Storing bottled wine in your 4wd

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 01:10
ThreadID: 77304 Views:6217 Replies:19 FollowUps:21
I drink red wine but I've had problems with corrugations playing havoc and also heat build-up in the back of the car. I've tried various methods to try and keep the heat down such as using cooler bags and to ease corrugation issues provide as much cushion as I can. BUT.... I still get problems with heat. Room temp isn't supposed to be 40 degrees as it was a few weeks back. Packing 6 bottles for me and 4 for the wife for a trip up North at the end of the week and would hate to ruin the lot. Here horrible white stuff will go in the fridge.

Yer yer drink it faster and it won't go off, but there is only so much Panadol and Berocca the body can take.

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 06:16

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 06:16
Personally I do not drink wine (love my cuppa tea) but you may want to get another fridge and set it up on a higher temp.

Just an idea.

AnswerID: 410997

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:55

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:55
Heck Phil I've got 2 now there would be no room left if I bought another. Yep a cuppa tea is also a good drink, but too sobering at times.

FollowupID: 681099

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:05

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:05
Duncan,

This is a very serious problem mate!

I carry my supply of red wine in one or two 6 pack wine cartons and pack around it with clothing etc.
Now because your heading up North where it's hot, you will need to chill your red down a bit before you drink it so one bottle of the white stuff will have to remain outside the fridge to make room for a red.
Seriously, I chill my red down in hot weather.

A bit of shaking does not seem to affect the quality of taste in my experience.

I have one saving grace. (depending on how you look at it)
My wife likes a drop of red as well as the white stuff.

Bill.

AnswerID: 410999

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:58

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:58
I'm glad mine hates Red Wine. Agree the wine needs to be cooler than a typical northern room temp. And yep I have been known to store a bottle in my car fridge, Then need to wait while it warms up.

FollowupID: 681100

Reply By: Rock Ape - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:19

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:19
Duncan,
If you have ice to burn just place the bottle in the ice, if not drop some ice in the glass. Other than that rum and bore water is the go.

Saw a wine tasting in Cairns many years and the sales rep had it on ice, one wine buff spat about the ice, the rep replied " I don't believe 35 degrees C is the ideal room temp for wine.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 411002

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:59

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:59
Bloody hard burning ice. LOL. Will be packing some ice in the freezer for the wifes Bailey's. Friends always have ice in theirs. Me I'm a purist.

FollowupID: 681101

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:19

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:19
Hey there Duncan,

Used to work in the wine industry [NZ] way back in its fledgling days.
Most of the reds were imported from France and strict storage procedures had to be adhered to [temp, light and vibrations etc].
It was the realm of snobs and us mere mortals had to stick to Lion Brown...hahaha.

Mind you, the industry had its perks. Long weekend, load the ol' series 1 Landy and head bush, heaps of reds rattling around in the back.
Rabbit stew in the camp oven, a few glugs of Chataux Rothchilds 63 tossed in for flavour, a nice Sautern or Equem for afters.
Some of the wines would have made Penfolds Grange the type of plonk you buy in a brown paper bag and head to the nearest park bench....lol.

I cringe these days when I see some of the wines I took for granted being auctioned for ten's of thousands per bottle. The folly of youth I suppose !

Sorry mate, I do tend to ramble. Now to address your question.
We used to toss the wines anywhere they could fit but, the beer, we used to wrap in wet newspapers and individualy place in plastic bags, then wrap in blankets or roll up in sleeping bags.
I'll admit though, over there 25 degrees was considered a heatwave and the Landy suspension was worse than any corrugations Ive encounted over here but the beer used to survive ok [if left to settle].....hahaha.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 411003

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:01

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:01
Lionel when we finally get a chance to having that few days away we've been on about for a while you can pack some of your Rothchild and I'll pack the beers.

FollowupID: 681103

Reply By: alwaysrovin - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:56

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 07:56
We pack them on their side in a plastic box, with a layer of tea-towel between each bottle. Just make sure the box is packed tight - old bottles go back where they came from, and put other things in too to keep it packed tight. Have it firmly packed into the car so that the box can't jump around at all. - Have carted probably into the hundreds of bottles that way now, over many tens of thousands of kms of every sort of outback road, with no problems what so ever. As for temp - we haven't had any trouble even in the height of summer, - but we might have so much stuff in the vehicle that it helps insulate! Otherwise we just chill it in the fridge/esky for a while before drinking.
AnswerID: 411004

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:03

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:03
Last trip away heat build-up was a real problem even within things like the sleeping bags. It was as if we had a heater on in the back of the car. Yep I agree that plenty of insulation helps keep the jolting down.

FollowupID: 681104

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:56

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:56
Which is why man invented this............

AnswerID: 411023

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:04

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:04
Still a problem though just a larger quantity.

FollowupID: 681105

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:45

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:45
Wizard,

Yuck man!
Château Cardboard?
Have you no class?

In hotter weather, I have no problem in cooling the red down in ice, or the fridge for a half hour or so. It is undrinkable when hot.
I have been to some food and wine festivals during hot days where the Wineries themselves have red wine in a fridge.

Bill.

FollowupID: 681149

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 16:54

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 16:54
Some of the recent selections of Chateau de Box aren't too bad. Plus it is eaiser to store and less likely to break.

Depending on if it is a red or white, I take it out the box and wack it into the Waeco. Less rubbish as well.

One foil bag with the air removed takes up less space as the numerous empty glass bottles you have to then carry around until you find a bin. Plus how do you stop the empies from breaking?

Which is why I only carry my beer in cans when off road. They don't break or pop open. They are easier to pack in the fridge then crush them and recycle....a crushed can is lighter and takes up less room in the rubbish bag.

FollowupID: 681290

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 17:17

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 17:17
Even they develop leaks on corrugations , as for quality, the only place to buy cask wine is where there is a large turnover of stock , many a supposedly good brand of cask wine turns to vinegar due to storage fluctuations.
FollowupID: 681293

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 21:09

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 21:09
I'm with Wizard.

There are some quite palatable drops available in the the little 2L casks these days.

And far easier to store/pack/dispose for a given quantity.

FollowupID: 681323

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Apr 01, 2010 at 10:20

Thursday, Apr 01, 2010 at 10:20
And the man who invented the modern wine cask passed away at the age of 92 at Renmark yesterday , RIP Thomas Angove.
FollowupID: 681357

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:27

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:27
Why not leave the wine at home and enjoy a good cup of tea instead. At least you might have something to look forward to upon returning home. Try it !
AnswerID: 411031

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:32

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:32
That would be a bit pointless if you were on the road for 12 months or more ;)

FollowupID: 681056

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:07

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:07
Hang on what if you're tripping around wine regions your saying don't buy any? That would be sacrilege. I also keep the good stuff at home.

FollowupID: 681106

Reply By: WayneD - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:44

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:44
You can also pack your wine in old thick socks and if you need to keep them cool, just keep the socks damp. You could use river / creek water for this and not need to use drinking water.
It also stops the bottles from rattling.
Probably a good idea to wash thw socks first!!
AnswerID: 411037

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:08

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:08
No thanks. Used the thick sock trick to cart wine home in suit cases from over seas. That works.

FollowupID: 681107

Reply By: Member - James W (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:25

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:25
Pack it in with your clothes and it won't break. Ours always travels in the vehicle somewhere. I agree with the other lovers of red. Chill it a bit before you open it and keep a bit of ice around it's while open. Red should be enjoyed cool, not at 30 degrees. Enjoy the trip.
AnswerID: 411041

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:09

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:09
Agree. Also stuffing a bottle or three in sleeping bags works as well.

FollowupID: 681108

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 12:32

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 12:32
I usually pack bottles standing up in one of those cardboard wine boxes with strong reinforcing between each bottle. I return the empties to the box.

Leaving the wine in the car in 45 degree heat will stew it pretty quickly. Temps in the car of course will get much higher.

Provided you have avoided the above, when its time to drink your wine chill it in the Engel for a while to bring it down to about 18 degrees. If its an aged wine, the sediment will be well and truly suspended in the wine. The only solution is to filter it into a decanter or another bottle before drinking.

There is no substitute for a good red around the fire when camping. There are no drinkable reds in the cask format. Cup of tea instead? No thanks.
AnswerID: 411050

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:10

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:10
"There is no substitute for a good red around the fire when camping. There are no drinkable reds in the cask format. Cup of tea instead? No thanks."

You're a man after my own heart Bob.

FollowupID: 681109

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 22:22

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 22:22
"No drinkable reds in the cask format"??
Surely that only applies to the top half of the cask. I have always found that the bottom half of a bottle always tastes better than the top half even if the first half made you wonder if you had opened a bottle of vinegar.

LOL....{;-)))))))

cHEERS pOP

OOOOPS
FollowupID: 681174

Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 12:34

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 12:34
Duncan,
Here's an idea that works.
It's a bit bulky but if you want room temp reds................

Cut some 100mm pvc storm pipe into 6 lengths slightly longer than your bottle is tall, arrange them 3,2,1 and bind them together with robust cable ties (zipties).
Lay them down on a sheet of plastic so that one open end is on top.

Wrap 6 empty wine bottles in gladwrap(clingwrap) and insert into the 6 openings.

Centralise each bottle in the tubes and fill the tubes with spray foam.

Allow it to firm up and then replace the empties with full ones.

The result is a compact, well... sort of, insulated wine storage rack.

Disco.
AnswerID: 411051

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:12

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:12
Disco I've only got a Terracan not a Troopy. LOL. I actually use a couple of old Glenfidoch tin inside the fridge to store the wife's cardoney. tins act like a wine cooler and no cans etc fall back into the space when the bottle is removed.

FollowupID: 681110

Reply By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 13:01

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 13:01
We usually carry a few dozen when we go away. Equates to a couple of glasses each per night. We leave them in the original boxes. Put the empty back in the box so it always full. They don't rattle around and it cuts down on rubbish in the bin. We have done this across Simpson a few times, CSR and a lot of other rough tracks and have never broken a bottle. I would still leave the expensive stuff at home as the vibrations and heat don't really help. We have a camper on the back and it is often 10 -15 degrees cooler so we don't really have a big heat problem. In reality heat and light tends to increase the oxidation rate and for a few weeks I don't think you will have a big issue. Local wines are often stored in warehouses around the place after they leave the winery and a great number of these are not cooled. I would still keep it as cool as possible and definitely out of the sun.

AnswerID: 411057

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:17

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:17
I've been getting the green label Kaiser Stuhl wines to travel with because they come in a specially designed plastic bottle that is very light and you can burn them as well. They create next to no smoke at all, thus no heavy bottles to cart out and no broken glass. A camper trailer would be very handy at times. this trip I'm 3/4 packed and I haven't started to pack the booze or clothes.

FollowupID: 681113

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:18

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:18
I'm definately stressed they're not Kaiser Stuhls but Wolf Blass Green Lables. excellent find they are.

FollowupID: 681114

Reply By: Spitster - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:52

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:52
Try www.wolfblass.com.au they have just released a red in a Plastic bottle. Its from their Green label range and is showing what a good corporate eco friendly citizen they are claiming they reduce greenhouse gases etc. Havent tasted as yet, but great idea for the off roader
AnswerID: 411073

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:20

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:20
Hi Spitster, yep they are the ones I get. Fantastic find and not a bad drop at all for the price, but they do suffer from being shaken up and any heat. Hense the reason for my original question.

FollowupID: 681115

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:37

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:37
I gave up carrying bottles of wine when travelling ..... too much trouble.

But I have been known to pick up a bottle at the last pub before striking camp!

Now beer in cans in the bottom of the fridge is another thing altogether.

AnswerID: 411078

Reply By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:50

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:50
A few weeks shouldn't matter if you pack it cold, keep it well insulated (temp differential is a killer), and cool it before drinking. But if you want to know how quickly it can go off (possibly even in a month), have a look here: http://www.wineperspective.com/STORAGE%20TEMPERATURE%20&%20AGING.htm
AnswerID: 411079

Reply By: On the Run - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:53

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 16:53
Duncan , we have been on the road for over twelve months now and as we like good wine we use our 80lt car fridge as our wine storage takes 2dozen wines in their boxes with room for some scotch as well, fits neatly in the baskets of the fridge,leaving in their boxes they travel well even through corrigations and over rough ground
If the outside temp is high we just lower the temp in fridge to about 5 round lunchtime and alls good when we stop for the night.
We dont put the empties back just replace an empty boxes as we need to(fortnightly)
life is toooo short to drink bad wine or to go with out

regards kim and doug
AnswerID: 411080

Reply By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 23:03

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 23:03
Where there's a will there's a way..

AnswerID: 411249

Reply By: Mills5 - Thursday, Apr 01, 2010 at 21:23

Thursday, Apr 01, 2010 at 21:23
Just get yourself down to a BWS store where they been giving out the best soft packs for wines , you only need to buy 4 Botts of Wolf Blass wines ..or chat the staff up and if they have a spare one ...well they may even give it to you idf you ask nicelly ...a please will do !!

Has anyone else got these "
AnswerID: 411349

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2010 at 22:17

Thursday, Apr 01, 2010 at 22:17
Hi Dunc. I fully appreciate your problem. I like my red wine too.
There are a couple of members of this forum who have been to my home and could attest to the temp controlled wine cellar I have. Guys, if you see this, just don't post the address!!!

When we started to do long term travel, it was a real challenge. At home, I was drinking 10 to 12 year old wine daily. On the road, you are limited by space, weight, fragility and temp control. I eventually had to bite the bullet and try some casks for the first time for many (like 20) years.

We are now in our van full time, with the house rented out. Wine is still in the locked cellar at the house. What I now do, is whenever we are near the house (only happened twice in past 18 months and won't again till Christmas this year), I raid the cellar for as much as I can carry - about 2 dozen. I wrap each bottle in several sheets of butchers paper and pack them in a large plastic bin. I carry the bin well back in the 'through boot' of the van, where there is no direct sun impact, only ambient temp.

These days, most of my wine consumption is from casks. After lots of testing, I've found a couple that are passable - after all, I have little choice. My favourite is a Hardy's Reserve Cab Sav in a 3 Litre Cask (Maroon colour). The Merlot isn't bad either when you want something softer. I recently tried a Renmano Premium Cab Sav in a 4 Litre cask which was pretty good too. Unfortunately my wife tossed the empty cask before I recorded the full details. There are an increasing number of places in remote areas where the largest wine cask sold is 2 Litre due to alcohol control regs, so you have to work around that too.

I keep the bottles for 'special occasions' and milestones. I have no qualms with putting red wine in the fridge or adding a bit of ice to cool it. At home, the cellar is 15 degrees C and I'm used to my wine at that temp. A bit hard to find 'room temp' like that in our favourite travel places.

Not ideal storage for bottles, but they never last more than 4 months or so before consumption and I have never had one go 'off'.

All I can suggest is that you do the best you can, then 'get over it' and give some casks a go. It only hurts for a while. The wine glut might be hurting the producers, but it is pushing some passable wines into casks as well.

Hope you work it out.

Norm C
AnswerID: 411356