2005 nissan patrol manual
Submitted: Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 18:51
Wiroo
interested in comments from current or previous owners regarding this model as a tow vehicle for a 2ton off road van.Things like power,fuel consumption,for and against in certain areas and any comparisons with the landcruiser.
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:39
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:39
Wiroo,
3Lt or 4.2,Wagon or Ute.
Cheers Dave...
Reply By: Member - desray (WA) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:41
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:41
If its a 3 litre DONT do IT. BANG
Follow Up By: Hooroo WA - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:55
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:55
desray,
Grow up and act your age. Wiroo, I towed a 2 tonne van around the
Kimberley etc with out a drama and the Patrol performed perfectly.
Desray, I suggest you keep your comments to yourself if you don't have a clue and are only repeating what you have heard.
Hooroo
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:00
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:00
Hooroo
totally agree with you mate.......i have over 130k on my 3.0 and has never let me down yet.
Follow Up By: Kiwi and Grenade - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:16
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:16
They dont all go bang for goodness sake, yes the 3lt have a fault but you can do the best you can to avoid it....we have a 3lt and had no worries at all towing. They have MUCH better fuel economy than the 4.2lt (towing we max out at 12lt /100km while they will look at 18lt plus some more). They generally drive better too - a friend has a 4.2lt so I know first hand what they are like. Yeah we have had issues but they were not motor related and have had them fixed with no probs since then.....she's just about o clock over 147,000km
Also towing in 5th is one of those things that some people do, some people dont....
Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:29
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:29
HooRoo, thats what they all say before they go BANG, acting on rumor? NO I PERSONALLY know of 5 people who have blown their ZD30!! none of them had ANY warning. One of them just the day before it went bang sounded like you. Till it left them up the creek with out a paddle.
Sorry but its a case of when NOT if.
Let us all know what the weather is like with your head in the sand......Good luck your gunna need it
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:37
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:37
rosso1234
even seen a Poojero with a leg out of bed the other day.....wasnt you was it?
Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:39
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:39
nup
Follow Up By: Hooroo WA - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:40
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:40
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:44
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:44
rosso1234
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:45
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:45
Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:55
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:55
HooRoo,Nissan has made a fortune from people in Denial......... as said before, good luck sunshine
Follow Up By: Hooroo WA - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:01
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:01
Rosso,
While this has been very entertaining listening to your wisdom. I must let you go because Im sure you have many posts to write in many forums, some of which Im sure are - Engel vs waeco, Jayco Vs Windsor, Bridgestone Vs BFG, Ford Vs Holden, Prozac Vs Shock Therapy, etc etc etc.
Please go
forth and enlighten the world. Your fans are awaiting their expert.
In all seriousness mate, have a great weekend and regardless of our banter I will snatch you out anytime.
Hooroo
Follow Up By: Kiwi and Grenade - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:03
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:03
Hey HooRoo.....they haven't made a fortune from people in denial....but from not admitting to their own mistake - if they had then people would be wanting compensation.....
Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:05
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:05
sounds like some more denial........lol
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:09
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:09
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:10
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:10
Follow Up By: Hooroo WA - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:23
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:23
In all seriousness guys,
Have a great weekend and that includes you Rosso. Just a bit of fun. You are all welcome at my
camp fire any time.
Hooroo,
(the grenade pin puller)
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:30
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:30
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:32
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:32
Hooroo,
Hope you have a good one as
well.
Follow Up By: Jedo_03 - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:22
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:22
My understanding is that "some" Toyota owners got their "Oh what a feeling" moment BEFORE they got their recall letter...
Did I read Four Million..??
People in Glass Houses shouldn't throw stones...
Sorry to be provocative. But the vast majority of Nissan 3L don't go BANG - and anyway, laughing at other people's misfortunes went out of vogue with Charlie Chaplin...
Jedo
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:00
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:00
For an intelligent answer go to the Patrol
forum where you can read stories both good and bad about these vehicles
http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
I had one sold it and bought a Cruiser and couldnt be happier.
More comfort, more power, less worry.
Reply By: Member - desray (WA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:24
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:24
WOW you patrol people keep your heads in the sand . Wiroo asked for " interested in comments from current or previous owners "
well I had one and sold it , Yes I do know of several that have gone bang ,not if but when. The Manuel gearbox also has a fifth gear that goes bang but we wont go there more heads in the sand. Im not laughing at anyone was asked for comments and if you dont like the truth tough . Happy motoring
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 21:12
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 21:12
desray, It was the 4.2 gearbox that went bang in 5th gear not the 3lt.
Follow Up By: Member - desray (WA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 22:49