windsor rapid on the oodnatta track

Image Could Not Be Found Hello everyone, i am a new member to this site, looks great so far! I have just bought a Windsor rapid 501 off road and are planning a trip up the oodnadatta in July, will be towing the widsor with a current model hilux 4x4 td, any tips tricks or special places to see would be greatly appreciated! We will be going to Darwin and back to Victoria via inland Queensland and NSW, thanks.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:56

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 15:56
A mate followed me with his standard Golf Caravan, made it OK, no issues. We saw a few other vans on the road.

It was a bit rough in places with sharp rocks.

Tyres are the main issue. Decent Light Truck ATs seem to be the go.

Coward springs is a great spot to camp up.

The painted desert south west of Oodnadatta, (a day trip from Oodnadatta)

AnswerID: 405415

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:44

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:44
thanks mate, i am going to try mickey thompson atz's, currently got the mtz's they have been pretty good.
FollowupID: 675138

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 13:56

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 13:56
Yes, and decent, YOUNG, LT tyres for the van as well are pretty well essential. I had fun with a 5 year old tyre on my van: it blew like a catherine wheel, looked like new until then!! And that was on bitumen!
FollowupID: 675281

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:58

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:58
Hi Warren,
I have a 14.6 rapid which is also an off road model even thou they say just for light off road I believe they can go a BIT further than light LOL!,mate Im about to go back to the main land in a couple of weeks as we are touring Tassie at the moment and I will be visiting the wreckers and buying a spare wheel craddle off a 100 ser as I have looked at the one on my 100 series and think I can fit one under my van as we need a second spare and when only local I will remove the one on the back bar ,speaking of back bars have you seen how light the rear bar is and how its attached on your van ??
I also fitted a 9 KG gas bottle on my van a week after I picked it up brand new as I was told it wont fit ,well it does lol!
HAVE YOU DONE ANY SHAKE DOWN TRIPS BEFORE YOUR BIG ONE opps sorry about the capps I hate this lap top!
hope all goes well and have a ball ,we are .
FollowupID: 675306

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:38

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:38
hows Tassie going in the rapid?? having owned a rapid is there any other van you would rather have in the sub $50000 pice bracket??
FollowupID: 675352

Reply By: Roughasguts - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:32

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 16:32
Get a wax stick from Kmart and on a hot day rub that all over the piece of black canvas, thats above the piano hinge and keeps the wet out! on the push out bed ends.

Then carry it with you, and do it again after you wash the van with soap.

Sprays have never worked longer than the first down pour for me on my Rapid.

AnswerID: 405416

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:41

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:41
thanks mate
FollowupID: 675136

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:59

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 17:59
G'day Warren, nice van,will be no trouble on the Ood, just keep speed sensible
& be wary of gutters in the dips. Good free camping at Algebukkina Bridge,
about 50k south of Ood, The mound springs are interesting too, & be sure to
have a noggin & a look around William Creek Pub. Not stayed at Coward Springs but reports are good. Check the Trek Notes on this site, & other info in "Places".
Some form of stone protection will prolong the value of your van, either on the
van or the Lux. cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 405427

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:03

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:03
Thanks baz, will check them out!
FollowupID: 675146

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:15

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 21:15
Hi Warren.
Algebukkina Bridge is a great spot.We found the best spot was to the right of the road before you cross the creek.
Vince
FollowupID: 675190

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 21:43

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 21:43
will check that one out, thanks vince.
FollowupID: 675363

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:14

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 18:14
By the photo it looks as the wheels on the van are smaller than the tow vehicle , if only 1 spare for the van and not interchangeable with the tow vehicle it may pay to carry an extra tire carcass for the van, prices for "not so common " sizes out that way are horrendous.
AnswerID: 405435

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:02

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 20:02
no worries, thanks
FollowupID: 675165

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 04:52

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 04:52
Warren

Lets hope the graders are doing their job just before you head up there.
Last July there were some bad spots, still driveable with low tyre pressures, and dropping your speed.

Just outside Coward springs, and just before Arkaringa Station ( Painted Desert), along with numerouos other places..
In fact we found the Gibb River Road, in Late August to be in better condition.

The 3 or 4 other times we have been up & down the "track", it was brilliant, and in the "one of the best roads" category, we have driven..

AnswerID: 405532

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:19

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:19
Thanks mate!
FollowupID: 675346

Reply By: time waster - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:36

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 11:36
You have no troubles if you take your time and keep the tyre pressures down, also some stone protection for the van and car some ideas here www.rocktamers.com.au and www.stonestomper.com.au

Christian
AnswerID: 405564

Follow Up By: Member - warren y (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:21

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 19:21
Thanks mate, will have to get something for sure!! thanks for the links.
FollowupID: 675348