New WA fishing licenses

Well i think its only 2 weeks away until they bring in these new laws.

Pathetic if you ask me, absolutley crap. It means its now going to cost us $75 a year to go fishing now, $30 to fish from boat and $45 for a thrownet license.

Then add boat rego, trailer rego, fuel, running costs, etc. Its getting out of hand. In Broome they cant even provide us with safe boat launching facilties.

Might be time i dragged the old gill net out, i know alot of people will be now. Not that i condone that, but with all these new laws and fees, its becoming way too restricted.

I am an advocate for fish for the future, and bag/size limits but why should we have to pay for these licenses, just to catch somthing to eat.

Have alook hereNEW WA FISHING LICENCES

Reply By: Nutta - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 19:57

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 19:57
Its only revenue, how many fisherman are there? Heaps!
AnswerID: 406377

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:45

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:45
I have been offshore fishing in WA for many years and what with the new bag limits .],fishing regulations and now fishing license I would hate to work out what a kilo of Dhufish cost me to catch---probably $100 per kilo.I think it wont be long before the old boat goes up for sale.
FollowupID: 676144

Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:05

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:05
Pay the money so the Public servants can sit around and drink coffe all day.
AnswerID: 406379

Reply By: Gramps - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:10

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:10
Less than $1.45 per week. Get over it.

AnswerID: 406380

Follow Up By: The Boss - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:49

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:49
What if you were charged $75 a year to be a grumpy bugger?

They wont us to eat more fish, but they just keep making it even more expensive to do so. so we have to start eating imported crap.
FollowupID: 676147

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 23:24

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 23:24
Boss,Welcome to the real world NSW have been paying for a licence for the past 4 or 5 years.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 676156

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 01:18

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 01:18
Dave,
Its not the real world??????
and it doesnt make it right....................
FollowupID: 676169

Follow Up By: Gramps - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 21:05

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 21:05
The Boss,

LOL you're sure going to be some whinger when you're finally old enough

FollowupID: 676324

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:13

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:13
It's because recreational fisheries management, research, compliance and public education all cost money surprisingly.

It's called user pays.

AnswerID: 406381

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:09

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:09
John, you're already paying for it with the hike in your boat rego fees.

It's called double dipping.

FollowupID: 676131

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:42

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:42
I wondered how long it'd be before I got a bite from you Stephen.

Didn't have too long to wait. Wish the jewies would do the same!

FollowupID: 676143

Follow Up By: Dion - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 15:13

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 15:13
"John, you're already paying for it with the hike in your boat rego fees."

Nope, boat rego fee's are for boating, not for fishing!

Boating in all it's different forms and sizes are used for other forms of recreation besides fishing. Why I bet there are some boats in use that have never ever had any device on them to catch fish or even any bait.

Think about it.

Dion.
FollowupID: 676239

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 15:42

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 15:42
Dion,

There haven't been any new boating facilities built in Perth in recent years.

Pens are impossible to get. So what is the boat rego money used for? Nothing. It goes straight to internal revenue.

This new tax even includes the proviso that if you use a boat to get to a beach and then fish from the beach you still need the licence.

Instead of posting condescending comments like "think about it", maybe you should have a good read about this new tax.

In the Peel region, where I live, a lot of people have jetties. They pay an annual licence fee to DPI of $150 for a jetty "licenece". What on earth do they get in return?

The RFBL is the same as a jetty licence. It is just another tax.

So, you think about it.

FollowupID: 676246

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:05

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:05
Not so Stephen.

Part of boat regos go to the RBFS - see http://www.transport.wa.gov.au/imarine/19838.asp

There was also a major ramps upgrade at Woodman Point last year and stage 2 for the first part of the parking areas upgrade is in progress. Bitumenising will happen later this year.

And....re the rec fishing licence fee. From the Minister's press release....

"All funds raised from the sale of recreational fishing licences will be placed in the Recreational Fishing Trust Account and spent on the management of recreational fishing"

End of story.

FollowupID: 676248

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:41

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:41
Yes.

I remember that a surcharge was placed on vehicle rego's in 1962 to pay for the new Narrows Bridge built for the Perth Commonwealth Games.

It was going to be removed as soon as the bridge was paid for.

FollowupID: 676255

Follow Up By: Dion - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 21:28

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 21:28
Gone Bush.
Fishing and Boating, although one would think go together like peaches and cream, unfortunately not as one can be done without the other.

Scenario 1: Me and my family can't eat seafood of any description, puts us in hospital for a week, that severe an alergic reaction. But I have a boat, we pull ski's, ski biscuits etc. I would be peeved if my fees for boat and trailer rego and skippers ticket were used to support fishing.

Scenario 2: Now me and my family love eating fish, but only eat what we catch from shore. Just the mention of the word boat and we go green around the gills. I'd be peeved under these circumstances if my fishing licence fees went towards maintenance of, or new construction of boat ramps.

You've made an assumption that to fish, you do it from a boat, or because you have a boat, you are always fishing from it.

As I've demonstrated, boating and fishing can be mutually exclusive from each other, so yes, "think about it - engage brain before putting mouth (fingers typing) into gear" remains extant.

It is better to fight two fights and have some chance of winning than to have them combined and have no chance at all.

Dion.
FollowupID: 676332

Reply By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:16

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:16
Caught up with the rest of Australia, well done.

There is a way to avoid paying the fee, don't fish its that simple if your so strongly against it
AnswerID: 406382

Follow Up By: Top Ender - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 21:48

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 21:48
Caught up with the rest of Australia, what are you talking about?? LOL, none of that rubbish will ever happen in the NT.

That's right, NO license to fish or use a boat.

No boat rego either.

The Government wouldn't dare try it.
FollowupID: 676116

Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:02

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:02
"The Government wouldn't dare try it."

Or could not police it right?

If there is a $$$$ to be made, trust me they would be thinking of it
FollowupID: 676125

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:11

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:11
Maybe so, Top Ender, but how close are you to having to apply for a Permit from the traditional owners when you want to go fishing?

It's only a short step to a fee.

FollowupID: 676132

Follow Up By: Top Ender - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:31

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:31
This may answer both you questions rosso1234 and Gone Bush

The NT Chief Minister has committed to develop a practical plan that will guarantee the capacity for recreational fishermen to go fishing on affected waters without charge or need for an individual fishing permit. This commitment, made during the current election campaign, could be difficult to deliver as it ultimately will be contingent on the views of traditional owners, many of whom live in very remote areas hardly ever accessed by recreational fishers.

This is an exert from this Link.

Fisheries are very serious about policing NT water ways.

FollowupID: 676140

Follow Up By: The Boss - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:47

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:47
The probelm is people will just illegally fish, and keep more undersize fish, and increase there bag limit.

The point is why do you have to pay to go fishing from a boat, but not ffrom land? And why should we have to pay at all. It seems to me the NT is the only normal state in the country.
FollowupID: 676146

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:53

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 20:53
most states have a pensioner discount, maybe this could help. If they throw the money into more fishing officers I am all for it, even at twice the price.
Totally gives me the bleep es when people take under size fish and over bag limits. I dob in every bars...d I see, Id dob my mother in if she did it, thats how strongly I feel about it.

cheers shane.
AnswerID: 406391

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 21:40

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 21:40
Thanx son,I just got out after 2 yrs for ripping off Medicare and now you want to send me away for another holiday after catching those 6" yellowfin tuna.
FollowupID: 676110

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:06

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:06
And this comes after they increased boat licence fees by large amounts.

They are now taxing the fun we get out of our boats.

In the Peel region, where everyone using the Estuary will need one of these boat fishing licences, voters should punish Murray Cowper and Kim Hames at the Polls.

They both sat on their hands and did nothing when all this was being debated.

AnswerID: 406409

Reply By: broome time - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:09

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:09
well thats the last staw for me. fishing lic is a tax in W.A. they need to set up rotating reserves.i was mostly a conservative voter being ex farmer in W.A.not now they are all the same short sighted.taxing where they can get away with it. i know alot of other people who were lib voters who could not be voting for them next time.
AnswerID: 406411

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:14

Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 22:14
It's particularly galling in this State, WA, when our Premier ("thought bubble" Barnett) spends his time crowing about all the royalties revenue the State will get from the huge resources projects planned in the next decade, Gorgon etc.

AnswerID: 406413

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:08

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:08
Don't know what you blokes find so enjoyable about fishin'.

Bobbing around like a cork on the ocean !

Putting a hook through yer finger while baiting !

Holding the slimey, slippery bugger for a photo !

Gutting and cleaning !

That lingering stench on you, yer clothes and gear !

Even that last beer of the day tastes like fish !

I like my fish to come pre-battered surrounded by a sea of chips, a light drizzle of vinegar and small ripples of tomato sauce lapping at the shore.

Even better flavour if the cooking oil hasn't been changed over the last year or so....lol.

Mind you, I'm paying through the nose, as you folk are in catching the stuff, gone are the days when Fish n Chips were a cheap Friday evening treat.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 406441

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 11:44

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 11:44
Lionel

Fishing for me is not about the catch. It is about the process of fishing. To actually land a keeper fish is just a bonus for me.

I also dislike bobbing around like a cork. I prefer to go and hunt my fish and the most rewarding type of fishing is sight fishing whereby you see the fish in the water, cast to it and then catch it.

I generally dislike bait fishing as well. You are right in that it is smelly and slimy. I prefer to lure cast or fly fish.

But most of all I hate having to pay for a peaceful pastime that already costs a lot to setup. When living in the NT I was an active member of fishing clubs and made sure my political vote counted to keeping fishing as a free past-time.

So there are other types of fishing rather than the suburban iconic view that the media often presents.

FollowupID: 676209

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:53

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:53
Give a man a fish - and he will eat for a day

Teach a man to fish - and he will spend all day with his mates drinking telling yarns away from the missus all day and come home smelling like crap and really drunk
FollowupID: 676256

Follow Up By: obee1212 - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 23:33

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 23:33
fishing for me getting away from Australia where I have to have a licence to drive the licenced car that tows the licenced trailer that carries the licenced boat that needs a licenced skipper that has to have a licence to fish. At least I feel free for a while and then the gestapo turn up on the jetty to treat me like I am guilty of something already.

Seriously thinking of moving to Vietnam where I have no rights but I am free to do what ever I want and no one to hassle me. It's the free country that this one used to be.

Owen
FollowupID: 676358

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 13:33

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 13:33
Gday Boss,
Im in the process of moving from NT to WA.....
I know what you mean....Boat licence, boat rego, fishing licence........
At least you still got fish I suppose but needing a licence for all the different species is bad enough, but when you find out that licence isn't valid when you move up or down the coast into the next region is a bit rough.

AnswerID: 406491

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 14:29

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 14:29
Hairy, just clarify one thing please....

Are you in the process of moving from the NT to WA ???

I'm just not sure....

FollowupID: 676229

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:13

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:13
The Boss , the link you provide only tells part of the story , a certain section of the community is immune to the new tax as long as they claim to fish "traditionally". LOL.
AnswerID: 406521

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:14

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:14
The Boss , the link you provide only tells part of the story , a certain section of the community is immune to the new tax as long as they claim to fish "traditionally". LOL.
AnswerID: 406522

Reply By: paulnsw - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:18

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:18
reading the new WA laws they appear a bit confusing. They could have made the laws easier to understand. Making different regions is going to be a big earner. Prices for short term license will frighten tourists off.
AnswerID: 406523

Reply By: paulnsw - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:18

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:18
reading the new WA laws they appear a bit confusing. They could have made the laws easier to understand. Making different regions is going to be a big earner. Prices for short term license will frighten tourists off.
AnswerID: 406525

Reply By: paulnsw - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:19

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 16:19
AnswerID: 406526