Digital mapping on laptop

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 07, 2010 at 23:34
ThreadID: 76658 Views:4437 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
This Thread has been Archived
Hi everyone,

I've never used digital maps before - only paper maps, so there's a lot I don't know about the subject. Perhaps the best approach might be if I can ask some questions in the hope that someone will know some answers (or tell me that I'm barking up the wrong tree!) Here goes:

1. Are digital maps worth the effort? - you apparently have to buy software, maps, a GPS receiver, etc... (I've already got a laptop) but it all sounds fairly expensive compared to paper maps. I've always got to where I wanted to go using paper maps, but am I missing out on something?

2. Which is the best software - Explore Oz, Memory Map, Trackmaster, etc?
3.Which maps are good? We like to explore back tracks and out of the way places in central Australia, Kimberley, Pilbara, etc.

4. What is a good type/brand of GPS receiver to plug into the laptop?

5. I can't really see any practical / safe way of using a laptop while a vehicle is in motion - is this possible/desirable/necessary?

6. Any other relevant info that you can think of that might help me make a decision?

Thanks in anticipation

John E.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Mar 08, 2010 at 02:20

Monday, Mar 08, 2010 at 02:20
Quite I wouldn't be bothered with Laptops in cars, because of the size, brackets needed, I even hate those stupid pads instead of a mouse, how could you use that while mobile, it'd be worse than yappin' on a phone, dust in the keyboard will be another issue, and how long will the H/d last under vibrations,
With a Nuvi 765 GPS you get the Digital maps, Garmin Topo (extra) and City Navigator, voice directions, bluetooth for phone, MP3 player, and it'll fit into your shirt pocket, it sits on the windscreen , small, easy to read, and it's out of the way ,