Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 17:34
Scottx
G'day and thanks for your time
I am looking at buying a 57L Engel fridge freezer (the type with two different compartments). Has anyone out there got one of these and if so how do you rate them. I have always used eskys up until now but am getting a bit tired of them so it's time for a fridge.
Scott
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 18:02
Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 18:02
Scott,
I am pretty sure there is one for sale in the Trader as
well ;)
I have the normal 60l Engel and find it suits my current needs, I think the 57l combi will perform much the same as the 60l version.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 18:09
Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 18:09
G'day Scott, I have one and find it great because of the seperate compartments. When I go bush I usuall take frozen meals with me.
I too used to take eskys but found when I went out The ice in the esky only lasted a couple of days (not enough room for the grog). I now have a 47litre for the grog and the biger one for the food.
I have had no problems with either one. I have a duel batt system but will be putting a 3rd soon. I have them in the back of the ute with a connection on both sides. I find the batt runs them OK but when staying in one place for few days I need to charge the Batt often, hence the 3rd batt.
Damien
Reply By: uneekwahn - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 18:32
Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 18:32
Scottx,
We've got one which was initially purchased for our two month honeymoon in the
kimberley back in 2007.
have used it on many occasion since then and it hasn't skipped a beat. Perfect for everything we do/need and have had absolutely zero issues with it.
great if you want to take a heap of frozen stuff from your favourite local butcher on an extended trip!
cheers,
jason.
Reply By:- Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 19:38
Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 19:38
Hey Scott,
I have one also and are travelling full time and love it. we keep frozen meat in the freezer and usually beer on the otherside. we have a caravan also but the engel is the better fridge to keep meat frozen. One of the best things we bought.
Troy
Reply By: Scottx - Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 20:18
Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 20:18
Thanks again for your time
It has helped heaps to make up my mind.
I will get one in the next few days while they are on still on sale
Have a good one
Scott
Reply By: PeterMandy - Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 15:39
Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 15:39
We've had one of these Engel fridges for over a year. Being a larger dual compartment unit, it uses more power than the smaller, single compartment Engel fridges.
Our experience is:
On really hot days it can use as much as 65AH per day if it doesn't get much ventilation.
In the past couple of weeks in
Brisbane, and
Easter near the
Bunya Mountains, it has used less than 40AH per day.
These figures are based on the amp hours recorded by the solar regulator each day. It's difficult to be completely accurate, because the system was also used to run lights and pumps. Having said this, the lights are LED, the pumps run for a total of only a couple of minutes in the course of a day and the lights and pumps would use only a couple of amp hours.
Our only criticism of the fridge is that, if we run the freezer compartment below about -12°C, items in the fridge compartment begin to freeze.
Overall, we're happy with it.
Peter.