Sunday History Photo / Person

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 09:58
ThreadID: 76013 Views:5832 Replies:7 FollowUps:19
Bluey Truscott became one of Australia’s best-known flying aces of the Second World War. Born on 17 May 1916 at Prahran, Melbourne, he proved to be both a good student and keen sportsman, playing Australian Rules for Melbourne’s premiership team in 1939. CO 76 Squadron RAAF. Already famous as a footballer,
Truscott enlisted in the RAAF on 21 July 1940 amidst considerable publicity. Despite his sporting reputation, Truscott was not a natural pilot and almost failed his course. His position as something of a public figure afforded Truscott a chance to continue flying and he eventually earned his wings despite becoming known for his poor landings. He was sent to Canada under the Empire Air Training Scheme, was commissioned in February 1941, and then ordered to England, where he joined No. 452 Squadron as a foundation member on 5 May. Flying a Spitfire, he scored his first victory in August. Thereafter, his score began a gradual rise. After three months of war flying, he had destroyed at least 11 German aircraft, was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross, and made a flight commander. In January 1942 he was made acting squadron leader before being posted back to Australia in March. Late that month he was awarded a bar to his Distinguished Flying Cross. At that point he was the most well-known pilot in the RAAF. In Australia, Truscott joined No. 76 Squadron in Bankstown. The squadron, flying Kittyhawks, had previously served in Papua. The squadron, including Truscott, redeployed there in July 1942. Before leaving Australia, Truscott played a last game for the Melbourne football club; lacking match fitness, he was unable to keep up with the play and found himself exhausted. He had received a rousing public welcome and kicked a goal, much to the fans’ delight, but when he was asked whether he would play again, he replied that it was no longer for him. It was, he said, “too dangerous.” Based at Milne Bay, No. 76 Squadron arrived shortly before the Japanese landings.
By August Truscott was in command, the previous leader having been killed in action. Truscott evacuated his aircraft to Port Moresby amidst uncertainty about whether the airfields at Milne Bay could be held. Truscott and his squadron served throughout the Milne Bay battle in constant rain, heavy mist, and low clouds. The mountainous terrain, slippery runways, and heavy anti-aircraft fire added to the danger but Truscott survived and continued to command the squadron when it was transferred to Darwin. His tally rose to 16 enemy aircraft destroyed along with three probables and three damaged. In February 1943 the squadron moved to a quieter posting in Western Australia. Truscott was on a training flight over the Exmouth Gulf on 28 March when he made a mock attack on a low-flying Catalina. Misjudging his height over the glassy water, Truscott crashed into the sea and was killed.
The above news report was strongly announced as being grossly distorted.

In 1944, 9 months after Bluey passed away, construction began on a new secret airbase and was named Truscott in honour of the wartime hero. Construction and operation of the base were done in complete secrecy. It wasn't until after the war that the Australian government acknowledged the existence of the base.

For those of you interested I have included a link to some Inquiry pages.
INQUIRY LINK

And another link to an Airstrip Map, Note: the radio circles are activated to show photo's of the sites, so you can click in either of the 2 circlles on the map.
AIRSTRIP MAP

Reply By: Member - daz (SA) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 10:21

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 10:21
A good read Doug

Thank you for your efforts

Look forward to your Sunday post

Daz
AnswerID: 404137

Reply By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 11:20

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 11:20
Always interesting I look forward to Sunday's History Photo's.

Thanks Scoot. :-)
AnswerID: 404145

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 11:35

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 11:35
Thanks Doug...... another good read!

AnswerID: 404148

Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 12:10

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 12:10
Thanks Doug

My father worked at Truscott air base towards the end of the war. He said they used to land on steel mats about 15 feet wide. They laid two steel mats side by side to give them 30 foot width to the runway, very noisy to land on. You can see the steel mats in the photo.

I'd love to be able to go and have a look at Truscott air base.
AnswerID: 404151

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 12:34

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 12:34
Yes, that they did, and one can imagine the logistics of it all , and yes for anyone that didn't know about it and was riding inside an aircraft it did scare the living daylights out of them, must have been layed to perfection too because a fully loaded B-24 was 56,000 lbs. design gross weight,

FollowupID: 673836

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:31

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:31
It's called Marsden Matting.

There was heaps lying around PNG.

It doesn't rust easily because, apparently, of its high nickel content.

cheers Doug. Thanks for your contribution.

FollowupID: 673862

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:46

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:46
Not much Marsden matting left in PNG. Most of it was rounded up and used in Vietnam.

FollowupID: 673870

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:52

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:52
I was there from 1974 to 1978. There was heaps out in the bush still. A lot was used in the villages as building material.

Still, I have no doubt that a lot was "recycled" as you say.

If you Google it and read the Wikipedia entry it says that $200 million worth (1940 dollars) was produced during the war. Used everywhere from Alaska to whatever starts with Z.

FollowupID: 673871

Reply By: landseka - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 13:56

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 13:56
Hi Doug, thanks for another good read, I knew nothing of this gentleman and now I am better educated in Australian history.

One problem though, the co-ords given in your link seem to go deep into Gregory NP in NT.

I think these co-ords are more like it 14 05'20.95S 126 22'53.85E

This puts the airfield NW of Kuri Bay WA which is more like it.

Keep up the good work Doug, I look forward to logging on Sunday Mornings.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 404159

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:15

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:15
really good article doug, my old man was a spit mech during the war with 242 squadron
FollowupID: 673855

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:18

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:18
Neil
I didn't add any C-Ords, where did you get that from.

FollowupID: 673857

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:27

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:27
Doug there is a set of co-ords on the old airfield map in the Link you posted

FollowupID: 673859

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:32

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:32
Got me beat how he can even read them, I can see some of it, besides you wouldn't really want to follow what the Government prints in Co-Ords would you.....

FollowupID: 673863

Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:34

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:34
Yes, on your original post there is an INQUIRY and a AIRFIELD link which has the co-ords.

Maybe this was an unintentional link put in by a KeyWord.

Cheers Neil
FollowupID: 673864

Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:37

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:37
It is not hard to read Doug...click on the second link at the bottom of your post.
FollowupID: 673865

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:53

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 14:53
landseka
OK lets clear this up or it'll go on and on , to begin with the Co-Ords on the Govt map are hard to read , a little blurry,
But on another set of Govt maps and diagrams I have the Co-Ords are much clearer..as above clip.

Now on the other hand if your looking at the airstrip link in the text, thaty's an EO thing , it's like talking about the old measurement , like 30 Miles to town, it will depict the Town of Miles,

I hope that clears it up for yoou mate and how the EO system works,

FollowupID: 673872

Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 15:17

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 15:17
Thanks Doug, after my first post I thought of that and alluded to it in a follow up.

Sorry to have wasted your time.

Cheers Neil
FollowupID: 673878

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 15:50

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 15:50
If you put the co-ordinates,

16 07 10.02S 130 25 45.94E

Into Google Earth you can still see the airfield.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 673882

Follow Up By: kimberleybloke - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:01

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:01
Truscott is a fully operational airfield servicing the oil and gas fields of the browse basin.
FollowupID: 673883

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:11

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:11
Dodger
That is the old Bullita airstrip ,

http://www.exploroz.com/Places/85240/NT/Bullita_Airstrip.aspx

FollowupID: 673884

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:29

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:29
Sorry that was the strip co-ordinates given in the first link.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 673886

Reply By: kimberleybloke - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:55

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 16:55
Some old photos can be viewed here.http://www.shorelands.com.au/sa_gallery.html
AnswerID: 404190

Follow Up By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 22:48

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 22:48
Thanks for the link to the old photos an excellent look.

Mike.
FollowupID: 673930

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 17:24

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 17:24
Hi Doug

The previous commander of 76 sqn was Sqn Ldr Peter St George Bruce Turnbull - a far flung rellie of mine. He was certainly KIA at Milne Bay - named an airfield after him as well as a memorial at the Bay. I'll get there one day to say Hi to him. I worked for a time in the early 70's at 76 Sqn at Williamtown near Newcastle.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 404194

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 18:15

Sunday, Feb 14, 2010 at 18:15
Hi John,

I spent nearly 10 years at 76Sqn from 1993. Peter Turnbull was the Sqn's first CO. In the late 90's 76 started to send a contingent to Glen Innes for ANZAC Day, which is where Peter was from.

A good book that covers Milne Bay (as well as Kokoda, Gona, Buna and Sanananda) is Bastard of A Place by Peter Brune. It covers Peter Turnbull's death.

Graeme

Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 673897

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, Feb 15, 2010 at 16:38

Monday, Feb 15, 2010 at 16:38
G'day Graeme

I'll chase up a copy of that book so I can learn more about Peter.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 674006