Where's that smell comming from?

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 15:10
ThreadID: 77061 Views:3739 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
A friend of ours who is a Tradie uses his 4wd Wagon for a work vehicle, anyway he took 10 days off for is holidays recently, so the day before they were going away he decides to go fishing, he fishes all day he catches a heap of fish and cleans and guts them at the beach, he decided to keep the fish heads and guts for the next fishing trip, and leaves them in two 20ltr plastic buckets, he put the filleted fish in the esky, when he arrived home he takes the esky out and forgets to take the plastic buckets out of the 4by, he and the family go on holidays, and while he is away things start to deteriorate in the 4by, his next door neighbour smells this odour in the air and thinks it is in his ceiling, maybe a dead rat or something, the family come home after 8 days away, and cant work out where or what the smell is or where it's comming from, now he hasn't been near the 4by until he was ready to go back to work, as it was parked in the front yard near the boundary fence, yes he opens the car door and Whamo, he staggered backwards and gasping at the same time, the 4by has been in the sun for 10 days with two buckets of fish guts in it, the whole interior was Fly Blown, he promptly got the the buckets out and tried to decontaminate the vehicle, he tried all sorts of treatments, there were maggots comming out of every part of the vehicle, his mate suggested to call the insurance company, they said it was covered and so they sent an assessor out to inspect the vehicle, yes they wrote it off.

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 15:18

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 15:18
Daza

Ya just cant trust those damn Tradies to do anything...........
AnswerID: 409774

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:47

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:47
Yeh Mark, and he drove a Nissan lol lol.
FollowupID: 679727

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 15:26

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 15:26
Well now we all know what to do if we want to replace our vehicle without incurring any bodily harm.......

AnswerID: 409776

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:37

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:37
G/Day Bushy

Yes I didn't mention the Insurance company sent out a professional detailer and he couldn,t or wouldn,t detail the car, when they finally removed the vehicle, the tow truck driver had to drag the vehicle onto the road with the truck, he was unable to stand the stench, he couldn't line it up with the back of the tow truck, it was an honest mistake so they paid him out.
FollowupID: 679724

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:44

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:44
G/Day Bushy

Yes I didn't mention the Insurance company sent out a professional detailer and he couldn,t or wouldn,t detail the car, when they finally removed the vehicle, the tow truck driver had to drag the vehicle onto the road with the truck, he was unable to stand the stench, he couldn't line it up with the back of the tow truck, it was an honest mistake so they paid him out.
FollowupID: 679726

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:55

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:55
Sorry about the double up.
FollowupID: 679733

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 15:38

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 15:38
What a waste of car.

I'll take the car off his hands, a feed of baked beans, curried eggs and fried onions will soon have the car smelling like my Nissan in no time at all.....hahaha.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 409777

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:52

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:52
It was a Nissan.
FollowupID: 679731

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:35

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:35
hi daza
so by what your saying
his insurance policy covered him for loss of memory

hey ! who's his insurer i want to take out a policy with them or was the assessor his best mate
the mind boggles as to how he got payed out on leaving fish remains in the vehicle what clause does that come under??????
AnswerID: 409780

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:48

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:48
Suncorp so I'm told.
FollowupID: 679728

Reply By: obee1212 - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:55

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:55
I can see the beginnings of an urban myth developing here.

Owen
AnswerID: 409783

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:15

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:15
Yes Owen - so can I

"Giant maggots eat 4wd at Wolf Creek"

FollowupID: 679717

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:54

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:54
No Myth all true.
FollowupID: 679732

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:57

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 16:57
Wow, I think that is the longest sentence I've ever read.
You must be buggered after typing that one, I was sure huffing and puffing after reading it :-)

Great yarn though, Daza

Glenn
AnswerID: 409784

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 17:35

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 17:35
Don't worry Glenn, I'm sure Daza would of had a beer at the ready if he got thirsty after typing it.

FollowupID: 679708

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:51

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:51
Geez here I am slaving over the key board and I didn't stop for a drink, next time I'll keep it to myself lol lol.
FollowupID: 679730

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:30

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 18:30
Similar happened to a mate in Darwin. His ute was "borrowed" by some locals who wanted to get to Katherine. Of course it ran out of petrol about 10Ks outside Katherine and one of the first people along was the local Plod, who did a check and found it was stolen so they had it towed to Katherine. Informed my mate who said "OK, can't get down straight away, can I pick it up next week?" Plod said "Sure, no problems. We'll lock it up and secure it in our yard."

Well, when he picked it up it had had couple of pieces of steak in a plastic bag left in the glovebox...

Bloody glad it wasn't me driving it back to Darwin ;-)
AnswerID: 409795

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 20:22

Sunday, Mar 21, 2010 at 20:22
Sounds like my friends efforts, meat or fish when it goes off in the heat it all stinks.
FollowupID: 679750

Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 11:03

Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 11:03
"coming" not "comming"
AnswerID: 409886

Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 16:19

Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 16:19
From what I was told a bucketload of years ago, the fish smell is (or was) impossible to remove.
Apparently flathead is the worst, tuck one under the seat of a car of someone you hate, and after a few days, the smell is there forever, unless a complete removal of all carpets, seats, dash, hood lining etc is carried out.
I'll get there someday, or die wanting to.

AnswerID: 409919

Reply By: oz doc - Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 17:14

Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 17:14
HI Daza,I guess thats one way to generate a load of good quality 'wogs' for the next fishing trip. I prefer to leave the fish heads and such wrapped in moist paper in a bucket way down the backyard myself. Never thought of using the car as a wog farm. Maybe its a Nissan thing. doc.
AnswerID: 409928

Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 18:30

Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 18:30
any onesee the mythbusters where they left 2 pigs in a car for a fe months to see if they could sell it afterwards

Even after a full cime scene clean the car was almost wrecked and they sold it for parts vaue an it still stunk
AnswerID: 409937

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 18:31

Monday, Mar 22, 2010 at 18:31
probabally the funniest thing ive seen on TV
FollowupID: 679885