Coleman on demand hot water Q.

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:08
ThreadID: 77628 Views:4556 Replies:5 FollowUps:18
mornin' all

i just recently bought (2nd hand & and only used once) a coleman on demand hot water unit.screwed in the propane bottle and away it went :-))
now here is the question......it came with a LPG hose and fittings and i thought i would hook it up to run on the LPG to see how it goes and nothing (no hot water at all).are they able to run on LPG or not?

cheers in advance.

Reply By: Wilko - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:11

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:11
Hi Mark,

Yes you can run it on LPG. I run mine on LPG when I'm doin more remote travel (saves on weight etc).

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 412472

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:13

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:13
wilko

cheers mate...maybe i didnt give the gas time to reach the unit?

hmmmmmm...have a beer and look at it for a while :-))))
FollowupID: 682495

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:14

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:14
Turn the gas bottle on ;)

FollowupID: 682496

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:16

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:16
Kev

unbelievable!!!!!!
FollowupID: 682497

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:17

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:17
So it is working now then hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 682498

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:20

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:20
Kev

must be a local government model.........didnt start straight away and knocked off early.

will go try it later,cheers.
FollowupID: 682499

Follow Up By: Wilko - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:28

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:28
No Worries Mark,

I have to try to start mine a few time to allow the gas time to get thru.

The only real prob I've had with mine is getting water to"suck up". I have to raise the bucket or tank about the same height as the Coleman then once its primed I can then lower it.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 682501

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:34

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:34
Wilko

cheers mate......mine seemed to draft the water up quite quickly ( pump being still new obviously?) i did notice that where the clear hose comes out of the back of the unit it was kinked and didn't allow full water pressure through.i fixed this be sliding a spring over the outside of the hose,now when the hose is uncoiled from the unit the hose straightens up with no kink.
FollowupID: 682503

Reply By: philbaxter - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:40

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:40
I have had one of these for 4 years it works well, even better (hotter) with the LPG bottle, things to check include the battery (is it even sparking as you turn it to hot ?) and the hose connection at the heater end, its a bit tricky to screw in well. Keep trying its worth it as the LPG is cheaper and better for the environment than the disposables - rgds PHIL
AnswerID: 412484

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:58

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 09:58
just went and retried the unit on LPG and now it woks fine.

the temperature is more easier to control on the LPG gas opposed to the propane.

thanx to all who replied. (Kev excluded from that too :-P)

hahahha
AnswerID: 412487

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 11:53

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 11:53
Another 'upgrade'' for temp control is to ,, carefully remove sticker on temp control knob - remove screw - take off knob and spring then replace knob minus spring - replace screw and the carefully removed sticker ,,,, temp control will be easier thru the whole range ,,, The over heat control is NOT compromised ,,,,,
FollowupID: 682545

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 15:50

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 15:50
alloyc/t

cheers for that mate...will try that.
FollowupID: 682573

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 10:42

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 10:42
Now order yourself a MacCoupler from the USA and refill your own Coleman bottles in order to keep the unit truly portable and not tied to a 4/9 kg gas cylinder,
AnswerID: 412494

Follow Up By: Steve and Viv - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 11:42

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 11:42
Yes aren't they great. I use the couple to charge the bottle to run the Colman heater as we don't use the water heater any more. Saved us from freezing a few times in the Flinders last year and refilling was easy as....
FollowupID: 682544

Reply By: Staffee - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 15:58

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 15:58
Congratulations on your purchase, I use mine all the time. I allow any club member to use it as long as the water they supply is fresh and not murky such as dam water. River water is usually fine.

Of course you now know it does run on LPG by now - I have had mine for 4 years and it has never seen a propane bottle lol.

Ensure you run the clr through it every 6 to 12 months.

Also make sure the battery is charged before you use it nothing like having a nice warm shower in the middle of winter and when the "low battery" led comes on :) (I bought a Jaycar 12v - 6v 5A dc to dc converter and made a extra lead so I can run mine straight from the car, camper or power pack - probably a tad more expensive than buying a whole new battery but now I have no more "Low Battery" Led's

The other issue mine has is that the pump seizes up when stored for a while, which i just get a little nail (Take off the filter at the bottom) and spin the impeller. I now give it a squirt of inox everytime I come back from a trip hopefully that might settle the problem otherwhise I just need to get a new pump.

The last issue you will run into if you use a esky or bucket is the little filter on the end of the pump gets clogged - very easy to clean but you will probably notice poor water pressure or maybe the overtemp led comes on cause the unit doesnt have enough water running through it.

One last hint which I do is heat the bucket of water first rather than trying to regulate the temperature. Once the water is heated restart the unit on cold just to run the pump. That way whilst showering you can keep throwing the shower head back in the bucket without it keep heating the water and making the shower unbearable hot.

I bought mine when my daughter was 6 months old and it has copped a flogging. I used to fill up a large container to bath her in when she was that young :) Worth every cent I paid for it....

AnswerID: 412534

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 16:06

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 16:06
Staffie

good tips there mate.
2nd hand used once for a week for $300.with all accessories including 2 bottles i think i got a good deal.hopemine lasts as long as yours,cheers.
FollowupID: 682574

Follow Up By: Staffee - Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 16:20

Sunday, Apr 11, 2010 at 16:20
Sounds like a great deal, I paid almost $500 for everything when mine was new including the water mains pressure regulator so I can run it straight off a hose of camper water supply also, but only use that if camping overnight as the 80L camper water supply runs out pretty quick...
FollowupID: 682579

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 15:25

Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 15:25
Staffee

I like the idea of using the 12 to 6v adaptor connected to the battery terminals so we don't get the "battery low" problem.

Do you have the Jaycar catalogue number? I can only find a 2amp unit but I guess this will do the job (CAT. NO. MP3038)

VKS Mobile 1906

FollowupID: 682791

Follow Up By: Staffee - Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 17:01

Tuesday, Apr 13, 2010 at 17:01
ok the jaycar dc-dc converter i used was a 12V to 5-12V 5A unit part no. MP3478 cost $39.95

I bought the wrong male spade lugs (and just cut then down) but so you know I bought 6.3mm Blue and 6.4mm Red lugs so you need the next size down prob around 4.x mm. (cost around $5.50)

from the converter there is a 2.1mm male fitting which I bought the skt line dc 2.1mm metal female socket pt no. PS0534 $3.95

1 Length of 12mm double wall heatshrink which once I made the lead I slid this over most of the female socket and shrunk (optional just tring to limit water into connections) pt no. WH5643 $7.45

Finally using DC power cable 2 core double insulated WH3079 @ $2.60 a metre

Like I said the heatshrink is optional I only used 50mm of a 1200mm length but will come in handy for future projects

Solder the lead together ensuring that the tip remains positive, once finished plug the converter in to Power supply not the unit and ensure your red connector is +6v (more like +6.3V no load) when the unit is running I find it the converter runs at 6.05V checked with a fluke DMM.

FollowupID: 682799

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:02

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 10:02
Staffee

Many thanks for the step by step description and the Jaycar numbers. I'll be doing ours soon. Did you leave the battery installed? I guess it would always be at 6v if you did.

VKS Mobile 1906

FollowupID: 682892

Follow Up By: Staffee - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 18:01

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 18:01
Coleman do say it is not approved to run this way but I have not run into any problems to date.

I disconnect the battery when i use it from direct power.

Some Pictures:

Firstly the unit

Secondly the leads:

Blue lug on white wire is negative and Red lug on red wire is positive also note where i used the heatshrink

Thirdly I bent slightly in the femail connector for a tighter connection as in this piccy

The centre pin I bent connects to the red wire which in turn connects to the red lug. As you I have 2 male lugs coming from a power supply I ALWAYS CONNECT IT TO MY COLEMAN FIRST BEFORE PLUGGING IN THE 12V POWER in case the 2 males short....

FollowupID: 682944

Follow Up By: Staffee - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 18:02

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 18:02
lol I tried to show some pictures but it won't let me sorry....

FollowupID: 682945

Follow Up By: Staffee - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 19:13

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2010 at 19:13
here are the links for you to look at

http://www.cherokeeclubaust.freeservers.com/unit.jpg

http://www.cherokeeclubaust.freeservers.com/Lead%20Ends.jpg

http://www.cherokeeclubaust.freeservers.com/pin%20bent.jpg

hope this helps

FollowupID: 682951