Can a 27Mhz CB Radio talk to a UHF set?

I am new to the world of CB and 4WD communications. My mate has a UHF set and I just bought a GME tx830 cb radio. I probably should have done a little more research before I bought it but I guess what I want to know is in the title. Can a CB radio talk to a uhf unit?

Help please?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:15

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:15
No. Totally different frequency bands.
AnswerID: 409291

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:16

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:16
No,cheers GREENDOG
AnswerID: 409292

Reply By: Mike DiD - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:20

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:20
There are two types of CB radios in Australia - 27MHz AM/SSB and 477MHz FM - both having 40 channels.

But they're on totally different bands and there is now way to talk between them.

Virtually everyone uses UHF these days. The sound quality is much better and you can talk long distances use repeaters on hilltops.

I think Uniden made one model that allowed you to talk on either band.
AnswerID: 409294

Follow Up By: Shaggyd0g - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:22

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:22
ok thanks heaps for the replies. looks like it is gonna be re listed on Ebay then. Is there any point in setting it up? Or should I just go for a UHF unit?
FollowupID: 679259

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:29

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:29
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 679260

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:37

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2010 at 23:37
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 679261

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 18, 2010 at 11:33