Information about the Dargo area

In early autumn we will be in the Vic High Country for a couple of weeks with some friends. We have a LC 80 TD auto with a Tvan and they have a late model RAV auto. Before finalising our plans, we need some information regarding two aspects of the trip.
1) looking at the Rooftop and Hema maps, Marathon Road would seem to be the obvious choice for getting from Moroka Road to Dargo via a reasonably well made road – however, it is far from direct! Is the McDonald Gap / Reedy Creek Tracks (joining the Dargo Road at Cobbannah) suitable for the RAV? Are there other alternatives?
2) is there actually a bridge at Madigans Bridge on Jones Road (NNE of Dargo)? Last time there, I recall(?) we forded the river.
We would appreciate comments from those of you familiar with the area, for example, Tim – Stratford (as it is in his backyard :-)

Reply By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 20:06

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 20:06
Hi Andrew, having recently driven a RAV belonging to a friend I'd be inclined to head down the Marathon Road to Briagalong and then take the Stockdale and Beverley's Roads across to the Dargo Road . I haven't been on Macdonald Gap Road for about 4 years. I'd say you could do it in a RAV but towing is another thing. Someone else might be able to give you a more recent report on these tracks. Cheers,

TJ...

AnswerID: 404802

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 20:37

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 20:37
Thanks TJ. Some clarification please re "towing is another thing". Are you suggesting that the McDonald Gap Track could be a problem for the LC with the Tvan, as the RAV will not be towing anything?
FollowupID: 674496

Follow Up By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 20:52

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 20:52
Sorry Andrew, I misread your post. I need some sleep. The LC towing would be fine. If the track is in reasonable nick the RAV would make it but I still think I would rather drive the RAV to Briag. You won't lose any time driving the whole Marathon Road and it's a beautiful drive.
FollowupID: 674502

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 21:24

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 21:24
Thanks again TJ. BTW, if you have the opportunity (and after a sleep :-), could you let Tim - Stratford know about this thread as I can't let him know (not being a member)
FollowupID: 674514

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 22:11

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 22:11
G'day Andrew,

I just read your post and the replies - I'm inclined to go with advice from TJ - From Moroka use Marathon back down to the 'bottom' - if not pushed for time you can head north on Freestone Creek Road - a rather scenic drive - just watch out for oncoming traffic as it is narrow in places. If in more of a hurry - then Beverley's Road is the go - it is now sealed all the way to the Dargo Road.

The RAV will come down Marathon no worries - gravity is your friend :-) - just take it easy the first few kay's (coming down) are the steepest with some loose patches depending on grading etc. Slow and steady and they'll be right.

I haven't been on McDonald Gap track for a while. After rain it can be hazardous (I installed lockers after going on this track after rain - I can now say I've been bogged going up a hill. We then had to winch to proceed). If it is dry (highly likely) then no worries but with the RAV I wouldn't risk it - a damaged vehicle will wreck your holiday (and cost heaps for recovery!).

There's some great spots where you'll be going - Horseyard, Freestone Creek Road, Dargo etc. Closer to the time get in touch with me and I'll try and update the conditions. I'll be working at Dargo over Easter and doing a few tracks then.

All the best - and enjoy the area - might even see you out 'n about - we've got our Boy's trip at the end of May.

Tim - Stratford.
AnswerID: 404843

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 22:13

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 22:13
Oops - forgot to type - If you're comfortable post your email address and I'll get in touch.

Tim
FollowupID: 674551

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 22:41

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 22:41
Thanks Tim - the advice, as with TJs, is much appreciated. Last time (1987) we went down Billy Goat Bluff track with a NB Paj with unbraked trailer - just let her walk down in low 1st with the passengers electing to walk some of the way :-) - but this time am trying new territory to the south. Thanks also for the offer to get in touch lc146td at optusnet com au
FollowupID: 674559

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 12:46

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 12:46
"......I'll be working at Dargo over Easter and doing a few tracks then...." (Quote)

Pfffftttt...........you call that working? ;-)

FollowupID: 674602

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 12:54

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 12:54
Steady Mark.......no TJF jokes here. :-)
FollowupID: 674604

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 13:07

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 13:07
There has been some pretty heavy rain up there over the last week.

We had 50mm in a day here and they copped more up in the hills.

just so you know :-)

FollowupID: 674605

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:39

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:39
So D200Dug, where is "here"?
With a bit of luck, the Dargo (and other areas) will be green and with water in the streams......but with no DSE burning to fill the atmosphere with smoke for those who are asthmatic :-(
FollowupID: 674677

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:40

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:40
Tim, what about Madigans Bridge? Real or not?
FollowupID: 674678

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 22:05

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 22:05
Sorry East Gippsland I am in Cowwarr at the moment, there is still surface water from the rain and the ground is still nice and wet :-)
FollowupID: 674687

Follow Up By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 11:41

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 11:41
Hi D200 Doug, I'm inTraralgon and get out toiCowwarr a fair bit. You might see my Patrol parked at the Creek end of Cricket St sometimes. Nice spot Cowwarr. I come out for a swim under the Rail Trail bridge sometimes. I see Cowwarr has an Angling Club now. Flash!

TJ..
FollowupID: 674726

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 16:57

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 16:57
We are the first house up McEwan st with a green shade sail out the front.

Usually a white rodeo in the drive

I must check out the angling club but I think there is more drinking than fishing :-(
FollowupID: 674766