

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:51

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:51
Lyndon,
That is one of the finest examples of a "this" I've ever seen!

All jokes aside mate, a photo would be great!

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 399779

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:02

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:02
LOL Its a Troopy owner thing :-)

FollowupID: 668734

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:55

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:55
Its called a wheel, mate.

Once your've figured out where it goes, she's ready for a drive.....lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 399781

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:13

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:13
Well it kept you all entertained :-)Image Could Not Be Found
Ps, I know where the watch goes :-)

AnswerID: 399783

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:36

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:36
Nice watch :-)

As to the other bit....No idea!!

FollowupID: 668738

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:38

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:38
Hi Lyndon,
It looks like part of the old inner bearing seal to me.

It doesn't look like a standalone Troopy front hub part.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 668739

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:05

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:05
MMM, I don't think so Geoff. The seal came out in one piece. I bought all the disposables for the whole hub and one didn't come with those?
I'm at a loss!
LK

FollowupID: 668746

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:41

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:41
Looks like a watch to me....left wrist i suspect. ;)

FollowupID: 668750

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:51

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:51
I'm with Geoff,
I reckon a bearing seal has come apart (bit strange!) Normally that part gets dented when you knock the inner bearing and seal out. The one in the photo looks pristine, suggesting it shouldn't have been in the kit, or fell off one of the new seals.
FollowupID: 668752

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:52

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 22:52
I looks like a shim to me, but I may well be wrong...

I would also like to wrong about the cyclone forming 80 miles from here coming anywhere near Gove as we still have our yacht anchored here!

FollowupID: 668753

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:07

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:07
On second thoughts, how big is your watch????
I just got a seal out and the seal looks bigger than what's in your photo. So I'm back to square one - haven't seen it in a Landcruiser.
FollowupID: 668755

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:23

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:23
My two bobs worth!

I'd go with a shim!

FollowupID: 668756

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:28

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:28
I've thought about it further and I'm sure I've seen one of those shims before in the front on either a HJ47 or 75???
FollowupID: 668758

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:56

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:56
G'day Lyndon,

Does your cruiser have free wheeling hubs???

Cheers.....Dave

D
FollowupID: 668765

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 00:19

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 00:19
Lyndon have you done both hubs or only one?

If one only maybe do the other and keep a good lookout for the parts sequence and see if you can pick up where it comes from.
It does looks like a shim.

FollowupID: 668769

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 08:56

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 08:56
Hi Guys
Re having the other side off, all I have taken of is the freewheeling part, that being the outer black piece, not the silver part that goes over the studs that is behind the black piece. Make sense??? It is not from a seal that has fallen apart, of this I am sure. I cleaned the grease of it, meaning it isn’t new. Didn’t really want to pull the other side off here as I’m hoping to go to a mates place next weekend and do the other side there. I guess I can probably drive without it in but didn’t want to re assemble the whole thing to have to pull it apart again. I guess I’m stuck!!!

FollowupID: 668786

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 09:00

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 09:00
Chris, the cyclone is heading the other way, at least for the next few days until it turns around ? Let’s hope not! With a bit of luck it will cross the cape and end up around Cairns somewhere...... Have heard they get a lot of them over that way ?
You getting much rain or wind?

AnswerID: 399824

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 09:17

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 09:17
Hi Phil
It will fit the axle around where the lock nuts etc go, but obviously isn’t as big as that inner bearing seal you have shown. The plot thickens ?

AnswerID: 399826

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 12:17

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 12:17
Yeah,
Starting from the inside, its the same diameter as an inner axle seal, but the factory seal is one piece.
The only shims in there are top and bottom of the swivel housing, and they are flat and wide.
Can't see it being part of the spindle. Did you knock the centre bit out?
The disc brake calipers have a retainer on the dust seals around the piston, but my recollection they have a split in them.
So, the free wheeling hubs - did you disassemble the bit that turns and has a spring? But I've disassembled a few of them and can't recall seeing any bits like that.

I've got to do mine in a few weeks - I'll be on the lookout!
FollowupID: 668823

Reply By: Cliveg - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 14:06

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 14:06
It may well be a shim for the bearing case or seal , and now replaced with a new seal or bearing all in one, check the thckness of the old parts to the new ones
AnswerID: 399860