"V8Race".....what a buzz!!!!!!

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 15:40
ThreadID: 75642 Views:4465 Replies:15 FollowUps:11
When I left my job at NAB last July (after 38 years, 7 months and 6 days being on their payroll), the staff at the "shop" chipped in and bought me a gift voucher for a 6 lap drive around one of the race tracks covered by "V8Race".

My closest track is Mallalla (near Adelaide) and I booked my big day a few months ago........TODAY was the day!!!

What a great idea. I would never have thought of being so self-indulgent as to spend my own cash on something like this, but when others have paid for; WOW!!!!

I had a great bloke (coach) in the passenger's seat. The track is marked out with cones and other orange markers, to show mugs like me the line to take into corners and where to start braking.

The coach eggs you on....."FLAT-OUT.......closer to the curb.....don't lift off yet.......!!!!!!!BRAKE HARD NOW!!!!!! " etc etc

It was a real adrenalin buzz and for anyone who hasn't tried it (or any other form of motor racing), this is a GREAT way to see for yourself the sort of experience that "real" race car drivers have.

Make no mistake about it......I am under NO dillusion that these cars are anywhere near the real V8 Supercars, but even so, it was a real eye opener to drive a car legally at STOOOOOPID speeds and then to feel the massive braking power at the end of the straights. That braking power experience, together with the cornering capabilities were what I remember the most. The acceleration was great too, but having ridden big motorbikes in my younger days, I already knew what it was like to be propelled from nought to "too fast" in next to no time.....

Still buzzing....

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:10

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:10
Roachie,

Is it the same mob that are advertising on EO??

See here for the Ad in EO Activities

Have always wondered what it would be like.

AnswerID: 401930

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:04

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:04
Yes mate, that looks like the one....or very similar. They said they've been doing it for 17 years and started off in Brizvegas. They now travel from city to city and take the cars with them.
FollowupID: 671360

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:30

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:30
G'day Roachie.If you still have the bike drop a hint for your next present to whomever to do a motorcycle rider training course. The one I did was a "Stayuprite" course and after all the theory you got three lots of 20mins free riding with bikes of your same class around Eastern Creek. I only lasted two sesions and came away buggered, but with so much knowledge on how to ride a bike correctly and the biggest buzz a human mind could muster. 270Kph down the straight is mind boggling.
This was 10 years ago. I no longer ride bikes but I still put some of the things I learnt into driving my car on the road to this day. Tandem hangliding is pretty good too.Regards, Bob.
AnswerID: 401934

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:05

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:05
No mate, bike is long gone....but still have my license accredited to ride, so maybe one day I might get back on a beast....
FollowupID: 671361

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:11

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:11
Roachie....ya never too old to throw a leg over :-))))) LOL LOL
FollowupID: 671365

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:45

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:45
I suppose the next time you set up the Ultimate will be at Mallala Bill!

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 401936

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:47

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:47
I reckon he will be back there with the Chevmissan and Ultimate to try and do the same lap times as the V8Race vehicles LOL

FollowupID: 671356

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:09

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:09
I did break a couple of minor speed laws this morning to get there in time......hahahaha. Bloody kids dragged their feet and I wanted to get away at 8am. Left here at 8.15am and had to try to make up for it enroute.

Managed to get "Nev" (named coined by Des Lexic at a recent camping trip) up to 120k/h on the dirt back track between here and Balaklava........
FollowupID: 671363

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:49

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 16:49
" OH Dear"......The Chev Nissan will never be the same again, After that lot,,,LOL.

Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 401937

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:10

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:10
Mate, it felt very pedestrian to be driving back home in "Nev" at a sedate 110k/h...that's for sure.
FollowupID: 671364

Reply By: rosso1234 - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:56

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 17:56
" I already knew what it was like to be propelled from nought to "too fast" in next to no time..... "

Ha ha ha ha love it, tis one of the reasons we ride bikes :)
AnswerID: 401940

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:53

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:53
I spose it's safe to admit it now, as about 34 have since elapsed....... The fastest I've ever been was when I was living in Canberra. I was riding my Kwaka900 towards Cooma in 1975 and came over a crest of a hill to find that the RTA had just laid a new stretch of beautiful, flat hot-mix right along the big dipper.....about 4 klm to the next crest and no other vehicles in sight.

I wound her up and crouched down over the tank like never before. Speedo indicated 230k/h.....not sure what the real speed would have been.

Ever since then I look back and think how bloody stupid I was. Any little thing could have brought about my demise that day.....but I survived. I had to pull up at the end of the dipper and take some deep breathes....I was shaking like a leaf in a gale!!!! hahahahaha

FollowupID: 671396

Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:58

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:58
260 kph....1am...... M4 motor way.....backed off when a little voice said 'your a clown' never did that speed again. BUT still remember it like yesterday. I now understand the value of 'track days'
FollowupID: 671398

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 18:00

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 18:00
I bet the boys were jealous!!!

teege
AnswerID: 401942

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:43

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:43
Yeh, even my middle son (12 going on 19) was keen to ask the ol man what it was like...hahaha can't usually get boo out of him (he's just too kewl to talk to the ol man these days)......hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 671388

Reply By: Rod W - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:20

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:20
Hey Roachie, I had the same experience last Sunday at Barbagello Raceway (Perth) it was a gift for my 60th last year. Like you say what a buzz. The one time I got a chance to look at the speedo it was at 160ks. One has a whole new respect for the super car drivers who are using all the gears.

AnswerID: 401961

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:45

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:45
Yeh Rod, the young bloke (Sam) who did the driver's briefing said that they'd just come over from WA.

Glad you had a good time too. I wasn't able to actually see the speedo reading as I was driving, but did see where the needle was pointing a couple of times. When I stopped I saw the speedo and I was getting close to the 200 mark; damned scary!!!! But great fun.
FollowupID: 671389

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 07:20

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 07:20
Hey Roachie I did the same last year at Mallala, also a 60th birthday gift from the two kids.

I did manage to glance down when going down the back straight and was doing 225kph. And he told me to hold it there around the slight bend on that straight, you know the one!!! I think 225 is flat out.
Had to be a Ford too!!

Geoff.
FollowupID: 671436

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 21:34

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 21:34
Geez Roachie at least you had some fun - came back from the bush last night and I noticed the gps max speed said 190 , now the valve clearances are getting a little wide and the Patrol takes forever to get over 190 and I don't remember even going over 95kph so either my short term memory is shot or the gps missed a beat between two readings in the forrest.

AnswerID: 401975

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 22:03

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 22:03
Would have been quite a buzz Roachie. I had the honour of a couple of laps around Barbagello raceway in Perth with Jim Richards in one of his Porches. No the miserable bugger wouldn't let me have a go only as a passenger...lol. I still remember the first time into the corner at the end of the straight. I'm pretty sure he didn't even downshift, just left it until my clacker had a firm grip on the seat cover and then stood on the anchors.... wow. And I'm also sure he wasn't getting close to race speeds, just enough to get my adrenaline and various other bodily wastes flowing.

Cheers Pop
AnswerID: 401984

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 22:11

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 22:11
Congratulations Roachie

I often pass the raceway on my meanderings...mmm...I might look into this...I have always wanted to be a racer or rally driver...must be all the whizzing around on bikes in my early daze...before I got sensible...sort of.

I'm green with envy...six years to go before I retire.

Anyway lucky you!
AnswerID: 401985

Reply By: Outnabout.. - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 23:35

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 23:35
Quite a few years back now I had the pleasure of going around Calder Park Thunderdome in a NASCAR. I was so amazed as I thought the track was a big oval shape but no it has corners there are gear changes and as you know some very hard braking. The worst part was leaving the pits. By the time you get from the lane to the track you are travelling at 100 and something and stairing at what looks to be a wall then quick as a flash you turn left and off you go. Then you are struggling against the G Forces and I thought my helmut was going to scrape the wall as we were so close.

As you say a huge adrenalin rush but then sliding down a wet high country track with no traction and then having to accellerate to get the wheels turning has given me similar feelings in the rear end.
AnswerID: 401997

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 03:51

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 03:51
Told yah they would be a buzz...faster on the pickup than Nev me thinks.... Did they tell you what speed you got to on the straight? '

Unless they have changed what they do they used to shorten the straight a little from the original race track to keep top speed down.

Told you Nev would go better with a Petrol V8, maybe something like below.

Glad you enjoyed it you bl00dy Old Hoon....LOLOL

AnswerID: 402009

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 08:44

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 08:44
Go Roachie
Congrats mate .....

I am envious.
Bet you didn't need Viagra that day.

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 402028

Reply By: downtools - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:56

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:56
G'day Roachie,

SWMBO gave me 5 laps around Eastern Creek in a V8 about 18 months ago!
Like you said, fantasic, and it's legal to "wring it's neck" around the track.
Showed that v8 holden no mercy!!

On the day I paid an extra $49 for a DVD record of my drive.
The dvd didn't work and the guys from V8 race cars said, "pull on a set of overalls and we'll do it again"!!!
Fantastic, another 5 laps!!
Glad you had a good time Roachie, see you on the track.
Cheers Nifty
AnswerID: 402040

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 18:34

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 18:34
another real buzz is Gliders
take a trail flight...they let you take the reigns....ask "how fast can it go"..and "how slow can it go before it stalls"

take some spare undies...until you've done it a couple of times
AnswerID: 402128