OME Shocks

Has anyone had any experience with OME's new(ish) Nitrocharger Sport shocks?
I'm currently running the OME standard Nitrocharger shocks on my GU, but after about 120,000, I reckon it's time to replace them before hitting the dirt again.
Have been quite happy with the standard ones, both for reliability and ride, but their blurb reckons (of course) that the Sports ones are heaps better.
cheers,
Gerry

Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 17:58

Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 17:58
joc,

got standard nitros on my 100 series and booked in,in 3 weeks to upgrade to the sport before I do the CSR !
My 4by mechanic showed me the internals of both the standard and sport and the difference is in the internal valving, looks much more robust. For $30 more a shock mech told me it was money well spent to upgrade.
He and both his mechanics run them on there 4bys, mad bush bashers, and say they perform great.

Evan
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

AnswerID: 412150

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 18:47

Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 18:47
Thanks Evan.
I don't need them until mid-July, so I might MM you to see how they are going!
There is a lot of good guff on it on the ARB website, but it's nice to see how actual owners feel.
Gerry

FollowupID: 682118

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 18:57

Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 18:57
no worries joc, I'll be taking them for a bash down to black point straight off the bat, so I'll keep ya posted!

Evan
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

FollowupID: 682119

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 19:41

Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 19:41
Nice drive out to Black Point, tho it's been a while. Nice spot, esp camped amongst the peppermint trees, but my last visits here have been spoilt by the surfers camped right out on the tip, leaving their cr@p (literally) everywhere. The walk path was a minefield! Maybe camping arrangements have been tidied up in recent times....
You need to get out there before it gets too wet!
I await the results with bated breath.
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 682126

Reply By: howesy - Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 18:48

Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 18:48
What ever you do just dont go EFS I replaced my OME (3yr and bleep e load of K's) Nitrocharger shocks with EFS big bore and it now handles like the queen mary in rough seas and floats all over the road. That bad I'm thinking of writing off the $800 I paid for them and putting the old OME nitro's back on.
AnswerID: 412157

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 19:35

Thursday, Apr 08, 2010 at 19:35
Thanks for that, Howesy,
I've had that experience with tyres in the past. Stick with the product you know!
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 682124

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Apr 09, 2010 at 19:22

Friday, Apr 09, 2010 at 19:22
Gerry,

reluctantly I put the OME shocks on last year (cost and time factor only). On the Canning they were running at 150 Celcius after only 10 minutes of bad corrugations (Speed 17-25 kph). Tough Dog Big Bore Adjustables on a companion vehicle were at 50C. The shocks survived but I'll not go down that path again. Tough dog appear a good product (I can't afford Konigs at $600 a piece) as an alternative although somewhat dearer. If you do have problems with the OME, don't expect much in the way of customer service from ARB.

Mick

AnswerID: 412283

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Apr 09, 2010 at 19:32

Friday, Apr 09, 2010 at 19:32
Thanks, Mick
A bit disturbing. Will follow up on the Tough Dogs.
The OMEs I run have done the Kulumburu road/Mitchell Plateau road a couple of times with no problems and no apparent fade. Must admit, I didn't measure the temperature.
Gerry
FollowupID: 682271

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Apr 09, 2010 at 19:34

Friday, Apr 09, 2010 at 19:34
Hi Mick,

My OME LTR's haven't been put through their paces proper yet. However they give an incredible ride from what I have noticed so far. It will be interesting to see how they go on a proper trip...

FollowupID: 682272