Leaking Troopie

Submitted: Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 08:23
ThreadID: 76351 Views:11449 Replies:11 FollowUps:6
With all the resent rain I have found that the near perfect Troopie has a leaking windscreen.

Water drips down from under the dash, on the passenger side water will drip near the heater fan and on the driver side it comes from above the accelerator pedal.

I know that the body does twist when used in extreme conditions and that the windscreen would have to move but the water drips in when the vehicle is parked.

It appears that when windscreens are fitted these days a sealant is not used, unlike years ago, to seal the windscreen.

If you have had a leaky windscreen how have you gone about stopping the leak?

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 08:48

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 08:48
Hi Wayne
There is a rubber boot near the brake booster that allows extra wires to be fed in. If a few have been added I suspect, if like mine, it allows a slight amount of water to enter into the footwell from under the dash. Cheers
AnswerID: 406098

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 08:58

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 08:58
Leigh,

I had a look at that rubber boot and although I do have wires passing through the rubber boot the water appears to be coming in from higher under the dash.

Water also comes in from both sides and appears to drip from the dash.

FollowupID: 675779

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 23:21

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 23:21
Wayne, I know it doesn't sound like yours has this problem, but I've also had water leak in through those rubber boots on both sides. Easily prevented by having any wires enter in an upwards direction, so there's no chance of the water dripping onto the wires and tracking into the cab.

Had my windscreen replaced this year, and there was no sealant used before of after!
FollowupID: 675932

Follow Up By: mechpete - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 00:47

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 00:47
IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE BADGE ON THE GRILLE
FIG
FollowupID: 675945

Reply By: porker - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:02

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:02
G'day Wayne,
I had a similar problem (passenger side only) and it turned out to be dodgy sealant.
After chasing the leak for months, I finished up removing the panel in front of the windscreen (where the wipers are) and this exposed some caulked joints which looked OK, but after a bit of probing, moisture could be seen under the sealant.
I removed the old sealant, dried it out, and re caulked with silicon.
Had no trouble since.

Fred
AnswerID: 406102

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 08:27

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 08:27
Fred,

Thank you for the information, I know what I will be doing this weekend.

FollowupID: 675964

Reply By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:10

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:10
I had a leaky windscreen on my 80 series and replaced the entire rubber seal (with a new windscreen too- had lots of stone chips). Haven't had any leaking since and it was $340 for the lot (from memory the rubber seal was around $100).
AnswerID: 406104

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 13:49

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 13:49
I had the same problem with my 80 series recently, new rubber seal and all fixed. The troopies have the same system of sealing as the 80's I think, so this could be the problem.
FollowupID: 675836

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:53

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 09:53
NO Wayne this thread is not true, a Toyota with a problem!!!!!! get real mate.

"IF it's true, then to find the leak try using your garden hose to aim water at various locations, starting at the lowest point and slowly work your way up the vehicle until you get a result.

This will narrow your search to a specific area with luck.

Then rectification will become so much easier.
Cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 406115

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 11:08

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 11:08
Colin,

you know your tojo motor will have gremlins now after this. LOL

Have a good one
FollowupID: 675807

Reply By: Rock Ape - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 11:05

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 11:05
Wayne,
Troopcarriers turrets move about quite a bit.

I have had quite a few windscreens replaced and 2 have leaked after they put them in. They removed and resealed them with no further problems (still have the original windscreen rubber).

Now if I do a windscreen, I ask them to seal it very, very well.

Both have leaked down the l/h side behind the dash.

Depending how old the troppy is, you also could have some rust behind the windscreen rubber, it will have to come out to reseal it anyway and you can check for rust.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 406132

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 12:30

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 12:30
I don't know where the air intake vents are on a troopy. But a car I had years ago had them in the usual place at the front of the base of the windscreen. I had leaks as you describe and discovered that the intake vents were choked with leaves. Instead of rain water going down through them into their drain holes it was overflowing and coming in the back of the dash. Cleaned the vents - problem solved.
Just a thought.
teege
AnswerID: 406140

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 12:31

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 12:31
I had a windscreen fitted to my 75 series landcruiser last week and one fitted to my 73 series about 5 years ago and both had sealant applied to the rubber seal.
AnswerID: 406141

Reply By: Member - matt d (SA) - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 17:57

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 17:57
Had a Windscreen in my Troopie replaced late last year, and yes, it leaked! :)
There are two drain holes at the bottom of the Windscreen opening, one on Drivers side, one on Passengers, that are supposed to remove water from behind the rubber and out of the Vehicle.
In my eyes, its not a real good system as these holes get blocked very easily, despite all this, i seal completley around my Windscreen on both the Body and the Glass sides of the Rubber.
Ive since never had a problem.
AnswerID: 406182

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 22:13

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 22:13
My old (91 model) 75 series leaks water onto the floor of the drivers side. Has since I bought it in '94 Just bashed a couple of holes in the floor and it runs straight out. No problem................(;-))

Cheers Pop
AnswerID: 406225

Reply By: Darrin - Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 23:49

Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 23:49
I have a 94 troopy and have aways had leaks after the windscreen has been replaced. The windscreen fitters squeeze extra sealant under the seal both between the seal and glass and seal and vehicle. It seems to develop leaks every few years.
Currently it is leaking in the same places as yours, I can see water entering between seal and metal on both sides (tracks down and drips on drivers right foot).
I was going to have a go at sealing it myself this time. Windscreen mastic is avaliable from auto stores and bunnings. Make sure it is a mastic (non-hardening) and not silicon.

Darrin
AnswerID: 406255

Reply By: Member - Dave and Shaz - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 17:47

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 17:47
We have a 93 Troopy and had some rust removed from the roof a few years back. After that, the windscreen constantly leaked in the exact places you are talking about. We just had the windscreen replaced through our insurance (you get one replacement per year without paying any excess or affecting your No Claim Bonus with our policy) and not one leak since then, and we have been living in Darwin since October, and have "survived" our first "Wet".
AnswerID: 406538