TRITON. Overland Magizine 4WDOTY.

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 14:17
ThreadID: 75609 Views:5917 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
The Mitsubishi Triton has won Overlander Magazines 4WDOTY award. The new Toyota Prado second & the New Land Rover Discovery 4 was 3rd. Have Overlander lost the plot or is this a marketing ploy to sell magazines? Is the Triton a worthy winner? Are the Nissan products that far behind?

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 14:40

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 14:40
Take it from a Nissan Owner.
Yes Nissan lost the plot with the 3ltr Grenade.
And all their other products are doing the catch up bit.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 401741

Reply By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 15:09

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 15:09
I went and had a look/drive at the new hilux's and tritons yesterday, the triton has heaps of grunt, a real goer all the way through the rev range, very big in the torque department 400nm for memory, BUT shocking turning circle, found the cabin to be very squashy (i need to lose a few kg's) the hilux no where near the get up and go (both auto's) (well it didnt feel like it anyway) the hilux was not as comfortable as the triton, better turning circle in the lux, tray in the triton was bigger, the air flow through the triton was great with the rear window been able to open without that thudding noise you normally get when some one has the rear side windows open, Where Toyota excelled was in the engine bay, the intake for the triton like the pajero was over the radiator more towards driver side, snorkel a must if river crossings or playing in the waster are your thing, it was flimsy as, I thought at first there must have been a clip missing but nope checked the other 2 on the lot same thing, think this would be a major issue if travelling corragations it flexes the whole air filter cannister, cant see any room for duel batterys, maybe possible with moving a few things around, both had there pluses and minuses but hilux was a whole heap dearer and no rear diff lock option like the mitsi at $750 as an extra you would be mad not to get it fitted. Toyota have done some stupid things with the new prado's. V6's have the aircon pipe and power steer resovoir where the second battery would go, the diesel has the aircon pipe in the way, cant for the life of me work out why Toyota would do such a stupid thing right where they have provided room for dual battery. Salesman raving about how the rear seat now fold down into the floor on the prado, yes they fold down but not into the floor as such all they have done is put in a false floor decreasing cargo area and reduced the fuel tank capacity to 150 instead of the old 120's 180. Maybe they will right it in the series 2.Regards Steve
AnswerID: 401744

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 16:38

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 16:38
The advertised Turning Circle for the Lux is 12.2 M the Triton is 11.8?
FollowupID: 671166

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 17:57

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 17:57
There you go, I never looked at the specs on either vehicle only what I remember the salesman telling my mate but do admit I drove them both as well. Not sure what the specs for power on the hilux are but the triton definately had more stick, the hilux felt like it had a tighter turning circle but obviously it didnt by your specs. He was going to look at the bt 50 today, they seem like a great vehicle too. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 671180

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:51

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:51
I drove the Triton,Nissan Navara & Hilux. I tought the turning circle on Triton was very good same as yota but the Navara I doubt if it would beat a tug boat!! As for second battery you would get two AA's under the bonnet of Navara!! Why do they make the Navara with a six speed manual gearbox & drum rear brakes (triton too). Nissan are not playing catch up they are going backwards IMO
FollowupID: 671292

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:58

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:58
The Hilux also has Rear Drums, lord knows why, but my Triton stops very nicely.
FollowupID: 671297

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 16:24

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 16:24
I think the TRITON has been a winner for a long time Image Could Not Be Found8-))

But them I'm biased LOL

Fred.
AnswerID: 401748

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 16:55

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 16:55
The Triton has been an under estimated vehicle for some time. Brand bias against Mitsubishi due to some previous less than perfect models has seen very poor sales but they are certainly worthy winners now. Totota's ridiculous prices for 2nd rate cars has seen many swapping badges. I know I was one :-)
Our work baught over 40 Tritons last year in a major swing away from Toyota due to better whole of life costing. They certainly aren't giving any trouble so far.
And Yes Nissan have no new offerings worth looking at for the moment. Maybe the new Pootrol.
Cheers Craig..................
AnswerID: 401749

Reply By: oldpop - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 19:24

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 19:24
OERJAP

Isn't The mag sponsored by mitsubishi

Oldpop
AnswerID: 401777

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:55

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:55
NO YOTA owns them all!!! Actually only joking I wouldn't know. But I do know that when a certain well known Sydney Radio identity (Who never obeyed the LAWS) promoted Yota it is alleged he received 1% of all Yota sales in Australasia.....he wasn't bias in anyway....NOT
FollowupID: 671296

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 21:33

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 21:33
All this 4WDOTY stuff is marketing advertorial. The one who takes out the most advertising usually wins.

Not praising or criticising any of the entrants but these types of awards are in no way an objective assessment of the real merits of different vehicles.

Some years ago I remember heaps of praise for the then new Navara D40. The next year it was a heap. Can't remember the magazine. Prefer to forget.

Anyway it should have been the new airbag equipped Landcruiser trayback. :)

Flynnie
AnswerID: 401805

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 23:19

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 23:19
A little cynical don't you think. I know 2 people who judge these awards. Surely you're not suggesting their decisions are influenced or overidden by the magazine accountants?
Awards for the best vehicle in each class can only be made at the time of testing & will never compare all cars available, just new model releases. Long term reliability of vehicles obviously can't ever be tested.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 671232

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 00:06

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 00:06
Craig

Let us hope it is as you say and commercial pressures do not distort the awards.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 671241

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 09:01

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 09:01
No Flynnie - you were right first time - car reviews written by people who have not outlayed their own $ (and do not pay for the servicing for a good number of years) are virtually worthless.
FollowupID: 671273

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 21:47

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 21:47
Hi orejap,
Someone else (cant remember which mag) gave it the 2010 ute of the year too. Major concern for me is that the diesel develops its peak kilowatt rating at 4000 rpm. Starting to wonder if the engineers are trying to get more power (plus better economy, & emission levels) from smaller engines, at the expense of engine longevity.

No facts in this, just my thoughts.

My old Jackaroo has 118kw at 2000-2200 rpm, and I hope it does a lot more km's (if I can afford the injectors...lol) before it 'wears itself out'. Not sure that doing twice the revs to get the power will let the engine last as long as the older diesels normally do.

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 401811

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 22:44

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 22:44

I reckon the important thing is where it developes reasonable torque (as opposed to power). If it has usable torque from 1000 rpm all the way through to 3000, then the fact that peak power comes in at 4000 is meaningless. You'd rarely need to go there.

Not an engineer, just a driver.

FollowupID: 671225

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 00:00

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 00:00
G'day Bob

Yes, you are right there, I stand corrected. I haven't seen a graph of the torque curve, so I wouldn't know where the usable torque is. It's just that nearly every comment on these vehicles mention that 'they go like the clappers' etc, so I am assuming that the driver is revving the guts out of it to get to the peak horsepower rev range. Maybe I shouldn't assume :))

I have no problems with Mitzi, I have owned 2 'road' cars, and both terrific, so not picking on the Triton, just wondering whether the engines will last. I hope so, I will be looking to replace the Jackaroo in the not-too-distant future, and I am keeping my eyes peeled for what is around ..... I have no particular brand loyalty.

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 671240

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 22:56

Saturday, Jan 30, 2010 at 22:56
Interesting that they gave the Prado the nod ahead of the Disco.

Both 3L diesels.

Prado: Power 127kW @ 3400rpm
Torque 410Nm @ 1600-2800rpm

Disco: Power 180kW @ 4000rpm
Torque 600Nm @ 2000rpm

AnswerID: 401828

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 01:01

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 01:01
Yeah but performance figures dont win COTY awards...or at least shouldnt.
FollowupID: 671243

Follow Up By: The Boss - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 02:37

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 02:37
Christ almighty. 180kW and 600Nm from a 3 litre.

Lets see how long they last.
FollowupID: 671246

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 08:54

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 08:54
Prado - 4 cyl single turbo
D4 - V6 Twin Turbo
FollowupID: 671269

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 09:18

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 09:18
Re 'the Boss above' - I'm amazed at the current trends too - see BMW powerhouse ...... I doubt whether a single purchaser of such cars ever intends to own it when the first repair is needed ..... and just who would buy one years old ? - with presumed 'space shuttle' parts pricing, plus never finding anyone who knows how they work, it would have to be a nightmare.
FollowupID: 671277

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:32

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 10:32
Off Track

Yeah, but...

"The Prado's engine is quiet, refined and delivers excellent fuel economy for a vehicle of its size but fully loaded it struggles to build momentum. Add a trailer or caravan and the problem is amplified. Overtaking requires plenty of forward planning and although the five-speed transmission works well to keep the engine in its sweet spot, it needs more muscle to move the metal."

From "Drive"
FollowupID: 671289

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 11:07

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 11:07
Yes you are spot on Bob. The Playdoh is lacking especially when towing into a wind & or up hills. The article in the mag mentions this & it seems Yota have actually done really nothing to improve a good vehicle. The twin turbos in the Disco are not mated or actually twin turbos & is a somewhat "false s/ment" from Land Rover (read the article I don't want to bore you with my lack of knowledge on the subject) Had a few Jackaroo T/D in the job I am in and I thought very underated vehicles until two just stopped (blew up) for no apparent reason these were 2002 & 2003 from memory SE 5 speed manuals travelling at 100 k/pH but on hot days. Both vehicles had tralled between 60 & 100 thous. Km.
FollowupID: 671299

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 12:07

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 12:07
Twin Turbo's in the D4 are sequential both acting on all cylinders. One is constant low boost (to reduce lag), the the other variable nozzle for the grunt.

I would suggest that twin turbo setups that have one for each bank is more a case of false advertising than what LR are doing since each cylinder only has one turbo acting on it, unlike the D4.

As for the Prado engine, it is a case of the usual Toyota marketing ploy. Introduce a new model with the old drive train, suck in a bunch of punters who have to have the latest and then 2 years later bring in the new engines and pick up another bunch of fresh meat. They did it with the 100, the 120 Prado, the current one and the petrol 200. They could not do it on the 200 Deisel because the old wheezer was too smoggy.

OBT
FollowupID: 671319