fuel price in Tas.

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:16
ThreadID: 75267 Views:3473 Replies:5 FollowUps:5

Related Pages

G'day All,
I don't if I'm just stupid or not, but could somebody please tell me what happened to the fuel pricing info that used to be on explore oz, where I was able to look up a state, get a state price and also a price by town. All I can get is some stupid trend chart and the price in Vic. I'm off to Tassie tomorrow and would like to know the cost of lpg. Any helpers please.
terryc

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:34

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:34
What ever the price happens to be you really have no choice but to pay, the alternative is a very long walk.

AnswerID: 399786

Follow Up By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:41

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:41
John, that may be true but in some places - the Nullabor for instance - it helps to know that it is $1 a litre less than further along. Then we can top up before it gets to the start of the rip off section.
FollowupID: 668743

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:41

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:41
Yeah mate I understand but he is talking Tassie and competition in the fuel business is pretty limited.

As I said pay it or walk.

FollowupID: 668760

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 13:59

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 13:59
Add 5 to 10c a litre to Melbourne prices.... but sometimes they are the same!
FollowupID: 668850

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 08:48

Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 08:48
hi
Why buy fuel in these far flung places like the canning, Cameron's corner etcetc
when they seem to be ( @ rip off prices ) because when you need it they wont be there if no one buys there fuel or there souvenirs etc . They will not be there when you are in desperate need when you rupture your tank on the rough roads .
snailbait

Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

FollowupID: 671885

Reply By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:11

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:11
Ok.......on the boat back from Tassie now, Petrol and Deisel is 129.9 everywhere!

Sometimes 131.9........But 129.9 is the norm

Lpg is 79.9 everywhere

AnswerID: 399795

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:38

Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:38
Terry,
There does'nt seem to be any competition with Fuel prices in Tassie,
rosso's figure's are spot on,
4 weeks left then back to the mainland.
food is cheap I suppose it's abit each way.
FollowupID: 668759

Reply By: landed eagle - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 08:27

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 08:27
The only competition on fuel in Tassie is the one where the fuel companies see who can rip off the motorist the most in a given week.
AnswerID: 399817

Reply By: Member - Warrie (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 10:54

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 10:54
No thanks to Shell who claim they are no longer retailers so they dropped the Oz wide fuel info which Ex Oz picked up. This was IMO a genuine service to all of us as customers. Bottom line was that you could find the cheapest and maybe not buy Shell. But alas the capitalist system has its flaws and Shell in their wisdom have left us in the lurch. Solution - buy BP??... Warrie
Warrie

AnswerID: 399838

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 11:58

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 11:58
We were in Tassie for the week between Xmas and New Year. Petrol rices were fairly constant everywhere we went, except in Sorell, where they were about 15 cents/litre cheaper than any where else. Only saw that price at the Woolworths outlet, but certainly joined the queue. I've been told subsequently that Sorell traditionally has the cheapest prices in Tassie (might be an urban myth - who knows?)

teege
AnswerID: 399846