Camp Shower

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 16:38
ThreadID: 75853 Views:8694 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Well, it's time to get serious about a shower as our round OZ trip draws closer. We use the trusty old solar shower, but the sun don't shine 24/7 and we are bound to cop some bad weather here and there on our trip.
After some deliberation and a family vote, mum voted for the under bonnet set up and the boy and I put our hands up for the Rainman shower. Blokes win 2 to 1.

http://www.2daloo.com/camp_shower.htm#5

Who's using the Rainman camp shower, can you give me some feedback on it's performance/reliability please.
As it is a pump action device, has anyone had dramas having to replace any internal bits and pieces. I know spares can be purchased.
The various heating methods and not having to be bound to the fourby as with under bonnet jobs is the winner for me! They state you get a good shower for 2 people! is this true from peoples experience.

cheers,

Evan
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:01

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:01
Evan.......Showering when on holiday !!!

Sounds like your've been domesticated mate.....lol.

When Paula picks up the shampoo the dog and I both run for cover....hahaha.

Hope you guys have a safe trip.

Cheers.....Lionel & Paula.
AnswerID: 403128

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:09

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:09
Hi Lionel,

I'll see ya in Wiluna, the gathering is our first stop on our round OZ trip. Thought it was the perfect way to start it!

as for showering, it's Lee more than us that needs a hose down every day. Little dude is like a dirt magnet when we go bush! that's kids for ya I spose.

say howdie to Paula for us.

adios...
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

FollowupID: 672642

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 08:48

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 08:48
If you are going to shower at the Wiluna caravan park, don't touch the walls and wear crocks !!!
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 672699

Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:04

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:04
We bought a Primus Gas setup and when it worked it was great, but there was a lot of mucking around and when we camped in the bush late it was always hard to get going.

So the Boss bought another 12V shower & pump for ab out $15-20, we now boil one kettle of water and mix with two cold kettles - then have a shower, works great and the boss wins yet again.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

AnswerID: 403131

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 19:44

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 19:44
Paul.
Couldn't agree more.
12v shower is the way to go.
Vince
FollowupID: 672638

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:24

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:24
Hi Vince,
Where did you get yousr from and how much?
I'm jealous of you guys, after the pics Mark showed me of your trip over the hill from Cangi towards the gorge. I've got the truck fixed now, and hopefully it wont fall on a kids birthday party, LOL.

FollowupID: 672646

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 21:48

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 21:48
We got ours from Caravans Plus, so the boss informs me.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 672668

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 06:50

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 06:50
Hi Paul,
Is this the one you purchased from them?
12V shower
FollowupID: 672688

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 07:43

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 07:43
That's the one but it was somewhat cheaper then. I could have sent an MM but there are others interested in this also. Ours was a blue in colour so it was probably from old stock, but it works a treat.

I'm going to find this one hard to live down now as I argued for the Primus to stay and I'd fix the problem - then the boss pointed out problems around the house that were getting very long in the tooth.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 672689

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 08:14

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 08:14
Jon.
I just bought a shower on ebay for $24.50.
The old unit finally burnt out over Xmas at Cangai.
Vince
FollowupID: 672694

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:24

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:24
Did I read this right??
Three Hundred and Forty-nine Smackeroonies ???????????????? for what looks to be a (slightly) modified garden sprayer?? Strewth!!

Thanks, but No Thanks ;-)

$20 pump-in-a-bucket does it for me (and SWMBO)... YMMV

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 403136

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:59

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 18:59
Ed, my thoughts exactly!

The pump in the bucket is very flexible, heat the water any way you like (solar, gas stove, over the fire) and you can use as much or as little water as you like (or have available). When water is scarce its amazing how good a 2 or 3 litre shower can feel - and yes this is a Girl saying that!!

Plus the $20 kit takes up very little space.

Cardinal rule for camping and travelling is KIS(S).

Val

FollowupID: 672630

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:37

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:37
Couldn't agree more guys.
Instead of the KISS method Val,
I play by the 6 P's rule.

Proper
Preparation
Prevents
P--- ( I'll replace with Pretty)
Poor
performance.

;)

FollowupID: 672653

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:46

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:46
Evan,

I can only echo some of the comments above.

We've been through the gadget thing. Our Coleman HWS stays at home these days. I've considered the pump up weed sprayer with a rose attached but discounted that as well.

These days it's a bucket with some cold water in it, add a kettle of boiling water until the desired temperature is reached. We then take the bucket into the pop up shower tent and sit on the porta dunny (that's one gadget we will never do without) and use a flannel or a tea cup to pour the warm water over the body.

When all is said and done, it's just a way to get soap and water over the body.

AnswerID: 403165

Reply By: racinrob - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:57

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 20:57
I've gone the full circle and am back to the canvas bucket with a slightly modified shower rose. Using the one of boiling to two of cold water ratio I never get complaints from me long haired mate even when she has to shampoo and condition those previously mentioned locks.
When water is scarce it's easy to control exactly how much you use too !

Rob
AnswerID: 403167

Reply By: happycattle2000 - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 22:01

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 22:01
Evren, id say that thing is a bit of a rip off given you still have to heat the water. we are on a trip around oz as we speak and we use a gas heater that i set up on our camper. this system is great and was bought on ebay for about $200. if you want privacy you will need a shower tent no matter what system you use. This system gives instant hot water for as long as the shower lasts. The pump in the bucket showers work ok too but it you have a few kids to wash it can make showering time consuming.

cheers dave
AnswerID: 403179

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 22:06

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 22:06
We also went full circle - $20 pump in the bucket gives a better shower.
We have a 10 litre billy - 5 minutes on the fire or stove and you're away - dobn't get scalded, don't waste water.
AnswerID: 403181

Reply By: briann532 - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 22:08

Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 22:08
Evan, I have used a multitude of devices over the years, but these days nothing beats a 12volt boat bilge pump ($20 at your local boating outlet) attached to some hose with a cheap $2 shower head from Bunnings.
Wire up a switch, taped to the hose somewhere near the showerhead and plug into the car, camper or portable powerpack.

I also echo the sentiments of of putting the hot water in a bucket and carrying to tree, shower tent, or a la naturale'.

We use a 7 litre bucket and the boss can wash her hair with it. 7 litres usually does me and one of the offspring too. Although she is now old enough to reach the hose, and boy does it hurt so we won't be showering together anymore..........................

AnswerID: 403182

Reply By: didiaust - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 06:53

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 06:53
Had the bilge pump - used camp fire or kettle(if fire ban) then got a primus 4 years ago - though it was the beez neez but it broke and is a sealed unit so back to bilge pump - it's no hassle really one less gass bottle . Have just bought van with S&T so will only use pump if van problem.
AnswerID: 403211

Reply By: Inland Sailor - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 11:56

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 11:56
Evan,

A mate of mine has a Rainman and I've had the pleasure of using his.

It is easy to use, especially if you have a S.S. bucket of hot water on the go on the campfire.
A 1:1 bucket ratio [1 boiling-1 cold] fills it to the right temp, as shown by the gauge on the side. Three dirty blokes can get a 3 min shower out of each fill.

We're of at Easter for a trip to the West and through the Kimberly's and it was the first thing I asked about taking with us.

AnswerID: 403239

Reply By: Scotto73 - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 17:27

Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 17:27
I went with the cheaper alternative of the pump in the bucket. We heat up one kettle of hot water which, in a 10lt bucket filled with remaining cold water, makes for a very pleasant shower.

Photo below ...

Scott
Cairns, Queensland
AnswerID: 403284