12v Set-up for "The Big Loop"

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 21:09
ThreadID: 76137 Views:7475 Replies:13 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived

Related Pages

Hi guys,

I really need some help please. I've recently sold my house and replaced it with the one I"ve always wanted - one with wheels!

I've decided to sell up and head off on "The Big Loop" but I'm a bit new to all of this camping with equipment thingy and I need some help please.

I got my head around the set-up for the car and am upgrading the suspension, getting the snorkel fitted, the bull bar's in place as is the canopy, the UHF and the Kimberly Kamper. My problem is that I'm having problems getting my head around the 12v set-up. At the moment, all I've got is a 110A battery in the KK with a 240V charger and a single battery in the ute.

My needs are:
- 60L Engel in the back of the truck.
- 2 x LED light strips for light around the KK
- I need to charge a laptop, phone, camera, ipod and ipod dock.
- I want to be as solar self sufficient as I can - I plan on chasing the sun as much as possible.
- I don't want to take a generator.
- I want to be able to leave the missus in comfort for 2 days while I go fishing - or vice versa.

I've been given advice to get an inverter, not get an inverter, charge all the small things with seperate 12v chargers, get a thumper, get a gel battery, get a 12v-12v charger, set up 2 systems, get 2 x 80w panels, get 2 x 60w panels, mix up the panels blah blah blah!!!!!

I've been surfing the net continously for the last 3 weeks and I haven't been able to figure out how to set it up. I've been to 3 different solar shops and they all seem to know more about houses without wheels than my situation and I've been to the local ARB shop but I'm scared their suggestions are going to cost me more than I need to pay. And lastly I've scoured the posts on this site but everythings geared to 2 batteries, not 3.