Amaron Hi life batteries

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 19:47
ThreadID: 77039 Views:8143 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
Just fitted one of these for my housmate.
Stats looked the goods being 80AH and 650cca

any other info on them besides there Indian?

I gather there a kind of hybrid battery. If it performs as per the stats and lasts the distance would be OK for $200.

I just spent $200 each on a couple of century 700cca 4wd batterys

Both my old ones (same) were going strong after 5 years but 1 I had blown a hole in (dont ask) and I figured I couldnt trust them after 5 years

They didnt seem to have particulary good AH rating (starters dont quote it anyway) but they couldnt run an engle for 24hr in hot weather and lapto running through an inverter lattened them pretty quick

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:30

Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:30
80ah and 650cca for $200 is on the money, I don't have any stats but they are supported and sold by a well known business so I think you should have no issues and like any battery maintenance via smart charging is essential. Have fun..
AnswerID: 409663

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:36

Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:36
they are actually imported as is rather than imported generic and badged
Ameron is a long established battery co in India

according to the house mate where they sold them they were 1/2 price (unsurprisingly if they were trying to flog them for $400)

a normal 650cca starter wont give 80 ah
FollowupID: 679574

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:07

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:07
Gday Davoe,
Sprint auto parts here in Adelaide have 640cca 80Ah "taxi" batteries for $79. I just bought one to put in the Tvan. Made in Italy. They are almost the same dimensions as an N70 except not quite as tall, and the posts only come in one configuration.
AnswerID: 409711

Follow Up By: trainslux - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:23

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:23
I thought those batteries from sprints were quite a bit longer than an n70 by 30mm
Or is this a different battery?

Trains
FollowupID: 679652

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:33

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 10:33
Gday Trains,
they printed the wrong size on the advert. But the size is slightly different to the N70. Just measured it: 320long x 180wide x 200high.
FollowupID: 679654

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:24

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:24
thats pretty darn cheap - maybe too cheap?

the 2 nz 700cca century batteries set me back $200 ea trade price
Couldnt go bush with confidence with 5yo batteries

FollowupID: 679686

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 22:22

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 22:22
Seems like batteries are generally overpriced, given the price of lead has gone down. But some are cheaper now than they were a couple of years ago.

Also, I saw today that Exide Extreme N70 are $159 each at Bridgestone tyre centres until the end of April.

I wouldn't rely on a $79 battery to start my Landcruiser in the desert in winter. But to run some lights, water pump, and a few accessories on the Tvan is no big deal.
FollowupID: 679786