Shack Rebuild Lake Rason

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 17:10
ThreadID: 75820 Views:6144 Replies:12 FollowUps:8

Reply By: DesertCruiser - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 17:22

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 17:22
Here are some pic's that all have been waiting for of the Lake Rason 7Millers Shack rebuild.
I hope there in the right place for all to find.

Ready for traverlers of Oz again. hope you all enjoy our hard work. every day was over 40 Deg.
Hi Guys,
as said, we rebuilt the Seven Millers Shack. better than before. on inspection of the area, we found many new trees that had been blown over from the Easterly storm that Trashed the Shack.

We got there at 5pm and began the clean up, a bit disapointed that no one else picked up the mags and loose paper to prevent a big clean up turning into a huge one!... anyway as the pics show, build it bigger and better, no wood for the white ants, more stays, concrete, and star pickets driven over a meter through rock into the ground then welded to the posts.

The temp only once fell below 40 in the day, Australia Day was 46 Deg. no wind we pulled the pic and went for a drive up the other end of the lake ( The Big Rabbit Patch) as we turned to come back there were clouds, which got darker as we got closer to camp. our beds, power tools clothes bags and so on were out-side ( due to the fact that there was no in-side YET!) On our arrival to camp we found Rivers of water 6inches deep running through the shack area down into the Lake. I've never seen that much water flowing out there. Our swags were soaked, pillows, dripping wet, clothes bags full of water and so on. All we could do was laugh. It went from Blue skys Hot and dry 46 Deg's to Cyclonic winds and downpoor all in 3 and a half hours! one big section of roof was relocated 40 meters away.from where it was when we left........ An AUSTRALIA DAY I won't forget. An hour later our mates from Mandurah Adrian and Peter Arrived. We Got stuck into the rebuild .
A lot of hard yakka, and a big effort from all.

Note the new lighting in the Shack.

Note:
We took over a ton of damaged tin etc to the tip along with 28 garbage bags of rubbish....... 7 of which contained Bottles/ Beer stubbies.
Please take your glass back out with you, the Shack isn't a dumping ground.

It was a hard 8 Days,hot dry ( execpt for the storm) 2 of us were consuming over 25 liters of water a day.

Many thanks to all,

7Millers Shack Rebuilt by:
Darryl, Brian ( 7 Millers)
Adrian and Peter
Between 25th Jan 2010 to 3rd Feb 2010

AnswerID: 402982

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 18:06

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 18:06
Well done lads,

I was shocked when I first heard your beloved shack had been damaged.

Many of us thought that vandals were the cause. Thankfully we were wrong in that assumption and therefore felt better that the ugly Australian hasn't ventured that far out.

I hope it wasn't all work out there and that you got sometime time to tour around or do your thing.

Again congratulations from all us who go that way and have enjoyed your marvellous facility.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 672519

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 15:11

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 15:11
Is that Darryl, son of Des?

FollowupID: 672598

Follow Up By: DesertCruiser - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 22:03

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 22:03
Yes this is Darryl, dags, son of Des McLean

Who's this Gone Bush?????
FollowupID: 672806

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 23:36

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 23:36
G'day Darryl,

I used to have the Dick Smith shop in Mandurah when you and your dad had your security business.

FollowupID: 672823

Follow Up By: DesertCruiser - Tuesday, Feb 09, 2010 at 14:23

Tuesday, Feb 09, 2010 at 14:23
I knew the number plate, had seen it arround but couldn't remember where.
good to here from you.

Darryl
FollowupID: 672884

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 18:11

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 18:11
Desertcruiser
I have never been to the area, but all I can say is "BLOODY GOOD JOB, WELL DONE!!.

All fair dinkum travellers will appreciate your work.

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 402986

Follow Up By: DesertCruiser - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 19:58

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 19:58
Thanks guys,
It's good hear people going out that way and enjoying the area. the big water tank is still 3quarters full of good drinking water.

you should come on out there dave, It's a top spot, lots of wildlife, camels, donky's, rabitts, dingoes, the odd stupid goat, emues roo's , bickitas (like a rock wallaby on steroids) found arround breakaways.

great country. top little shack again.
Dags
FollowupID: 672526

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 20:47

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 20:47
That's a sensational effort guys; thanks very much.

I am hoping to get out in 2011. Am commited to the southern CSR this year. This will be a highlight.Well done.

AnswerID: 403000

Reply By: Outnabout.. - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 21:38

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 21:38
Its a great job guys and good to see you fitted the fly screen door before the rest went up. Got to keep those blowflies out.
AnswerID: 403010

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 21:38

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 21:38
Yep sensaational effort!!! And your willingness to share the shack is generous to say the least.

I've driven past it 3 times - we enjoy travelling through Plumridge Lakes and like the Lake Rason Road, and the sandalwood story. Will definitely call in next time.

AnswerID: 403012

Reply By: The other Norm C (WA) - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 22:03

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 22:03
Hi Darryl
Got your e-mail this arvo.A great job by you and your mates,
I bet there will be a lot of relived people happy to see the shack standing prouder than ever.Cant wait for the opportunity to get out there again
Norm
AnswerID: 403013

Reply By: Kanga1 - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 22:34

Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 22:34
You Blokes are LEGENDS, I hope to catch up with you down the track and shout you a beer. Brilliant rebuild, what else can I say. Cheers to all of you, Kanga1.
Tempus Fugit

Kanga.

AnswerID: 403016

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 02:11

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 02:11
It's already been said, but worth saying again;-)

You blokes are to be congratulated, not only for the re-building effort, but for your un-paralleled generosity in making this available to all comers, most of whom you'll probably never meet...

Next time I'm passing by (planning to be in the area mid-year), I'll drop in and dust the furniture for ya ;-))

PS.. Gotta love that chandelier ;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 403029

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 14:33

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 14:33
Gotta agree with everyone else, top effort guys. of course all the steel would have been cool to touch LOL ......

AnswerID: 403103

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 14:39

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 14:39
Congratulations & well done!

QUOTE:

For the life of me, I don't understand why people take glass into the bush or Outback.
AnswerID: 403105

Follow Up By: DesertCruiser - Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 00:12

Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 00:12
Me niether, but we take out from the shack each year about 2 x 44Gal (200 Litres) drums full of glass.

My other winge is the people who put their stubbies in the fire, dosn't go down well with spuds in foil cooked in the coals, but I guess that dosn't worry them, as they proberly have a tin of baked beans and don't give a S***.

Some are just slow learners of the bush I guess.

I love all your replies and we're blowen away by the responce of fellow 4WD'ers.

Dags - 7 Miller
FollowupID: 673009

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 08:35

Wednesday, Feb 10, 2010 at 08:35
Yes Shaker, agree on all counts.

Not just the outback though, we cleared glass from camp tables where stubbies had been shot up within 15kms of Bendigo back in December. Two guys there with a high power rifle who fortunately decided to leave when we got near.

Glass can go straight to your bin, it does with us.
FollowupID: 673027

Reply By: Fossil - 7 Miller - Monday, Feb 15, 2010 at 16:16

Monday, Feb 15, 2010 at 16:16
good on you dags I was a bit worried that our beloved shack had met the end of the road , but you guys have done yourselves proud and I take my hat off to you. As you know it was a lot of hard work when we first went up there 14 years ago to build the shack and it has grown a lot since then. As I say, I take my hat off to you guys for doing a great job all the best to you all.
your old mate the fossil.
AnswerID: 404323

Reply By: Stormy2j - Monday, Feb 15, 2010 at 19:10

Monday, Feb 15, 2010 at 19:10
Hi Dags,

Mum told me about the damage to the shack. great pics and good to see it up again. Good memories of the Shack and it would have been a shame to see it gone for ever.

I reckon the 7 millers should have a re-union party one day and get some pics of you all and have it resined and put on a plaque.

Storm
(daughter of one of the 7 millers - The Fossil)
AnswerID: 404339