Foil insulating material

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 13:49
ThreadID: 76604 Views:3299 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Today in the Port Macquarie highway servo I saw a charcoal 4.2 Patrol and trailer with OE tyre cover and it had some neat looking foil insulation material lining the inside of the vehicle. It was attached by suction cups to the windows.
I'm looking for a similar type of material to line the inside of the ute cabin and was wondering if anyone had any clues as to what it's called and where I can source it?

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 13:54

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 13:54
Try " Air Cell"
You can get it from any hardware.
Hairy
AnswerID: 407513

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 13:56

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 13:56
http://images.google.com.au/images?hl=en&source=hp&q=air%20cell%20insulation&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wi

I use it to make covers for all my eskies........just cut it out and join it with foil sisolation tape and it lasts for years
FollowupID: 677444

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:08

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:08
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 677446

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:15

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:15
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 677447

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:26

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:26

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 677449

Follow Up By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 21:27

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 21:27
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 677494

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 09:16

Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 09:16
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 677520

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:05

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:05
It was more than likely

A Solarscreen system

AnswerID: 407516

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:17

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 14:17
Probably the same stuff.........but for an extra $300 you get suction cups with it. Hahahaha
FollowupID: 677448

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:32

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:32
Kev has the answer for you workhorse, twas me you must have seen but don't tell no one as I was visiting the girlfriend, I was supposed to be "working" in Newcastle. Hahahahhaha not really, the outlaws live in Pt Macquarie.

It is good stuff, made by an older couple up here in Brisbane, I have had it for about 18mths now and reckon it is well worth the money. I paid about $230 for all the rear windows in the GU.....much cheaper than tint and 100% blockout with cooler temps inside to boot.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 678121

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 18:04

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 18:04
It would be great for the rear side and back windows to keep the sun off the fridge when camped... Michael

AnswerID: 407540

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:35

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:35
It is Michael, also good for keeping the light out your eyes when camped in the vehicle like I do.

Kev has the link to the stuff in the reply above.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 678122

Reply By: nomadoz - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 18:26

Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 18:26
A very cheap foil insulation= just get a good quality alfoil, wet the inside of your windows, put alfoil on, smooth it up, & BOB is your uncle

AnswerID: 407543

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 00:03

Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 00:03
I use one of those windscreen shades, cut it to size and use gaffa tape to secure it. I get 3 years out of one of those shades then simply replace it with another.
AnswerID: 407574