Pillow Track Recovery Bags/Mats

Submitted: Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 16:23
ThreadID: 76887 Views:8126 Replies:9 FollowUps:11

Related Pages

Came a cross these items may be a more useful alternative than the Max Tracks??

Pillow Tracks

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 18:12

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 18:12
saw the new maxitracks at ARB today, I liked what I saw, but wonder how long the rubber will last, especially up here in the hot & humid climate where shoes and other products fall apart if not used regularly.

Pillow tracks look good too... don't know which I would prefer to carry? ...
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 408961

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 19:25

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 19:25
Thought they were a very interesting concept, hence the post.

Maybe a bit more flexible and useful overall than Max Tracks.

FollowupID: 678946

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 18:30

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 18:30
Couple of old lilos might do the trick a bit cheaper. LOL

AnswerID: 408965

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 18:50

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 18:50
I wonder if stakes out in the Mulga would rupture them? Friends who had to go off the track because it had become too sandy found they were staking tyres so used their smaller green ones - carried for ten years and first time used. As he drove, she kept replacing them in front of the tyres to avoid the punctures. The longer Max Trax would have been even easier for her. What ever brand you carry, you may use them only once, but it sure saves a lot of digging.

AnswerID: 408968

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 19:44

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 19:44
Got to be kidding. Another unneccesary gadget to help fill the car & empty the pocket. Got to love the testimonials who all got free advertising for saying something positive :-))
Their demo movie showed no situation that couldn't be got over/around by taking a better line, reducing tyre pressures or a couple of minutes work with a shovel.
KISS.
Cheers Craig................
AnswerID: 408977

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 19:55

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 19:55
Good points Craig and I largely agree with you, I to use diff locks and a shovel followed by a winch.

I guess they would be aimed at the less experienced off road traveller who may feel the need for the Max tracks or other similar traction aids??

FollowupID: 678953

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:10

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:10
I must admit their videos weren't that great... but there is some merit in the concept though. I wonder if Doug T could have used one of those pillows to 'float' his truck out of that 'waterhole' he drove into recently.... lol...! Either that or used the 'pillow' to rest his weary head on after all that digging, swearing and winching.... lol... (:
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 678956

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:35

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:35
You beat me to it Crackles.

I didn't see anything that I could not have overcome by putting a rock in the hole or shovelling some dirt.

I don't think the pillow would last long shovelling hot coles onto the lid of the camp oven either.

FollowupID: 678959

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:21

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:21
As a regular sand driver i would never give up my maxtrax . They are just too easy and quick . Those pillows look like someone with too much time on there hands would buy them .
AnswerID: 408982

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:59

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 20:59
As a regular sand driver I wouldn't give up my long handled shovel & tyre gauge :-)
FollowupID: 678963

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 21:53

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 21:53
As a regular sand driver, I've never seen the need for maxtrax or shovel!!
But a tyre deflater and a mate with a tow/snatch strap is pretty handy :-))
FollowupID: 678972

Follow Up By: Wilko - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 22:07

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 22:07
As a regular sand driver I've got a shovel, tyre deflator, tow/ snatch strap and a set of maxtrax.

Work bought me the Maxtracks and they do work, cost a lot and are easy to use.

Guess it depends on how many readys you have and wether you see the need to part with them on Maxtrax.

Before I used them prob not , Now however, Work will be never be getting them back off me lol.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 678983

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 22:37

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 22:37
Phil if you've never needed a set of Maxtraxs despite doing some of the most difficult remote outback routes in Oz then I'm wondering where someone would actually need them? Surely you're not suggesting that $300 worth of plastic can be replaced with driver skill ;-)
And yes boys I know they work, just questioning the need to carry additional gear when other simple options are available.
KISS
Cheers Craig................
FollowupID: 678997

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 23:20

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 23:20
You're right Craig - plenty of options out there and you don't need to carry them all. I think Maxtrax have a place, and if I were a solo traveller, I'd probably grab a set. But from what I've witnessed with them, they are of no use if your vehicle is buried to the chassis, and as such they seem to be a method of getting a vehicle out without lowering tyre pressures to where they need to be.

Not sure where you put your maxtrax here:
FollowupID: 679003

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 15:50

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 15:50
Bit of digging required there Phil LOL. I reckon I'm going to be in for a similar issue if not worse with the extended chasis of the new ute.

FollowupID: 679055

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 11:50

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 11:50
Just use your hi lift to chuck em under the back wheels- that would raise the vehichle decreasing the amount its belied out

I cant justify the expense but when combined with a hi lift i can certainly see uses for them. I have use sheet rocks off of granite which maxtrax would have worked better and we used to take big heavy planks of wood to put under wheels when jacked up to get us out when bogged on the edges of saltlakes with no trees to winch.

There just a tool like any other. Most tools are usufull to some extent and it just a matter of how many tools you want to carry

I agree with you about the people thinking they are a substatute to running low tyre pressures.

Its not often you will find a beach so soft lowering pressures wont get you out.
The one time it happened to me it was because slacko tied driving the beach with tyres up
FollowupID: 679163

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 21:12

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 21:12
In one example it states will "EVE" the vehicle which I think is a typo for even...however it goes on to say with the vehicle chassis resting/touching the ground....then in the next example for sand it states with the vehicle's chassis not touching the ground...WT!! I would put my bull jack under the vehicle after all it is manufactured to raise a vehicle up to 4.5 tonne to change a puncture!!!
AnswerID: 408990

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 21:41

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 21:41
More comfortable to sleep on than the Maxtrax......one and only positive I could see.
Might make a good floatie for the kids too I suppose.
AnswerID: 408999

Reply By: Pillowtrack - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 05:21

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 05:21

Noticed the discussion above and hope we could contribute:

Every terrain and vehicle calls for a specific set of recovery gear.
The Pillowtrack provide self-recovery in a wide range of recovery situations, for every common 4x4 vehicle. Some will obviously use it more than others.

The PTx could be placed under a stuck wheel and then be inflated to regain traction, while lifting the body, hence re-enabling motion. One can describe the PT as an 'inflatable rock' or a 'drive-on jack' (see attached).

(One can lift a Defender 110 using a regular hand pump within minutes)

Would be happy to provide clarifications and tech support

Pillowtrack Web Team
AnswerID: 409178

Reply By: Pillowtrack - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 05:24

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 05:24
Sorry, the Link fell off:
Sand Hill Top

AnswerID: 409179