Buying Imported HJ61 1988 Landcruiser

Submitted: Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 14:33
ThreadID: 7713 Views:9505 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
G'day,
I am buying a imported 1988 Landcruiser Sahara 4.0 Turbo Diesel Auto 110,000KMS with all electric window,miror, factory roof rack, factory Winch and spot lights from a 4X4 importer in Brissy.

All the details can be found at
http://www.auto-house.com/vehicle_details.php?details=47

As a first-time landcruiser buyer, can anyone please help me with fllowing questions:
1. At A$16,900 on road with one year warranty, Am I paying too much for it?
2. Is this a ideal 4X4 for crusing around OZ? I need to reliable 4X4 to fulfill my dream of round trips around OZ.
3.Is there any Landcruiser expert in Brisbane so I have it checked beforehand, It is still on the way to OZ
4. Is it worthwhile to pay a couple grands more for 80 serious turbo disel auto ? It is pretty hard to find 80 series at above spec.

Any comments will be much appreciated.

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 14:45

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 14:45
$16900 is the going price of oz spec t/d/ autos that will have accessories like OME suspension/duel batteries/ and dual tanks etc etc if bought in oz. The importer is asking too much for it.
I would not be looking at this type of vehicle to travel 0z but animported 80 series t/d auto for the comfort aspect and resale value here (t/d 80s here start at 20k for a huge milage 1990 model and up to 40k for a 98.)
The overall champ of round oz travellers has to be the troup carrier decked out or just for the size of the back alone, it is the choice of many.
Andrewwheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 33335

Follow Up By: chenj3 - Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 15:10

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 15:10
Thank you Andrew,

Yes! It seems a bit of pricy as I can find elsewhere $12k for similar but a bit older model with mileage unknown. Troopy is definite the best for OZ round trip but my two kids ( 6 & 8 yo) make it removed from my list. My initial though was that Sahara is the top range and it equipped all sorts of quality accessories I needed for real 4X4 drive if I want to.

Not sure if I will have troubles to getting parts for this model, especially for 24 volts parts like starter and bulbs.

Thank you!
FollowupID: 23897

Reply By: Member - Al Symers (SA) - Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 14:48

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 14:48
A mate in Darwin worked for one of the 4x4 importers there and bought one himself. There are a few things different from the Aussie ones and from memory the electrical system is 24volts.Nil Taurus Excretus
AnswerID: 33336

Follow Up By: chenj3 - Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 15:16

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 15:16
Thank you, Al Symers

Will you be able to get your mate's general opinions on his imported HJ61 Sahara and the fair price if possible. I am a bit lost at the moment as the majority of people believe it is not a bad 4X4. I price I am paying may allow me to get a early 1990 80 series petrol.

FollowupID: 23898

Follow Up By: Member - Al Symers (SA) - Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 21:28

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 21:28
ChenJ3, The Darwin vehicle was bought about 3 years ago for around $18k but it was the owner of the business personal truck with a few other accessories on it. Todate, he has had no major problems with it.
I had an 86 HJ62TD that I sold this year for $15k . Had done 320k in real good nick. Gearboxes and diffs have been a problem in some trucks. Check for rust around the gutter, sliding roof and floor well under driver's feet. Lift carpet to check Salt is spread on roads where ice is a problem in some overseas countries.Nil Taurus Excretus
FollowupID: 23952

Follow Up By: chenj3 - Saturday, Oct 11, 2003 at 12:46

Saturday, Oct 11, 2003 at 12:46
Dear Al Symers,
I organised a test dirve for 1988 HJ61RG, Turbo Diesel,Auto, 330K this morning from the local car yard and was surpriced that this truck can give me such an impressive experience. The engine rev was only at 2000 RPM at 100K/H and the turbo started around 1500 RPM. It is an OZ spec. country car and no rust sighted.
Overall speaking, I am very happy with the engine (12HT) and the space it provides. this truck is tagged 17K at car yard and I reckon my coming dream car should be a good buy if I look at the mileage and accessories it equipped. Of course, I only can find out all when it arrives.
Also I expect to have a icebox or dual A/C as it is a SAHARA and Japanese always gear up all possible options. Do you have any experience with the options of Sahara, Are they all equipped with icebox ? Is Icebox useful in the bush or in town?
FollowupID: 23993

Follow Up By: Member - Al Symers (SA) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2003 at 21:20

Saturday, Oct 11, 2003 at 21:20
My Sahara was the 12HT motor and IMHO it is the best diesel motor Toyota ever made. With servicing every 5000k's it should do in excess off 500,000k's without any trouble. Mine didn't have the Icebox but did have the dual A/C until I removed it as it took up too much room and it was in a p--ck of a position.Nil Taurus Excretus
FollowupID: 24011

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 16:05

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 16:05
Gday again
The hj61 is a briliant 4wd, dont think it is in any way a bad choice, but as stated, if you need spares after a water crossing in the Kimberley, the 0z spec sahara would be the better vehicle to buy, and they are here for 12-19k with accessories galore.
Stay away from the early petrol 80 series, as they chew too much juice and are very hard to sell second hand here in oz, 10-14k is their going price here. A 1990 t/d auto would be a good buy, how about you check out www.tradingpost.com.au
Did you know that the troup carrier comes in a 6 seat configuration, and plenty of people put in the second row seat aftermarket, with still enough room to pile a grannyflat worth of gear in behind there.
Andrew wheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 33347

Reply By: floyd - Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 16:56

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 16:56
That vehicle at that price with those low kilometres I reckon is a great buy. 110,000 is hardly run in for that motor. My brother has the same with 400,000 on the original engine and it goes like a train. Brilliant car with really low ks. I would have bought it. Check for rust on the frame inside the drivers and passengers kick panel and in the gutters.
AnswerID: 33351

Follow Up By: chenj3 - Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 17:07

Friday, Oct 10, 2003 at 17:07
Thank you Floyd and Dozer,

I have check www.carsales.com.au and discovered that most vendors are selling this model wit similar mileage for 18K~22K. I also found some 80 series Turbo diesel auto with 250K+ will sell around 25K even without the quality accessies ( roof rack, winch, spots lights, stainless Bull Bar,Tow Bar).

FollowupID: 23903

Reply By: Member - Paul - Sunday, Oct 12, 2003 at 06:01

Sunday, Oct 12, 2003 at 06:01
G'day chenj3

I bought an identical vehicle for just $500 more about 5 months ago. It's got every conceivable extra including suspension seats in the front.

The only downside, and it's relatively minor, is the 24V system but the rest more than makes up for it. It's a great vehicle. Mine had 77,000 k's on it when I bought it. I added a third battery to give me a 12V accessory system (fridge etc) recharging off the alternator through a black box. Worked a dream.

I've just come back from a 6 week Cape York trip and the thing went like a bought one. We did about 8,000 k's all up (from the Gold Coast). We were held up just 3 times the whole way but only 1 of those was really the vehicle. A starter motor contact went on me at Cooktown. The other 2 holdups were a brand new Odyssey battery (part of the 24V ststem) simply died and I had to fit an auto transmission oil cooler at Rockhampton on the way back cause it just finally succumbed to the all the weight and air it was pushing (we were very well loaded including tinny on top). The springs are due for a reset now (actually overdue).

All in all, a fantastic trip in a fantastic vehicle.

It handled anything and everything that was thrown at it. We did most of the side tracks on the Cape, went all the way up on the OTL and spent as little time as possible on the wonderful (ugh) bypasses.

So, unless you're just unlucky enough to get a bad one, go for it. You won't be sorry.

AnswerID: 33457

Follow Up By: chenj3 - Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 00:15

Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 00:15
Paul,
Thank you for your valuable feedback for this vehicle and we are now more and more confident for this coming dreaming car. I am just wondering how did charge the third battery through the alternator ? Do you have the wiring diagram? The other mates mentioned to have converter for 24-> 12 Volt from the outlet and do NOT have to touch the wiring. As electrical being my background, I am a bit scared by the re-wiring, aspecially for big current. the wire gets hot even catches fire if the spec is not met.

Loot at your spec and your trip, I am confident it should be a choice to own a old but reliable 4WD for holiday. We have test drives for two HJ61 models. The first one has done 140K with some rusts along gutters from Japan but engine is like new, my wife could NOT believe she is driving a 2+ tones beast like in a sedan, it is so powerful. unfortunately we quite rusty spots along gutters and other spots. The second we tested was a OZ spec. private 1986 Sahara done 300K with gearbox replaced recently, It was quite sluggish, noisy to be honest although the interior s just like new.
So far I just can NOT wait for my dream car to arrive, however I am organising RACQ to give it a thorough check out and even a Toyota 4X4 specialist to check out it's engine. Did you have someone else look at your car before buy it?

Keep in touch
FollowupID: 24063

Follow Up By: Member - Paul - Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 19:45

Monday, Oct 13, 2003 at 19:45
chenj3
Sorry, in hindsight my info was a bit misleading I guess. The black box I referred to was a converter so my hookup would be as your mates suggest.

Mine's got plenty of grunt and I'm an avowed devotee of automatic 4WD's now. I was sceptical before but now having one and comparing it all over the Cape with other 4WD's in all sorts of situations, I'm sold. The ability to put power down smoothly and as you want it is just terrific. Even real steep descents are not what I had read about. It absolutely crawls in low/low. The only downside, and it can be a bit of a worry, is the towing problem.

I had a mate have a quick look and listen to the engine before I bought it but the whole car was so schmick that it was pretty well unnecessary and that's been proven with my experience since. It's been serviced twice now and both times the "what you need to attend to" section of the report has been blank except for a bit that cost me $15.00 If your vehicle is still on its way here, you might be surprised at the good condition it's in when it hits the yard.

As I said, unless you're unlucky enough to get a "bad" one, all should be ok. Spares aren't a problem so the local Toyota dealer tells me. Electrical after-market stuff and accessories are a bit difficult to find with the 24V system but the extra 12V system gets me around most of those little problems.

Reading the 4WD magazines and such, I was a bit sceptical about buying an import but I'm more than happy.

All the best with yours.
FollowupID: 24151

Follow Up By: chenj3 - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 08:59

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 08:59
Paul,
I am glad for you that you own such a beauty. as a newbie for 4X$, Can you please help with following questions.
1. Should I have RACQ to inspect this car befoer purchase.
2. Did you have someone to check the speedo, some odimeters were tampered in Japan befoer shipped.
3. Is there any warranty comes with this car.
4. Should I request the vendor to replace the timing belt (mine is 112K), it may cost $$$ for us but much cheaper by vendor.
5. Any comment on the roof rack, mine comes with a factory roof rack and spot lights. Does that mean that vehicle has been fully stressed/abused previously.

Re 24V accessories, It may not too hard to get 24V accessory as we have so many truck and marine vessel around.

Cheers!

FollowupID: 24326

Reply By: chenj3 - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:49

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:49
Paul,
I am glad for you that you own such a beauty. as a newbie for 4X$, Can you please help with following questions.
1. Should I have RACQ to inspect this car befoer purchase.
2. Did you have someone to check the speedo, some odimeters were tampered in Japan befoer shipped.
3. Is there any warranty comes with this car.
4. Should I request the vendor to replace the timing belt (mine is 112K), it may cost $$$ for us but much cheaper by vendor.
5. Any comment on the roof rack, mine comes with a factory roof rack and spot lights. Does that mean that vehicle has been fully stressed/abused previously.

Re 24V accessories, It may not too hard to get 24V accessory as we have so many truck and marine vessel around.

Cheers!

AnswerID: 33832

Follow Up By: Member - Paul - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 03:46

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 03:46
chenj
1. An RACQ check is always a good idea.
2. No, although that wouldn't surprise.
3. 3 month dealer warranty came with the vehicle and I bought a 12 month warranty on top.
4. You could, but I can imagine the dealer's response.
5. I'm not sure of the connection here between the factory roof rack and stressed/abused. Mine carried an awesome amount on the Cape trip with no problems.

And yep, truck accessories solved most of the problems.

FollowupID: 24541