Must be Easter...The Rain is Here :-(

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:09
ThreadID: 77309 Views:3532 Replies:13 FollowUps:24
Right on cue, the rains have arrived on the east coast to dampen Easter Holiday plans.

With the usual mass exodus from the big smoke over the next few days, if you must travel, please stay safe and stay alert on the road.Image Could Not Be Found

Good time to stay at home, I reckon.

Fred

Reply By: Rossco 09 - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:22

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:22
Hahaha, it happens every year I swear. It's too much of a coincidence by now.

I think it's some sort of plot to ensure everyone has a childhood memory of a miserable, cold and wet camping experience. I know I do.
AnswerID: 411016

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:01

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:01
I reckon you maybe on to something there Rossco,

As well as a hike in fuel prices.
The two seem to go hand in hand at this time of year.

FollowupID: 681053

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 23:00

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 23:00
And a doubling of camp fees!
FollowupID: 681188

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:35

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:35
HEY FRED........bugga off with that R word.

hahhahahahahaha.
AnswerID: 411019

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:49

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:49
Sheeeesssshhh some blokes are hard to please :-)))

Sorry mate, you blokes up there definitely don't want any rain for a while.

When I got that image of NSW it had little rain images all over it, and when I clicked submit, guess what ????? they all disappeared. I rushed outside, but it was still raining :-(((.....if only it was that easy, aye.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 681051

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:51

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 09:51
Fred

we have the levuka gathering this weekend so i definatly dont want to order any rain. :-(
FollowupID: 681052

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:13

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:13
Hey Fred, Someone would just have to spit over the side of the Lawrence Ferry ATM and the river would flood.
Must be one of the wettest starts to the year in a long time. And the ants
haven't finished climbing yet either,
Yep, we've had more then our fair share.

FollowupID: 681054

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:10

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:10
Mark,
Keep the rain at Urbenville over Easter. We are "camping rough" at Killarney View Caravan Park & would like a nice sunny weekend(thanks very much).
Anyway, enjoy your weekend.
Is Anzac weekend camping trip still on?

Vince
FollowupID: 681066

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:13

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:13
Vince

yes we will be there with bells on.
FollowupID: 681068

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:31

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:31
Yeh Vince, Planning on getting up there maybe on the Thursday 22nd about lunch time.
Also a mate will be coming down from Armidale as well. Should be a great weekend.
Looking forward to catching up again,

FollowupID: 681071

Reply By: Wherehegon - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:04

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:04
If my memory serves me write it has rained every easter for the last 14 years !! Regards Steve
AnswerID: 411027

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:18

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:18
hi all
over here in the south west wa we are suppose to get some rain tonight and then it's going to be fine over eata egg period
looking around the sky at the moment is showing signs of a front coming in from the s/west
so they must have hit the dart board in the right spot this time
he! he! he !ha! ha!--- lol
but that could all change with another throw of there darts in the next two days ??????????
have a good one and the fuel prices are going up for eata egg period as well here b ------ mongrels
FollowupID: 681055

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:29

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:29
Steve, I reckon you're right mate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 681142

Reply By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:13

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:13
Of course its raining, I washed the car on Sunday for the first time since December....LOL

AnswerID: 411029

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:36

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:36
Hey Steve, I haven't washed the cruiser for ages, Can't see the point in it ATM.
Gave Fysh's little buzz box a good clean a couple of days ago, you wouldn't know it to look at it now.

FollowupID: 681058

Reply By: Jude&theboys - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:28

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:28
I swear the last two times I've pulled the tent out it has rained the whole time (pulling the tent down in HEAVY rain with help from an 8yr old only is NOT fun). We are off to Swan Hill this time.

I have a theory - we bought one of those fold up clotheslines....both times we have taken it, it has bucketed down and it has been useless....if I take it this time and it rains in Swan Hill - I'll be giving it away, clearly its jinxed!

Jude
AnswerID: 411032

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:32

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:32
Jude, does it ever rain in Swan Hill LOL ??? But then that clothes hoist could change things :-)

Fred
FollowupID: 681143

Follow Up By: Jude&theboys - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:36

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:36
well Fred that would be one of the reasons we chose Swan Hill for our trip this time around....rain is good for the farmers and all but we don't want to be rained out! Went away for a weekend in late November - was hot and sunny all week before and all week after....rained all that weekend....haven't managed to get away with the boys since (damn kitchen reno's got in the way) so really looking forward to this trip - boys are excited (they are already packed)!

Jude
FollowupID: 681144

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:38

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:38
Jude, leave the clothes hoist at home, aye. :-)

Fred
FollowupID: 681146

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:33

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:33
Please keep it in NSW Fred.

After 3 months hard work we have just managed to break thru and drive all of our tracks after wind storm and flash flood damage , and we hope to sit back and do nothing over easter as per Exploroz vic camping trip and we really don't need any rain to put out the campfire.

AnswerID: 411035

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:28

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:28
Rest up for the CSR mate. Good luck and enjoy.

Fred.
FollowupID: 681141

Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:39

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 10:39
Easter forecast for Melbourne. It doesn't get much better than this. Most unusual for Melbourne, but we'll take it when we get it.

Forecast for Thursday

Early morning fog patches then a partly cloudy day. Winds southeasterly averaging 10 to 20 km/h.
City
Partly cloudy.
Min
Max
Forecast for Friday

Partly cloudy. Isolated showers in the south in the early afternoon. Winds south to southeasterly averaging up to 25 km/h.
City
Mostly sunny.
Min
Max
Forecast for Saturday

Mostly sunny. Winds east to southeasterly averaging up to 30 km/h.
City
Mostly sunny.
Min
Max
Forecast for Sunday

Mostly sunny. Winds easterly averaging up to 30 km/h tending east to northeasterly up to 25 km/h.
City
Mostly sunny.
Min
Max
Forecast for Monday

Becoming cloudy. Isolated showers later in the day. Light winds.
City
Shower or two developing.
Min
Max
AnswerID: 411036

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:24

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:24
Jim, ya know what they say about Melbourne ????? If ya don't like the weather,...........wait 10 minutes :-)))

Have a good break.

Fred.
FollowupID: 681138

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:34

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 11:34
Tassie weather is always getting a blasting from people who live on the Northern Island, and now some of you are complaining about your own weather, well Easter here in Tassie is going to suit us down to the ground.
Good Friday possiable shower 8-17
Saturday Mostly sunny 5-18
Sunday Cloudy 5-20
Monday Cloudy 7-21
Great weather to go caravaning. light a fire about 4ish, couple of amber liquid, light the barby and couple glass's of shiraz, go the Tassie weather.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 411043

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:54

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:54
hi
crikey thats almost polar bear weather
have a good one
FollowupID: 681098

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:27

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:27
Baz, with that weather a good campfire would definitely be high the list of priorities.

Enjoy the break.

Fred.
FollowupID: 681140

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 12:59

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 12:59

The Cook and I are spending Easter at home, looks like some wet weather is on the way, so we have arranged for the family to visit us, and we will stay off the roads, Bbq's / Cobb Cooking Dampers ect,and a few quite Ales, might even wander over to the dam and get a few Yabbies, and down to the Tallebudgera Crk for some Mangrove Jack and some Muddies.

AnswerID: 411055

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 13:09

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 13:09
Daza

a "few ales" ?

hmmmmm.
FollowupID: 681084

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:42

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:42
Yeh Mark just a few, the older I get the sillier I get, now while I have your attention, just remember not to get the Nissan bogged over Easter, I don't want to here that some certain Tojo driver had to extract you from a swollen creek or what ever lol.
FollowupID: 681096

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 18:35

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 18:35
Daza

i have the winch.....he doesnt :-)))))
FollowupID: 681302

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 19:01

Wednesday, Mar 31, 2010 at 19:01
And Daza, Every Nissan Pathfinder should have a good Winch.

FollowupID: 681303

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 13:50

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 13:50
Hi Fred
Good news for the areas that need it. As for the Easter weather here in SA, it is going to be a perfect 31 with possible rain Easter Monday.

AnswerID: 411061

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:45

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:45
Stephen when we went through the south east down there last year, south from Murray Bridge, it was a real eye opener for us. Very, very pretty, and is high on our must do for a longer stay list. Best kept secret from SA, except for the good King George whiting locations LOL LOL

Fred

FollowupID: 681148

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 14:02

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 14:02
Yes it is raining on the South Coast.

My waterproof jacket and boots are both wet through after I got caught in heavy rain on my bushwalk this morning.

Glorious, cool day - I love it. As will the local camping place, cafes and shops who are open over Easter - they are extra busy if the weather isnt so good for the beach!

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 411063

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:32

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 15:32
Not just the East Coast either Fred G ....

Your bush camp, water tank should have about 12hrs topping up so far .....
AnswerID: 411071

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:36

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2010 at 18:36
Yeah mate, it's had a pretty regular flush out so far this year. Young bloke was up there last week for some boundary riding.
Amazing how much rain we get up there.

Cheers mate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 681145

Reply By: Wrong Way Jon - Monday, Apr 05, 2010 at 18:50

Monday, Apr 05, 2010 at 18:50
Hey Fred,
There was only a spit of rain.
Mark G will put a thread in the next day or so.
Great company, Great weather.
Hope yours was as action packed as ours.

AnswerID: 411725