Some questions from a total newbie

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 01:41
ThreadID: 77962 Views:4920 Replies:8 FollowUps:6

Related Pages

Hello all,

first off let me start by saying that this website has been a god send for me. Quick run down on my situation, I'm a born a bred darwin boy, and a qualified commercial pilot. My problem starts with me not been able to secure full time work as a pilot here at home so the decision has been made to move towards the end of the year in search of that elusive job. I've decided that having a caravan an living out of powered sites will be easier, nicer and cheaper that using backpackers for god knows how long.

My questions are from having totally no clue about caravanning.

- Mains power, i understand that a caravan park would/should have 240v available. Is there a limit on how many appliances i can run at once in the caravan? eg how do i work out my load limit on the electrical system that the caravan can handle. also understand that i need 15 amps

- battery charger and deep cycle batteries, can i use these in conjunction with the mains power if required

- changing the interior, same old story, wood paneling acceptable? how about extra bracing etc. say i was going to rip out 2 single beds and put in a double, or attach a lcd tv to a wall bracket i guess i can't just go drilling and screwing things to the wall in random places?

I'm sure i'll have more questions at a later time when i can think of them (really should write them down :) ) if your not already put off by my newness

I'll be looking at getting a secondhand caravan around the 15-18ft mark, probably from the trading post and sending it up here, planning on doing some of my own mods if required so it doesn't have to be in the best shape.

Thanks in advance guys, i've trawled google but must be searching using the wrong terms becuase i've come up with nothing

Reply By: NickQ - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 01:43

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 01:43
oh, i guess i should give and example of the electrical load.

say, at peak load, a/c, lappy or tv, microwave, stove top, lights and maybe a small pedelstal fan.

remembering i'd be living in the for a few months, probably moving down the eastern sea board, so it'll be my home for a long time
AnswerID: 414095

Reply By: Member - Jeremy W (SA) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 08:30

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 08:30
Hi Nick,

Re:
- battery charger and deep cycle batteries, can i use these in conjunction with the mains power if required

As you will be at powered sites you only need to consider batteries as an emergency measure so this greatly simplifies things. Charging under these conditions is minimal as you only need to keep the batteries maintained until needed., A good charger with about 10A capability and intelligent float option is the best bet for a 100AH emergency.

Determine what will be needed when the mains power goes down - lights ? (very easy) ; Air conditioning ( small generator or suffer!!!); laptop or computer ? (need a bit more consideration). etc. etc.

Re: 240VAC load

Other than the aircon most loads will take 10A or less so one can get by with a single 240V circuit. I assume you will be cooking on gas.

Lighting may be via two circuits the LV one that may be run off batteries and the normal mains operated one.

Jeremy

AnswerID: 414107

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:24

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:24
I agree with Jeremy.

If mains power isn't available, think batteries, generator and solar.
A few things to remember with solar: if mounted on top of your 'van, you'll need to park it in a sunny spot which might be uncomfortable for any occupants during the day.
Another option is to have portable panels sitting on the ground, at some distance from the 'van (anyone got them knocked off while no one was home?)
Then there are those overcast days...

Ok, generator:
It'll have to replace the energy drawn from the batteries on a daily basis.
The general concensus is to run the gennie for some time in the morning, and depending on the amount of solar power received during the day, for some time in the evening.
This second run time in the evening is important, because it'll top off the charge in your batteries to some degree.
The idea is to replace the bulk charge during the morning gennie-charging-session.
This is when the batteries are drained the most and the charge acceptance is the highest.
The solar panels will then follow to deliver the juice to keep your loads powered during the day, and to deliver some 'absorption charge' to your batteries.
If there is a shortfall on solar, you'll have to extend your evening gennie-charging-session accordingly.

Some figures:
daily energy requirement might be in the order of 1kWh (fridge and some lights, stereo, TV), equivalent to ~85Ah.
If you allow a depth of discharge of 50%, a 100Ah battery will give you 50Ah.
The remainder of 35Ah needs to come from the gennie.
If you used a 25A charger, the gennie would have to run for around 1.5 hours to bring the capacity back up to 90%, plus another 2 hours to give the battery time to absorb the remainder of the charge.
Note that even this extended run time won't give you 100% charge, as this can take up to 15 hours.

The result is that your batteries will be sitting there in a partial state of charge for extended periods of time - not good.

Therefore, use your mains powered three stage charger whenever the opportunity arises, even if the batteries are 95% charged - plug them in for as long as practical.
This is the only way you can get maximum life out of your valuable deep cycle batteries.

Now with your a/c and microwave and stove top, you're looking at a major system upgrade if these are to be powered by batteries.
The only feasible way of powering these is by a beefy generator, or by 240V mains.

Hope this gives you some ideas.

Best regards, Peter

FollowupID: 684347

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:34

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:34
now I'm waiting for Jeremy to correct all the errors in my last post ;)

Best, Peter
FollowupID: 684348

Follow Up By: Member - Jeremy W (SA) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 18:56

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 18:56
Hi ya Peter. Hope you're having a good weekend.

Hey! I wouldn't argue!!

Yes, there are so many options no right and wrong It's just that overestimating can just get so expensive.

Jeremy.
FollowupID: 684383

Reply By: bruce - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:22

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 10:22
Having been to Darwin twice and about to visit for the 3rd time...I would have thought that you could buy a caravan that suits your needs from a dealer there and that dealer if he/they were of good repute would and could/should be able to answer any question regarding the pros and cons of vanning that you may ask of them and also be capable of doing ..even for a small charge ..any modifications that you may require , they can usually do things in a couple of hours that would take you or I a couple of days (well, me anyway)...cheers and good luck
AnswerID: 414116

Reply By: stumbly1 - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 11:15

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 11:15
g'day Nick,

Here's another good sight to have a look at.

http://www.caravanersforum.com/viewforum.php?f=2&sid=eb97722050909f338cd064b9f1798428

Exploroz is great and I check it out everyday but this is a bit more specific
to caravans eg, re-doing the interior.

Keep in mind, it may be cheaper in the long run to try and buy a van that is pretty close to what you want than doing heaps of mods.

regards and good luck, Keith

AnswerID: 414119

Reply By: NickQ - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 12:44

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 12:44
Hi all thanks for the replies.

I should state that if i'm unable to be connected to mains eg during the drive from darwin east i'll tough it out without the TV and aircon. Stove and oven wise would gas be the best option? help save on the electrical load.

The other thing was water, specifically hot water, I take i'd have to look at installing some form of water heater?

Bruce, sadly i don't really have the cash to be able to afford something half way decent up here. from looking on the trading post it seems I can get something down south way, and freight it up here for and still be better off.

Still, i'm not thinking of the move for about 8 months, just gotta sell the falcon and get a 4x4
AnswerID: 414126

Follow Up By: NickQ - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 16:20

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 16:20
Oh, correct me if i'm wrong, but 240v@15 amps equates to 3600watts right? so I should be able to run up to 3600watts worth of junk from a powered site without blowing fuses (assuming i get fuses to suit)?
FollowupID: 684369

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 17:17

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 17:17
Hi Nick. You mention " changing the interior, same old story, wood paneling acceptable? how about extra bracing etc. say i was going to rip out 2 single beds and put in a double, or attach a lcd tv to a wall bracket i guess i can't just go drilling and screwing things to the wall in random places? "
I tried drilling couple of hole around the inside. All went well until I drilled straight through a 240v lower cable buried inside the roof. Van have 12v and 240v wires anywhere, not in proper conduits or in straight lines. Fist lesson: beware of drilling!!
Also, please don't think of a van as a self-contained shell with furniture added afterwards. Lots of vans (especially the older ones like mine, and possibly yours!) are built with chassis first; floor second; furniture second; walls tacked on afterwards to keep the draught out; the fit the roof.
So if you rip out a couple of single beds, the side walls may fall off, or at least part company from the floor, letting the weather in.
As other are saying, better to buy what you can live with, than to hope to re-engineer.
Apart from the problems, the dollars will hurt too: van materials seem to be either stupidly expensive, or impossible to get to match your van (or both).
Whatever you buy, allow for expenditure to make it OK, like re-sealing doors and windows; fixing ancient fridges, stoves etc., and if you are towing, also brakes, bearings tyres etc. They DO fail: either you get in first and replace them, or you provide entertainment on the road (and hopefully nothing worse).
AnswerID: 414145

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 17:22

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 17:22
sorry: 'power cable', not 'lower cable'.
Also, hanging LCDs off van walls has a history on this and other websites. As you say, you have to be careful: a thin sheet of aluminium (not aviation grade either!) and a 3mm sheet of tarted up ply, and MAYBE a bit of fluff in between, won't hold up much of a telly.
I love vans and touring, but the only way to build a van cheap enough and light enough to drag around the country is to leave the cast iron, solid timber and similar materials behind.
We wont mention the staples and chipboard, though. It wouldn't be nice.
FollowupID: 684378

Reply By: NickQ - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 18:11

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 18:11
hmmm, definatly sounds like I should look at spending for something that has all the "structure" (benches, bed, draws etc) that i'm happy with then just spruce it up with the old paint and upholstery then, sounds like the safer option in the long run.

First thing i'll be doing is fitting electric brakes, over haulling the bearings and replacing the tyres unless they are in good nick.

Thanks fellas
AnswerID: 414151

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 01:13

Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 01:13
Not to do with the caravan, but workwise, Im guessing you are recently qualified? In which case, many new pilots (fixed or rotary) get their hours up on stations, mustering. But Id have thought there would be alot more work flying of any sort on the west coast than the east?
AnswerID: 414180

Follow Up By: NickQ - Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 09:18

Sunday, Apr 25, 2010 at 09:18
workwise, out west there a fewer operators, much fewer. And there are alot of people looking for work there. THe guys in Kunanarra just hired 25 odd people, leaving around 30 still waiting.

East, there are alot of operators like scenic flights and skydiving that people don't consider because their smaller operations and arn't as well known. I reckon my chances are better in the east where there are more companies and less compertition
FollowupID: 684408