caravan wreckers in Melbourne

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 08:52
ThreadID: 76507 Views:10872 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
I am in Tassie at the moment and have found that we are using heaps of water even when we try not to,we have a windsor rapid and I think it has an 80 LTR tank under it ,now that I have installed an external shower and a suburbane HWS we seem to use it up fast,we are on the road for the next 9 months and I thought if I could fit a second tank just for the trip that would be great ,I just got a price for an 86LTR fitted and was told about $700 which is not in my budget but when I got back to my camp site I was told that My neighbour bought one for $10 and fitted it with stuff from Bunnings ,I checked it out and it all looked great so if anyone can help Im heading back on the main land in about a week or so and will be looking for second hand or if I have to a new tank to fit myself, I just checked out some prices and they are about $120,any advice would be great.

Reply By: Malleerv - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 09:36

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 09:36
On ebay there are some new 86ltr ones for $220 in Melbourne
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/85LTR-UNDER-BODY-WATER-TANK-4WD-CAMPER-TRAILER-CARAVAN_W0QQitemZ170452357765QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCaravan_Parts_Accessories?hash=item27afc09285

Cheers Matt
AnswerID: 407027

Follow Up By: Malleerv - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 09:38

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 09:38
Sorry try HERE
FollowupID: 676850

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 10:08

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 10:08
Try RV Direct.

Much cheaper than EBay

RV Direct
AnswerID: 407032

Reply By: TassieD - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 10:35

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 10:35
We are in Ulverstone, next town over from the Spirit. We have a brand new 55litre with galvanised strapping for $90 if you are interested?
You can contact us through our blog if you need more info. our blog
AnswerID: 407039

Reply By: Grinner - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 11:02

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 11:02
The Caravan show is on at Caufiled race course next week, 9 - 14 March. They always have a couple of the big caravan accessory retailers there, and always seem to quite a few dollars cheaper at the show. I bought my second water tank there a couple of years ago.

AnswerID: 407046

Reply By: Simon C - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 11:25

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 11:25
Also CAMEC online....they have various size tanks, and I got a 86 litre tank late last year for around $130.00, plus some fitting from Bunnings. You do need to make your own straps though....as camec does not supply. (nor does any body that I contacted...)
AnswerID: 407058

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 22:20

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2010 at 22:20
Buy tank from where ever.
To make brackets all you need is some 50x3mm flat mild steel, easy to bend in a vice, and some 50x50x3mm angle to bolt to caravan frame to bolt made up brackets to with fully threaded bolts.
If you need more help I can take pictures and draw mud map on paper and email if needed
Charlie
AnswerID: 407183