Canopies and roof top tents.
Submitted: Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 20:39
Name Not Found
I have finally decided to get a 4X4 to better suit the driving that I have been reluctantly forcing my '08 Corolla to do (mostly corrugated and pottholed-unsurfaced roads).
After doing all the research I have finally decided on a late '06 'Lux. After doing the rounds of all the mods which I would like, I finally decided that I will go with a Caddy Canopy as they are of reasonable price and seem to have many very strong points. Namely: huge side access windows with solid locking, good compromise of height, water resistance, build quality etc.
I would also like to install a Hannibal Jumbo roof top tent. Caddy rates their canopy to support 100kg unmodified. However, with a 60kg RTT and 80kg me plus X kg other, I am going to be
well over the specs. My assumption is that I have to install some kind of internal bracing to support the load on the roof. I wish to have the RTT off the back of the ute so simply placing it over the cabin is not an option.
Does anyone have any experience with this issue or have any clue where to source internal bracing. I live on the Mid North Coast and have access to many engineers that may possibly be able to fabricate an internal frame (or a few welding mates).
On another note. Whilst I am not a fanatic (yet) of 4WDing or touring (I'm only 25) I would like to thank all the people who have made exploroz such a valuable resource. I am admittedly an absolute gear head and seem to draw endless joy from the examination of the minutia of what makes this canopy/ ute/ bull bar/ etc. better than the other. It's an addiction which flows through all the interests in my life ( caving, canyoning, camping etc).
Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 21:03
Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 21:03
The other canopy makers like Flexiglass have their own frames at extra cost that fit inside canopy to support extra weight.
Maybe caddy will have something like that if you ask.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 21:06
Saturday, Mar 06, 2010 at 21:06
Hi there, You may have to install rollover bars over the top of your canopy to bolt the tent to. They are available, tradesmen use them for roof racks with utes with canopies, they bolt to the sides of the tray and extend over the canopy.. Michael
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 07:16
Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 07:16
G'Day,
The 100kgs unsupported would relate to a dynamic load where as when you stop the load is static. A static load carries far less force therefore additional bracing is not necessary.
Have a Hannibal on top of the Patrol where the roof is only rated for 100kgs with no problems after 10,000kms on outback tracks.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 09:40
Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 09:40
Mate, there's no compromise on quality vs cheaper cost.
The ARB canopy has an internal frame option to support the roof racks when added.
The frame is secured to the vehicle body so the vehicle is supporting the load rather than the canopy itself.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie(Wagga) - Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 11:59
Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 11:59
A little bit o/t (but not too far)
I see some ARB outlets currently have a 'special' on at the moment for $1750 you get the Simpson 111 rooftop tent, the annexe and a roll out awning - that means that basically you are getting the annexe and the awning for 'free'
Hopes this helps
Reply By:- Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 14:39
Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 14:39
Thank you all very much for your replies.
I will call Caddy tomorrow and ask them directly about support.
I would like to steer away from rollover bars simply because of looks. Having said that they are likely a cheaper solution. I also assume the do damage (holes) to the panels and necessarily must remain on the vehicle.
@blue one: That's an interesting point. I had considered that this might be the case. I will ask them tomorrow when I call them. I am a science teacher (chem and phys) and had thought that the 100kg claim was to allow for the forces incurred in angular acceleration which are far greater than the static force as you say.
@Sand Man: From my research it appears that the ARB is a good compromise of a lot of the features. However, Caddy are handmade and roughly $500 more expensive. For that extra $$$ you get a much better locking system on the windows, much better sealing around the side windows, excellent build quality et al. See member:Rodweb's meditations on the canopy on his rig building thread
http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=77991
Having said that I will likely go with ARB for many of the other necessary mods.
Thanks again everyone. I will be sure to let you know what Caddy recommend and hopefully add a small amount of information to this vast knowledge bank.