Gwydir Hwy camp

Submitted: Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 17:25
ThreadID: 75303 Views:6255 Replies:4 FollowUps:22
G’day All,
I was born in Inverell so when I’ve got to Glen Innes I’ve always headed west often winding up at Copeton Dam. I’ve never headed east from Glen Innes along the Gwydir Hwy. I’m heading off Thursday to explore this area for five days but want a base camp.
Could someone advise the best camp in their opinion? There are quite a few to choose from. I like isolation and I am fully self sufficient. Will tolerate others if the surroundings make it worthwhile.
Mann River Recreation reserve sounded like my style but I’ve read it is now closed to camping.
Mann River Nature reserve and Mulligans Hut are two of interest.
Thanks in advance,
Myles.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 17:48

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 17:48
Myles,

Try MM these Members

Barbara M (NSW)

Vince B (NSW)

Hairs NSW

They are 3 member who I know go camping in that area regularly.

HTH

AnswerID: 400048

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:25

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:25
Thanks Kev…. Have MM’d as suggested.
Myles.
FollowupID: 669169

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:38

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:38
Myles.
Have sent a MM to you.
Vince
FollowupID: 669173

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:45

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:45
Geez your a good bloke for a cockroach Vince hehehehehe

FollowupID: 669179

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:50

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:50
Hi Kev.
Spot on mate LOL.
We are heading to Mann River for the long weekend so that Kip can get some R & R.
Lets hope we don't get flooded out this time.
Vince
FollowupID: 669181

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 19:30

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 19:30
Hey Kev,
Spoke with Vince. You’re right… not a bad bloke for a cockroach. Guess he’s not far enough over the border to be too badly affected.
hehe
Myles.
FollowupID: 669192

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 19:34

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 19:34
Hi Sent you an message and phone number, was thinking about you Vince we ended up camping at Carnham bridge and the water moved us on also left on Wednesday We were the only people there yes!!!!!!
barb
FollowupID: 669194

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 19:45

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 19:45
Myles,

You may not hear from Hairs for a few days as I think he may be down at at Mann River as we speak LOL

FollowupID: 669198

Reply By: furph - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:21

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:21
G'day Myles.
The Gwyder h/wy. does not offer very much as to camping.

Just out from GI is the Beardy reserve (not the ones on the Tenterfield rd.) where I think you can o/night camp.

Further out is the Rocky (maybe now Timbarra) r. reserve where you can camp and fossick for sapphire.

Thats about it for h/wy. camp spots, but shortly after is the turnoff to the old GI/Grafton rd. (Mann r. reserve at bottom of hill, camping allowed, no dogs)

From there on are many riverside good camping spots all the way to Buccarumbi.
You could easily spend a week down there.

By the way, the catties are on the bite at the moment and the river is well refreshed.
cheers. furph

AnswerID: 400056

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:31

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:31
Furph,
Thanks for your response. I didn’t mean camps directly on the Hwy but meant that region.
The catties are the ugliest but best eating freshwater fish. I’ll give them a go. Just love them.
Myles.
FollowupID: 669170

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:23

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:23
Try the old Gwydir hwy especially down on the Boyd river which is after you cross the Mann River. Near Dalmorton as well as the old tunnel you could take a right turn up into the Chaelundi area.

We have camped at the Hall near Broadmedows, Under the tall pines when you first get to the river (can't miss them) and down at Bucarumbi Bridge. It is a great area whicch is slowly getting locked up.

Used to be able to camp anywhere along the river but those days are gone.

AnswerID: 400057

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:41

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:41
Alan,
I’ve read it’s a great drive and I plan on doing the loop while away. The drive to the Chaelundi area may be for another time. There’s a lot to explore down there including Guy Fawkes Wilderness Area.
Myles.
FollowupID: 669175

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 07:50

Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 07:50
Alan's suggestion about Dalmorton is a good one. Cross the bridge at Dalmorton and about a k up the track is a lovely camp spot almost right on the river. We've camped there a few times, it is a really nice spot.

FollowupID: 669266

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 07:53

Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 07:53
Thanks Brian,
Will take a look.
Myles.
FollowupID: 669267

Follow Up By: sc00by123 - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 08:48

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 08:48
Hi Brian,

Might head down to Dalmorton in a week or two. Can you tell me if the swimming is ok for young kids?

Craig
FollowupID: 671445

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 08:56

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 08:56
G’day Craig,
I know your question was directed to Brian but I’ve just been there and can say the swimming will be ok for supervised kids though you didn’t say their age or swimming ability. There is running water and quiet back waters. You will easily find a suitable spot.
Myles.
FollowupID: 671446

Follow Up By: sc00by123 - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:02

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:02
Hey Myles,

My kids are 5 and 3 and only just learning. Sounds like it will be fine if there are quiet back waters as you say.

We are from Armidale and want to get in as many weekends as we can before the chill sets in! Recently we've been to Georges Junction, Platypus Flat and 5720km's of road from Armidale-Melbourne-Adelaide-Broken Hill-Armidale.

As you can tell, we've got the bug ;-)

Also looking at Cangai, which is exactly the same distance as Dalmorton from here.

Craig

FollowupID: 671448

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:17

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:17
Craig,
It’s a beautiful area. While there I would recommend travelling the length of the old Grafton (Gen Innes) road. You can do a loop taking in the Gwydir Hwy so you don’t have to back track. It will take you the best part of the day especially if, like me, you go down every side track you find.
I stayed at Cangai Bridge.
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundMyles.
FollowupID: 671449

Follow Up By: sc00by123 - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 11:18

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 11:18
Brian,

Google Maps, suggests the way to Dalmorton is to go via Nymboida and up past Buccarumbi @198km.

An alternate route is via Marengo and Chaelundi @164km and 20min longer. Time is no problem. Have you been this way? We have a Subaru Outback and a non offroad Jayco Finch.

If both ways are suitable we will probably go there one way and come back the other.

Thanks again.
FollowupID: 671461

Follow Up By: sc00by123 - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 11:19

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 11:19
Sorry Myles, I unintentionally directed that question at Brian again :-(
FollowupID: 671462

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 18:46

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 18:46
G’day Craig,
Sorry, I haven’t travelled from Armidale to Damorton but judging by my maps it should be an easy drive and is the route I would take. I have travelled Baccarumbi to Dalmorton where the road will deteriorate a little, but you will still find it easy going.
Happy travels.
Myles.
FollowupID: 671577

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 22:24

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 22:24
Myles & Craig...
Hi guys.. Great site this is, yeah?? I missed this bit of the thread when Craig first asked the question, and Myles steps up to the plate with up-to-date info! How good is that? I haven't been down the Old Grafton Rd for a while, so Myles recent trip is much better info than mine. But I don't really think there'd be a problem with swimming, as long as you keep an eye on the kids. Likewise, the road is not too bad and shouldn't be a problem. There's a couple of good places along there to have a look-see, the Mann River Nature Reserve at the Glenn Innes end is quite pretty too! Also Nymboida is worth a look, there's a park there with a man made water rafting course that is worth checking out.

Enjoy your trip up their Craig!

FollowupID: 671626

Follow Up By: sc00by123 - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:05

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:05
Hey Brian, thanks for that.

We've been to Mann River Nature Reserve before. It was just a day trip and it was quite funny actually. When we arrived we veered to the left where most people would camp along the river. There were lots of reeds and nowhere really to swim. We cooked up some lunch and talked about how the place didn't live up to it's reputation. Just before we decided to leave we walked up around the corner and there was the beautiful swimming hole, so we stayed for another four hours!

Also, we regularly go passed the Nymboida Canoeing Centre (if that's the place you mean). We agree it looks like a good spot, but maybe when the kids are a bit older. Being so narrow the river really pics up some speed through there.

Anyways, thanks to all the feedback here we'll be sure to head over to Dalmorton in the next few weeks. Will report back with pics etc etc!

Craig
FollowupID: 671655

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 09:46

Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 09:46
Mrs Bush and I passed through the areas North West of where Myles is talking about, ie, the opposite direction to where he's going, but they were beautiful places and they might be of interest to readers of this Thread.

Here's a photo of Beardy Creek Heritage Park just north of Glen Innes (Camps 4 #132 in NSW)

Just out of Bingara is the campsite(s) on the Gwydir River. Camps 4 #333 in NSW. Here's a picture.

This was a very nice place and I reckon is well known to a lot of people.

Next was the Lions Park at Bundarra. Well set up with toilets etc. Overnight camping is OK and it's a beaut location. Camps 4 #140 in NSW.

Hope this helps some of you get to these spots and enjoy them like we did.

AnswerID: 400143

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:47

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:47
Mate, that is excellent info! I particularly like the pic of #333, that looks like a spot we'll be heading to real soon!
Thanks for the pics.

FollowupID: 671658

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 10:58

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 10:58
You're welcome Brian. Apparently there's a lot more water there right now.

Just remember that these numbers are from Camps 4. They have all been re-numbered in Camps 5 and are all different.

FollowupID: 671694