Chambers Pilllar

I require some info please on an alternative track into Chambers Pillar.
East from Erldunda there is or was a track out to the rail line and along it till crossing the Finke then you could turn NE and onto Chambers Pilar.
has anybody been this way?
The Bilby

Reply By: Member - Redfive - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:58

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:58

As far as i know one road in starting at Marysvale Being there 4 time didnt see any other roads
they may well be there but they would be private station roads so you get to go the way every one esle does

Glenn...
AnswerID: 414028

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:01

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:01
The road via Horsehoe Bend is private according to HEMA.
The Hugh River stock Route further north is a good earth formed road.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 414029

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:07

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:07
Looking again, there are station tracks where you indicate, but they would also be private and it may not be possible to easily enter the Reserve.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 684244

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:11

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:11
The Bilby
That would be the track through Idracowra Station. As I understand it, that track was at one stage available for use only by professional tour companies. But I believe the owner/s shut down all access to it years ago. Very much a locked gate situation now. Definitely a NO-GO!!!

teege
AnswerID: 414032

Follow Up By: DesF - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:27

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:27
Hi, When we went to Finke in 07 we wanted to head home down thru Idracowra Station ,from Chambers pillar.
I rang them and had a chat with the lady owner , she was very nice and explained that she had sold the station and was in the middle of moving out, and she was under the impression that the new owners had closed the track to Chambers Pillar, and taken the gate out of the fence, she also told us how to get thru but also asked us to only go thru there if we had too,
So I said no drama's and thanked her for her time.we came home around the Hugh Stock route as planned. it is a 100 odd Ks thru there,
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 684247

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 21:19

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 21:19
Gidday Des

Your right, however I wasn’t aware Idracowra Station had been sold.

My last dealings with the lady you mentioned (can’t recall her name) was very positive at the time, which was around 2003.

My recollection of the conversation was that there was a track from the back of the homestead to Chambers Pillar.

Kim
FollowupID: 684297

Follow Up By: DesF - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 09:03

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 09:03
Hi, Kim, yes the track came into the homestead across the river just NE of the house , it seemed to go straight up from there to the Park fence then on to Chambers. you can see all the track etc on Google Earth pretty clear,
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 684335

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:13

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 13:13
We were there last year and while talking to the ranger he was telling us about his short cut in and out of Chambers Pillar, saved heaps of time but was a private track.AFAIK there is only one public track in and out.
AnswerID: 414033

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 21:30

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 21:30
Gday Bilby,
You basically have 3 options.....
1. Take the Maryvale road (HRSR),or Finke if your heading South from Erldunda.
2. Ring Idracowra and ask for permission.
3. Run the gauntlet. (there's heaps of tracks but dont get caught or run into a mustering camp.........hahahahaha...they love tourists!)

Your not supposed to be on the railway corridor either if that was an option.

Just take the road mate....(or make the call)....otherwise there really arent any alternatives.

AnswerID: 414081

Reply By: the bilby - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 08:56

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 08:56
Thanks to all replyed l appreciate your input.
I thought there was access along the railway line?
Cheers and lets all remember those that fought to keep this country free.
The Bilby
AnswerID: 414111

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 09:52

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 09:52
Chambers Pillar is in between the old and new railway line.
Although there is an access track along the new line there are also signs all the way along it saying that its a do go area,( I cant tell you how I know that as it may be incriminating).
There is also a track that leads from the railway line to the jump up near Chambers but it also has "Trespassers Prosecuted" signs on al the gates.( again I cant tell you how I know that!)

Cheers ( to the Armed services!)
FollowupID: 684344

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:45

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:45
Sorry" NO" go area
FollowupID: 684351

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 16:39

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 16:39
Hairy

Naughty naughty ....LOL