More Waeco Problems

I thought I had fixed my Waeco problems.

I replaced the original cigarette plug with a hella socket and it worked fine initially.

However I left the fridge on the battery for 18 hours and when the battery hit 12.3v the fridge cut out. (It was set to low which I understand has a 10.5v cut out).

The reason I'm reluctant to take it in for repairs is that:

1. The repairer threatened me that if I bought the fridge in for a warranty claim and it was the battery then I would have to pay for to validate the claim (fair enough)

2. Then he said that just because the battery shows 12v or more doesn't mean it will run a fridge.

3. He then said if I do bring it in it will take a month of sundays to repairs.

I'm no expert but when I switched to emergency it dropped the fridge down to -9 so I imagine the battery is strong enough to run the compressor. I think the problem is inside the fridge because it would not run on the cranking battery either.

Is there some other way of checking the condition of the battery with a multimeter, before I finally take it in for a warranty claim and hope not to be ripped off.

Regards
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 21:08

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 21:08
Hi Geoff, sorry to hear of your continuing problems... I remember your previous post.

I wouldn't have a clue regarding what might be the cause of the problem, but there was a link to an article re checking batteries on here a little while ago. I had a look, very good info, and I think it tells you how to check the battery with a multimeter.

Try here.
Battery Info

Hope this is of some help,

Dave

AnswerID: 399927

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 21:53

Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 21:53
Hi Geof