Touch screen and computer

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 15:26
ThreadID: 75730 Views:2772 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
G'Day All
Hope some one out there can help.I've installed a 7" touch screen to the ute (it sits on the dash at the moment) and I have connected it to the lap top under the seat,all works well the problem I'm having is if I turn the computer off with the touch screen I then need to drag it out from under the seat to restart.Is there a way to restart the computer from the touch screen?
Thanks Norm

Reply By: Rhys - Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 16:02

Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 16:02
I think that is all you can do, what about just putting the laptop to sleep instead of off, screen should then be able to wake computer for use, Rhys.
AnswerID: 402462

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 16:51

Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 16:51
Auto power up and down is the biggest problem with a laptop.

If your PC is out of warranty, and you are game the best way to do it is to take the laptop apart and solder wires to the power switch. Then you can run them out to a momentary push button switch that you put somewhere convenient in the car. You could take it to a pc repair shop and they could do it in a blink.

Having gone that far there are a few automatic power up / power down circuits.

like this

You can even go further and get one of these.

Cart PC power supply

While primarily designed for Mini ITX format pc's you can use the reset circuit for laptops if you do the above mod. That way it can be configured to automatically start, I use it to start the PC 5 seconds after vehicle start, then power down say 20 mins after switch off so it doesn't power down at a servo/quick stop etc. Also if you turn the car off while it is booting it will keep the power on long enough for a full boot and shut down.

This is fully automatic and has been very reliable.
AnswerID: 402467

Follow Up By: The other Norm C (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 23:36

Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 23:36
That looks like what I need Thanks
Norm
FollowupID: 672018