Warm battery

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 13, 2010 at 18:55
ThreadID: 76002 Views:2494 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
G/day all, I need some advice please. I bought a Powertech Plus 4 stage battery charger recently,it does both large and small batteries ,25-100 ah., at 6 amps , and 100+ah.,at 16 amps.Today I put a 105ah., wet cell deep cycle made by Federal that I use for my trolling motor on the charger .I just went to check it and the battery case is very warm,too warm to touch for any longer than 20 secs, the water level is ok but the battery is bubbling a bit, I removed the vents before starting and covered the holes with paper towel to absorb any moisture.Should the battery be getting this warm???

Regards Keith C
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: fugwurgin - Saturday, Feb 13, 2010 at 19:16

Saturday, Feb 13, 2010 at 19:16
Hi Keith
Before i say my peice i just want to say im no battery expert but have had a similar thing happen to me a few wekks ago.
I have an Sipercharge Allrounder 105ah battery, was not holding charge and was getting very hot when charging.