Towing problems

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 16:16
ThreadID: 76327 Views:4833 Replies:12 FollowUps:11

Related Pages

Have been reading a number of forums where people are not happy with their tow vehicles. They mention problems with fuel consumption, instability, tow ball weights, towing capacities too low, gearbox problems, heavy towing aids etc. etc.
I have a Discovery 3 TDV6 with terrain response and air suspension. She has done 91,000kms mostly towing a 17.5 foot Coromal Caravan (pop top) or
offroad work (Northern S.A. and Central Australia) including heavy beach work on SA beaches. I am the careful type that takes everything that one might need so I am never a lightweight overall.
I have never had a break down, never been bogged, and have not had to replace anything.
For towing it is:-- Comfortable to the extreme.
- Tonnes of torque and powerand only just notices the Coromal.
- with air suspension I have found no need for heavy towing aids or levelling devices. Just hook on, she pumps herself up level and drive off.
- fuel consumption on latest 4,000km trip to WA with the van in tow averaged 14.8 ltrs/100Kms. Sometimes down to 13 on a calm day.
- the last set of BFG All terrains are at 60,000kms and still have 10,000kms in them.
- stability is extreme with ability to dodge white lines at 110KPH with no sway etc.
- No overheating transmissions just put her in drive and let her do her own thing.
- Heaps of room and carrying capacity in the vehicle.
- Not too many hills slow her down.
Have owned Toyotas and Nissans (4) and Commodores and Falcons(5) Landrovers (Defender and Discos) (3). I am convinced I will never go back.
Do yourself a favour, go for a test drive in one and honestly compare its advantanges and accessory list (including all of the electrical and mechanical computerised aides which have proven totally reliable) with your current bus.
At least it will never get in the way like the Prados. It seems every time their is a hold up at a bog hole or particularly nasty section of road there is a Prado tooting along in a world of its own or hooked onto someone else!!
Why would you but one of those things instead of a Land Cruiser??? or indeed a Discovery 3 (would like a Discovery 4 but too bloody expensive)

Regards and I will now await the incoming flak.

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 16:27

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 16:27
Flak... Flak... Flak.... lol...!
Buster, you are the one that has to live with it and use it... so if you love it... I say go for it and all the best to you... (:
I am happy with my Prado... and I have to live with that... (:
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 405962

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 16:35

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 16:35
No flack from me Buster. I am an avowed Range Rover fan. Admittedly I do not drive at 110 as 85 suits me for economy and "viewability" (I can see things before getting too far to stop and walk back). On a good day I get your average but usually about 6/100 with the airconditioner running.
To my mind there are only Rover drivers and others.
AnswerID: 405964

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 16:45

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 16:45
So!!

Well aren't I a good boy then!!!!

AnswerID: 405967

Reply By: mickf69 - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 17:01

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 17:01
g'day buster1
sounded like you were describing my setup , but no i have a 23 foot caravan, ooohhh and i have a td cruiser and i get that fuel economy.

my first set of bfg's lasted me 85000 klm's, and we are permanently on the road with van.
i have heaps of room in vehicle as well, and i am certain we carry more gear than we should. no overheating transmission either.
anyway hope it lasts for you.
AnswerID: 405969

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 17:23

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 17:23
Wow Buster1
Sounds like a big inferiority complex.
When did you first get these feelings?
Don’t bottle it up - let it out – a sympathetic ear will do you wonders.
ExporOz is full of sensitive caring guys ready to help.
AnswerID: 405978

Follow Up By: kend88 - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:09

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:09
geez Dennis
seems from a couple of the replies to this thread there are some wan-ers on EO too

KenD
Bris
FollowupID: 675660

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:40

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:40
My thoughts exactly Ken.
FollowupID: 675669

Follow Up By: mickf69 - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:46

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:46
yes i was thinking that to, where do they get of . pffft
FollowupID: 675671

Follow Up By: buster1 - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:19

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:19
KenD Cant call people wan-ers any more the politically correct words are "owner operator"!!!
FollowupID: 675785

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 10:20

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 10:20
Oh Buster you are nasty.
It must be that Land Cruiser envy getting the better of you.
FollowupID: 675796

Follow Up By: buster1 - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 13:25

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 13:25
Dennis,
No inferiority complex.
Not nasty
Have already owned a number of landcruisers.
However I doubt you have even done a trip in a D3???
FollowupID: 675829

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 14:51

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 14:51
Lighten up Buster – it’s all tongue in cheek stuff.
I’ve used Landrovers a lot over the years and you won’t see me denigrate them.
No I haven’t ridden in a D3 – I believe they are a good vehicle but I’m not in the market for one.
FollowupID: 675844

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:24

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 18:24
LOL The comments come and the comments go. Seems to me to paraphrase an expression "Camping and equipment are like farts - your own are OK but for the rest - pheww"
AnswerID: 405989

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 20:02

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 20:02
Confucius say,
Man who fart in Church, sit in own pew.
Regards, Bob.

FollowupID: 675698

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 20:06

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 20:06
We had a Range Rover once, we purchased it new in 1995, we sold it with 75ks on the clock, had it serviced at the Rover Dealership on a regular basis, we towed a bloody great boat with it, had plenty of grunt, and then all of a sudden for no apparent reason it started to hemorage oil, it developed leaks in the rear seal, the auto transmission ect, had them fixed then they appeared again, had it into the work shop on a regular basis, even took it to an independant mechanical engineer, our garage floor and driveway had more spots than a Dalmation Dog, we got rid of it, had the spots removed and all is good.

AnswerID: 406005

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 20:40

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 20:40
Buster
I agree with u. late 2009 I sold my D4D VX & got one of the last D3s. great vehicle. now I'll await the Flak. ??
cheers Tom
AnswerID: 406014

Reply By: Mogul - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 21:39

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 21:39
I must have a big apendage as I only drive a Rodeo ute.
AnswerID: 406033

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 08:45

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 08:45
Same here with the old pajero, still quite happy.
Only done 340,000k since I bought it new 14 years ago.

Any reason for the TD3 or TD4 over a RR sport? Friend who likes his RRs reckons RR Sports are a better choice to the TD4, especially for towing? He has updated from a TD3 to the RR Sport.
It does drive well, but he has had two, or is it three now, in the time I have had the pajero, so it makes me wonder.
AnswerID: 406097

Follow Up By: buster1 - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:24

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:24
Nothing wrong with an old Paj.One wonders how the electronics will hold up to 340,000k in the D3 eh! How many clutches and gearboxes have you had to replace??Couldn't afford the RR sport, left some drool marks over it. Don't feel so uncomfortable adding items (Snorkle, fridge slides, battery guages, radio etc) to a 5 year old Disco. Fancy drilling a whole in a new sport dash!!
buster
FollowupID: 675787

Reply By: buster1 - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:17

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:17
Everybody to their own thing. Mogul, went to the sandhills last week with a friend with a rodeo dula cab v6 petrol. A very free revving motor and capable bus. He had a front diff lock and it went everywhere a lot of the others couldn't.
Buster
AnswerID: 406106

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 14:50

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 14:50
I have a Land Rover mate and I often quote to him a famous line once printed on this fine forum. Something like "If you have a Land Rover that is working perfectly let Land Rover know and they'll fix it!" - he reckons that he won't be talking to them any time soon but then again he is stuck with the series 1 and 2's.

AnswerID: 406158

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 21:20

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 21:20
Wasn't there another good saying..... "95% of ALL Landrovers ever made are still on the road.......the other 5% made it to their destination".....

For my part in this mass-debate, I am not ashamed to state that I drive a 6.5 litre V8 Chev Diesel and I get great fuel economy of around 16 to 17 litres/100klm. hahahahaha

Each to their own. The only computers I have that could go wrong on a trip are the one inside my ipod and the GPS. Other than those, it's all good old-fashioned mechanical ooomph! You can't beat cubic capacity. (now ducking for cover from all the do-gooders).
FollowupID: 675903

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 08:27

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 08:27
And that reminds me of "there is no replacement for displacement"!

FollowupID: 676391