Anyone seen the GU 3x Pillar Pods

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 19:05
ThreadID: 75954 Views:4775 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
I've searched the archives and found good stuff posted by Chaz & Truckster about the 3 gauge pillar pods for the GU Patrol. The 4x4store who had them has now shut down . . . . . looks like the GFC caught up with them.

The 3 x pod in Chaz's trol is great because of its low profile, hope you don't mind me showing your pics Chaz but here's the link:
http://www.chaz.yellowfoot.org/PillarPod.htm

So where do we go now?

There's a few different ones on US sites but they obstruct the vision too much, looks like a telegraph pole instead of a pillar. Mostly made for LH drive anyhow.

So who's selling them at the right price in the great land of Oz. Any guesses ??

OldSalty
I sometimes question my sanity . . . . and then it answers back.
Carpe diem

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 19:46

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 19:46
G'day, I have a three gauge pod on the dash, similar to the one in the pic. It is a low profile and easy to check etc. Think Supercrap etc has them. John

AnswerID: 403794

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:04

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:04
Hey John,
Don't mean to be picky but the picture I see looks like a two gauge one LOL
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 673421

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 20:41

Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 20:41
He did say similar.

FollowupID: 673586

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 20:22

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 20:22
I know the ARB shop in Mt Barker SA got one in for someone not that long ago , but you can only put in 2 gauges
AnswerID: 403803

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:20

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:20
Dave, Yep, similar, two gauge pod in the ute, three gauge in the wagon, pic coming....picky bugger, lol

AnswerID: 403813

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:30

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:30
Which 4x4 store are you talking about, that has shut down ?

Northside 4x4 < at Caboolture

used to carry the 3-gauge pillar pods for the GU (I got one from there about 4 yrs ago)...
no idea if they still have them, but if you 'let your fingers do the walkin", you'll soon find out I guess;-)

I presume they're still open for business, as the website appears to be active...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 403815

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:40

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:40
The second pic in my rig profile is of the 3 gauge A pillar pod that I have in my green GU. This was bought at Northside 4x4 at Caboolture some years back but it wasn't that long ago that I saw them still on the shelf up there. If these things are not being produced any more, I suggest SaltGrinder gets in quick before they are all gone.

Cheers, Trevor.

PS: these things are not deep enough to take vdo gauges so either be prepared to "adjust" the A pillar with a hammer or make spacers to bring the gauge forward of the pod (this was my option...stuffed if I was gunna belt the A pillar in like some 4by shops suggested). If you are getting someone to put it in for you make sure you stipulate no A pillar damage if that is your likeing too.
FollowupID: 673425

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:53

Thursday, Feb 11, 2010 at 21:53
I have a two gauge one in my Cruiser. It cost $25 on Ebay but Autobarn sell them for about $36.

Look in my profile for pics of it.

Remember these are illegal in NSW.

I have Autometer gauges in mine and they point toward the driver more than the one in your pic.

Blackface gauges are better as they dont reflect in the windscreen as much as white face one which I have

www.atlanticspeed.com is a good palce to buy Autometer gauges from.

EG an EGT with probe etc is $148US against about $350 here.

Just make sure you order a metric version.

AnswerID: 403817

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 18:33

Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 18:33
"Remember these are illegal in NSW."

Why?
FollowupID: 673564

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 18:39

Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 18:39
When I was getting mine a guy posted a rule from NSW that said unless they

were factory fitted they wouldnt be passd.

Ask the NSW RTA i guess.

FollowupID: 673565

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 16:49

Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 16:49
Mate try the Autron twin guage. Very good and tucked out of the way.

AnswerID: 403928

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 17:35

Friday, Feb 12, 2010 at 17:35
The three gauge pod on the dash..................Image Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 403933

Reply By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Saturday, Feb 13, 2010 at 00:10

Saturday, Feb 13, 2010 at 00:10
Mate, I just used a dash organiser that I picked up from ARB. It just velcros to the dash mat and is non intrusive to your vision. It has 4 pockets in it for your gauges. Mine has pyro, oil press, boost, water temp all of which I bought from my local Kenworth dealer at a fraction of the price I could get them anywhere else. Good enough for my trucks good enough for my patrol. hope that helps.
AnswerID: 403988