Submitted: Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:28
petengail
a mate of
mine had his tow ball nicked - yeah we all know it happens. i was thinking why cant i have the hole bored out a bit and put a brass padlock thorough it to stop the opportunity thieves? two questions? can it be done or is the steel just too hard? and if it can be done... would it void any warranty?.... cheers pete and gail
Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:33
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:33
I wouldn't worry, towballs don't get stolen too often, and they are cheap anyhow, otherwise remove the tongue with the ball on it.
Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:51
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 20:51
Why not like I do and carry a spare, never thought of it being stolen, but run across a vehicle one day in the NT who had the ball broken and quest what I had a spare. Stopped one day and was just looking at the tow hitch and when I gave it a kick found the ball was loose, again lucky I carry a spare.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:12
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:12
Yep, I have drilled out the pin hole a little and put a padlock on.
In the bush I put the R clip back in.
Reply By: petengail - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:22
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:22
sorry all i didnt phrase that quite right i meant the whole thing being nicked... the tongue, tow ball and all... its just held in by a R pin i wanted to drill a bit larger hole, and be able to put a small brass padlock through it to stop the opportunity thieves... not the determined... they steal the whole rig just to get the tow bar lol
Follow Up By: rumpig - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:36
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:36
you can buy a locking pin to replace the original, i got
mine from Repco
Follow Up By: petengail - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:38
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:38
thanks rumpig thats what i wanted to know
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:43
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 21:43
Thats does stop them thieving the thing, but it doesn't stop it rattling in there.
Best thing to stop the thieving and rattling, drill a hole at 45 degres at the top corner of the RHS box that recieves the towballl hitch, then either tap it to recieve a 7/16 bolt or spot weld a 7/16 nut over the hole and fit a bolt and lock nut, then tighten to remove any lateral movement of the hitch in the reciever and make it dam hard for any opportune thief.
Follow Up By: Jedo_03 - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:02
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:02
Yeah - my daughter had her tongue and bar thieved in
White Cliffs. They were doing a dash back from their property when the last rains set-in and stopped at the corner store to get the kids a fizzy drink... What..? Five minutes... And the thieving bar-stewards lifted the trailer off of the ball and stole the hitch...
She now has a hitch-pin keyed lock which prevents/deters the removal of the pin... You still have to use the squiggly pin as
well...
A good soul (also on his way out) kindly hitched her loaded trailer to his vehicle and pulled it back to the
Hill for them (still good people in the world...)
Andrew - now there's a good idea, with the bolt through the RHS...
I'm still at odds wondering what the advantage is of using one of these new-fangled hitches. I can see the advantage for HR (yeah - now come and buy one of our WDH rigs with the sexy bullhead) but I pulled vans for years with the old-fashioned fixed towball and a steel fixture that housed the equally old-fashioned shepherds crook bars.
Jedo
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:04
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:04
Dam wanted a new towbar and tougue!!!
guess i'll have to buy one.
No i don't theive anything off others.
wouldn't even try it.
I want to catch the thieves who stole my beloved 4runner.
anyone heard/ bought a 4runner that needed a headgasket redone, and carby tune, and gearbox, with blue neons and no rear interior plastic's in the back, reward offered for name of person who has it so i can get the people who stole it????
leave message here or ring the mobile in the profile.
sorry to hi-jack expand on this
deepest apologies.
Follow Up By: Ray - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:05
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 09:05
A friend of
mine got fed up with the hitch rattling, tongue into socket, that he welded them together. He now needs an angle grinder to take the tongue out but that doesn't worry him.
Reply By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:37
Saturday, Mar 20, 2010 at 22:37
Hi Pete and Gail,
If it's the Hayman Reece you are talking about buy a lock the goes through the whole thing and locks it in. We generally take ours off if we are not using it, even when travelling when we store it in the rear of the vehicle.
Bruce and Di
Reply By: RedJK - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 02:23
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 02:23
I just replaced the pin with a type 8 hi-tensile bolt and nut.
I never remove the drawbar so a small tack weld on the end of
the nut & bolt
means it will take a really determined thief to remove it.
If I want it off, 30 seconds with an angle grinder will fix it.
I put thick galvanised side plates under the bolt and nut and a thin shim down the side of the drawbar and no rattle now.
Thieves simply knock padlocks off with hammers stolen out of tradies utes.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 08:56
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 08:56
I use a 3/4 inch gal bolt cut down with a split pin thru the end as insurance. It takes me 30 mins to get the damn thing out so it should be interesting to a would be thieving bastard
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 14:55
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 14:55
Boy those thieves were determined,lifting the trailor off the ball then swiping the hitch???
So it looks like I will have to bye one of those pins with the inbuilt lock.
Reply By: Member - Peter S (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:23
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:23
I thought I would share this with you, I made this to protect the electrics and make it look a little better than just an open end to the tow bar, also I pad lock the bar in place. hope this helps. Pete
Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 19:28
Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 19:28
I have drilled a hole at 45deg and welded a nut there. I then have a bolt going into the square tongue pressing against it so it does not rattle or so that it can't be stolen.
My son has also done his tow hitch as
well.