ThreadID: 7527 Views:1559 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
this is from last weekend pushing thru 3ft of virgin snow :D

For links: mt skene pics

Reply By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 10:24

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 10:24
Roly,
I am planning a trip up that way, Have you got any waypoints/tracks you can send me?
Will
AnswerID: 32468

Reply By: Roly - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 10:28

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 10:28
i had my garmin 12xl and a magellin meridian colour running in the car on the weeekend, i'll see what i can get

we stayed in woods point pub and the main deep snow is on the jameison to licola road which travels over the summit of skene...

AnswerID: 32470

Reply By: GLAYVA MAN(bendigo) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 11:59

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 11:59
gday roly.
toonfish and i were up there sunday jamieson-licola road tried getting to the summit but way to much snow on the road.we seen where someone had got to then turned back,pretty deep.we managed to get another 500 or so metres then we had to turn back as well but still a good day.will be going up again in a few weeksjamieson wild cat
AnswerID: 32476

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 15:13

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 15:13
Going up in 3 weeks time if theres any left, getting the injector pump done in 2 weekends.

With the turning back, we had a bunch of girls in 3.0 GU's turn back the weekend me, Luke, and few others headed up, they didnt even get to the lookout, backed up 1klm to turn around !! LOL

I just pushed thru their mush(almost went over side 2 times, but ya only live once!), and Luke and others had no problems following..
FollowupID: 23218

Follow Up By: GLAYVA MAN(bendigo) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 15:22

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 15:22
good then mate we will follow you loljamieson wild cat
FollowupID: 23219

Reply By: Roly - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 12:11

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 12:11
did you come up on the jamieson or licola side?

we came up from licola side
AnswerID: 32477

Follow Up By: GLAYVA MAN(bendigo) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 13:15

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 13:15
jamieson side.not sure how short of the summit we were.jamieson wild cat
FollowupID: 23211

Reply By: Roly - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 13:16

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 13:16
www.offroader.com.au/video/offroader/woodspoint03/

video from the weekend but its 100mb :D
AnswerID: 32480

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 11:28

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 11:28
That was pretty deep snow on the movie....
I like the demonstration on diff locks off difflock on....
No chains though....

With chains you may have been able to get through.... still too dangerous I reckon...
Will
FollowupID: 23286

Follow Up By: Roly - Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 12:31

Thursday, Oct 02, 2003 at 12:31
we will hit the summit this weekend, omnly turned around to help other that were stuck

5psi will get you anywhere no chains required

what is dangerous about it?
FollowupID: 23290

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 09:21

Friday, Oct 03, 2003 at 09:21
You could have run 5 PSI no problems, and you would have got throught with the lockers but it was clear that some of the others wouldn't.
Dangerous as in, if they get stuck and snow starts to pour (Like it did) you may be stuck in the middle, it happened to us once but we got out towards the end of the day almost in the dark...
I could see where you turned around, you were pushing ice blocks, not only snow... 5 PSI and big swampers wil get you through fresh snow but will not cut through the hardened snow/ice you can find this time of the year...
Good luck this weekend, I wish I could join you!
Will
FollowupID: 23369

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 14:35

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 14:35
by the map about 1 - 1/2 to 2 kms from summit jimbo?
thats a lot of hard work.
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
AnswerID: 32485

Follow Up By: GLAYVA MAN(bendigo) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 15:07

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2003 at 15:07
lol so probly didnt have a hope in hell then of getting therejamieson wild cat
FollowupID: 23216